Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
107
4.2 out of 5 stars
Brazil
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99


HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 November 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have enjoyed Michael Palin's travels from his first `Around the World in 80 Days' series and have missed sharing in his adventures in the lull over the last five years. Brazil is a whole new area of vastly differing sights and sounds, races, tribes, cultures and landscapes waiting to be explored.

As always, Michael delivers in his relaxed easy style, reading with warmth and humour, thoroughly engaging his listeners, and the tales he relates never failed to hold my interest throughout the entire 10 hours. It's pure escapism to listen to on a long, dull motorway journey especially in pouring rain but for armchair travel I feel it lacks visual content to capture the colourful tribes and characters he meets. Admittedly, it's an audiobook so by definition the content is audio but I did rather expect to find some visual content even just a small photographic booklet insert to accompany the CDs showing at least some of the highlights of his trip. Instead there's just a map of Brazil which was a little disappointing.

At times I also felt it was disjointed by being split into 4 separate visits to Brazil each covering a different area. It lacked the central theme and continuity of circumnavigating the globe in 80 days, traversing the globe from Pole to Pole, crossing the Sahara....

As an audiobook I would definitely recommend it to Palin fans to listen to while driving but to fully capture the atmosphere of his trip then either the DVD or photo-packed book will give the armchair reader/viewer a greater and more fulfilling experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 November 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an engaging and lyrical account of Michael Palin's most recent travels for the BBC. It's well-produced, well-written and well-read. Palin is at times poignant, funny, reflective, astonished and, sweetly, perplexed. The CDs are a feast for the ears and the imagination, and are accompanied by a nicely detailed brochure.

This audiobook set is lovely - but for me, the journey doesn't quite match the excitement of Palin's earlier, time-sensitive, explorations (indeed, what could ever equal the astonishing rebuff of the Reform Club failing to allow him admission on his '80 Days' return?).

It is astonishing to me that Amazon insist on condensing print/audio media for review purposes, as buyers of different editions are looking for differing things. In my opinion, this work is suffering somewhat unfairly from Vine reviews where the reviewers were not expecting the format they received... whereas people buying the CD version/the hardback version will have chosen their format specifically according to preference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 December 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Everyone knows what to expect from a Michael Palin travelogue - it's a tried and tested formula of engaging with the locals, discovering interesting faces and places and bravely undertaking experiences that the rest of us would baulk at.

The TV series spanned four one hour episodes, but the audiobook lasts a mighty ten hours. It's complete, unabridged and overall, highly engrossing.

With vast experience of world travel under his belt, Michael knows how to describe a location and as an actor, he knows how to bring life to his descriptions.
As an interviewer, he's developed some smart techniques to draw information out of the very different people he interviews, giving us as wide a picture as possible.

As with his New Europe series the huge diversity of the people he met made for wide variety with little chance of repetition. With the eyes of the world turning towards Brazil over the next few years and the Rio Olympics/Paralympics, this is a timely and fascinating insight into a vastly varied nation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 1 November 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Ever since the "Around The World in 80 Days" I have loved Micheal Palin's travelogues as he circumnavigates the globe and continents. This series of audio CD's continues that journey. I've always had the sense that Palin and his researchers and producers look for the best in both the people and the places he visits and the Brazil series is no different. Palin is a natural brown voice, easy on the ear and a natural people person to boot. Who in the BBC decided that he'd be good at this deserves a medal or a knighthood. The only thing missing in this version is the visual which in a travelogue is a huge loss. But... just listening to Palin is relaxing and informative and it's worth 4 stars just for that. Can't wait for the book and the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 November 2012
Michael Palin is a superb storyteller and his TV programmes and books have deservedly received lavish praise over the years. This mammoth package, almost 10 hours running time, is a pleasant background listen but, when you have had the benefit of seeing the TV series, the audiobook on its own could lack that sparkle of interest.

Compared to earlier series that had a purpose,a goal, Brazil is instead a travelogue by Michael and I think the audiobook suffers for that reason. The listener loses that interest associated with the ' will he, won't he ' scenario of earlier trips.

Not a poor audiobook but, if you have the opportunity to enjoy Michael Palin's travels on TV/ DVD, I would suggest doing that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have always found the Michael Palin travel TV programmes great value and this CD pack of his most recent travels is great too. Here Mr Palin travels around Brazil which I was surprised to learn is the 5th largest country in the world. Mr Palin paints a super word picture of his travels. Packed full of his gentle humour the CD's are are made in should a way that it his "easy on the ear voice" makes the journey around Brazil come to life.

I have just watched the first TV programme and that is as good as these CD's are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 November 2012
I love Michael palins television shows and books. So the chance to work at something else and listen to his travel stories was great. Would be ideal for someone who finds reading hard or like myself is working but likes to listen .
Great gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 October 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am a fan of Michael Palin, but saying that his last series on Eastern Europe just didn't appeal. Brazil, now that's a different matter.

Again I should say that I had been to a special pre-release do with Michael Palin being the speaker at Bath and he did cover the book and the TV series. Though he only spoke for an hour or so he managed to cover the main points and surprisingly the audio book in some instances was word for word what Michael said on the stage (and on BBC and ITV).

Notwithstanding this, I really did enjoy the audio book. Even though its eight CDs and 10 hours since I have had it on Saturday I have managed to listen to all and finish it. That's a feat but to be honest he has such a great voice and explains with some humour I reckon most "readers" will get through the audio book speedily too.

The downside to the CD is that there are no detailed images of his trip. I did have the advantage of seeing the photos of the venues at the talk so could visualize. The BBC series over 4 weeks starts tonight and I will watch it - that's the third visit to the saga in less then two weeks. Need any more proof that this is entertaining?

If you are looking for a humourous unusual look at the fourth largest country in the World and want a great narrator as your guide then you just can't go wrong.
I now have the urge to visit Brazil and I reckon that will happen to a vast number of readers.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There's something incredibly comforting about the dulcet tones of Michael Palin as reads from his book Brazil. The "nicest man in show business" is with you for over 10 hours here in this set of 8 CDs. His expressively visual words lend a grandeur to the journey that somehow is richer than the TV series itself. Personally having experienced both, I prefer this as Palin paints the entire picture for you to live out in your mind, returning you to a bygone age before TV travelogues where travel writers would have nothing but the written word to enrich the world outside of our reach. Yes this may not be the preference for many, but I urge you to try the experience - its made my bed time of late that much more comfortable during these long winter nights to escape to a far off exotic world with Palin as my guide. Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)