Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
359
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2012
why can't a live dvd just show a band playing anymore??? If the music is good and the show is good, why can't this be the entertainment? Why do they insist on 600 different camera angles per beat? The opening track on this dvd is a joke. Its not a live recording at all, its simply a music video. There's absolutely no sense of 'been there' in the slightest.

It does improve slightly but i prefer a simple recording of a live performance and that's it. Coldplay are a great band with great songs and they do great shows. That's all i need to enjoy them. I wouldn't be surprised to see die hard style explosions added in future releases.
11 comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
This , the first live DVD/blu-ray for the band to undertake in a few years is an informative , vibrant concert and gives a comprehensive background to one of the UK's successful bands. There has been many Concert/Documentary type films over the years by the likes of Madonna , Led Zeppelin , Duran Duran , and this is really the 2012 take on their Mylo Xyloto tour as was..
Capturing all the highs of some of the biggest (and smallest) venues we see the boys in all their working glory and in between songs , a rough mix of voice commentary by each band member as to the "hows" and "whys" of the bands ideas and concepts at this stage in their musical career..
The quality is fairly good , allot of grain in the darker picture edges due to the low-light , high speed shooting during production , and the sound mix is loud and sharp too.
There has been little fiddling or mucking about with any live performance and the atmosphere is resonant through the full 95 or so minuets of this well edited masterpiece.
Its COLDPLAY at their best , and all very enjoyable..My only grip is the length given most movies are at least over two hours long , and even one of their own live shows lasts at least that , and if they could have squeezed one or two more classics on like "Speed Of Sound" and "LOST" ...this would have been short of perfection.
Still what we have is good enough giving how long we have had to wait for any LIVE material that was not bootlegged or on U-tube and the Blu-ray transfer is sharp and makes you feel your back under a sea of paper butterfly's and glowing wrist-bands...
It may well be a while before they embark on anything as big as this , so enjoy their tour in all its Hi-Def glory !!
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I found this film pretty deflating. One minute you are watching fantastic concert footage, the next minute someone starts talking over an easy listening score. Found myself reaching for the remote to skip these bits.
The performances are amazing and visually stunning but are let down by the ultra fast editing and ridiculous washed over haze effect that the director has added. I can't believe with today's camera technology that they actually filmed it with lo-fi equipment that would produce this god awful effect.
For a look at how concert films should be made, check out the new Noel Gallagher Blu-ray or Certifiable by The Police. I expected so much more from the worlds most visual band. An option to play just the concert footage without the fanboy documentary would have made this a 4* review & a true Hi-Def experience without the nasty fudging, grain effect would make it a 5* item. Just buy the DVD. The Blu-ray offers nothing extra visually.
A massive let down as it could have been something special! I gave this 3 stars rather than 2 because the appearance by Rihanna is a magical moment worth an extra star
55 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
I really enjoyed this album. The F-word is used, but it helps just give the feeling that this was a great gig, enjoyed by the band. This is what live performances should b like and as good as you will get recorded. Have not watched the DVD - it is the music that matters to me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Beautifully shot and edited film, but the blu-ray quality is very poor - grainy and pixelated in the Paris Stade De France parts which form the bulk of the live concert. I thought it might be a deliberate stylistic device but in comparison the couple of songs filmed in Montreal are pin sharp. Apparently the whole of the latter concert was filmed - a shame it wasn't all used.

A missed opportunity - just not the perfect bluray experience you would expect.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
Coldplay on stage are electrifying, this is brilliant and more than emphasises why Coldplay are so loved by their audiences who get tore in to the concert . I watched them at Glastonbury this year (2016) and they just get better every time with full audience participation. Both the CD and the DVD are excellent but the DVD bring it all alive for me. Great value as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 December 2015
Coldplay are one of those bands who put so much effort into their gigs and, as it would so obviously appear, perform for the fans benefit rather than their own. This wonderful CD and DVD combo package is a fine memento of 'Mylo Xyloto', their fifth tour which began in 2011 and finished in 2012.

On the CD, you get to listen to a compilation of recordings which were taken from various concerts in Paris and France (mostly), Montreal, Canada, and Glastonbury, England, all in, strangely enough considering the title, recorded in 2011. Nine of the thirteen tracks appeared on Coldplay's then latest album 'Mylo Xyloto', with only the hits 'Yellow', 'Viva La Vida', 'Clocks' and 'Fix You' representing their older material, which might make it fill incomplete to less eager fans who will buy this anyway to hear the wonderful new songs performed out of the studio. Nevertheless, the result is a great listen of an energetic live band. Rhianna joined the boys on stage to perform the duet of 'Princess of China' with is also included here.

On the DVD, you have the chance to see all of the action take place, the set list and concert venues remain the same, with the only difference of this being that the track 'Violet Nail' only appears on the DVD. In between the performances, insightful commentaries from slotted in from each band members, along with behind-the-scenes tour footage. The running time in total is 104 minutes. What makes this disc even more appealing is how well shot the film was, with masterful editing capturing the excitement of the crowd, and with lots of different camera angels, we are able to see all of the action taking place from the comfort of home. If you really don't care own the CD to listen to, you can purchase the video separately here: Coldplay Live 2012 [DVD+CD--DVD Case]. Best of all, it is a Region Free DVD which will play the world over, and comes equipped with multi-language subtitle options. It is only rated a 15 certificate due to the frequent use of the F word.

'Coldplay Live 2012' is an excellent souvenir, and an insightful document of a concert experience from one of my favourite bands!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I bought this today as i thought their Glastonbury 2011 performance was really, really good. I can only say that i'm glad i've kept that show on my Sky HD box. The sound i have no complaints about, but i agree with the person who said on here that the picture is grainy and that it's a bit like watching a DVD. I'd say that at times it's more like watching a VHS. How the Queen at Montreal Blu Ray can shine & glow on my 50 inch tele despite being filmed in 1981 (!) yet this filmed over the past 12-18 months can look so different in comparison is beyond me. The person that did the Led Zep Blu Ray that i bought last week (the excellent 'Celebration Day') should have got their hands on this too. Shame, as Coldplay are on top form here & it's been ages since Coldplay have released anything you can watch. Still, the songs are great. Just skip the rather dull documentary bits in between. You can thank me later.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
rubbish. it starts wonderfully then goes into a long , drawn out monologue which isn't interesting & only breaks up the enjoyment of the 1st 2 tracks. but no, then it goes on all the way thru the concert! you get 1 song & a load of drivel, then a song again! put all the mindless rubbish into an option & leave the concert in entirety. glad I didn't buy this, we downloaded it to see what it was like before parting with hard earned cash. needless to say, we wont bother...even £7 2nd hand on amazon is way too much. thewizardfromoz.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Excellent live DVD from one of the biggest bands in the world. The cinematography and audio mix of the live dvd immerse you in the atmosphere of the show. Great track list featuring new songs with old favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)