Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
67
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Pi Hut Heatsink for Raspberry Pi
Colour: Black|Change
Price:£3.72+ Free shipping


on 19 October 2017
Comparitively expensive for what it is; but happy to support a great little company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
helps keep the Rpi and bit cooler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This does what it says it'll do.
Tiny bit of kit, easy to unpack and install.
A handy little upgrade if you're a bit of a fiddler like I am.
This could be used on other chips if required.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
High quality product from the pi hut keeps the processor nice and cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Great little product if you are going to be over clocking your Pi or using it to run CPU intensive tasks. The Raspberry Pi website says that you don't strictly need a heatsink due to the type of chip they use but I've run a few processor intensive tasks and things got a bit toasty so I've put one of these on anyway just in case.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Expensive for what it is and on a pi3 I'm not sure how effective it is.

As a test I loaded stress - sudo apt-get stress.
Then use the following line:
while true; do vcgencmd measure_clock arm; vcgencmd measure_temp; sleep 10; done& ./cpuburn-a53

This will show you the temperatures whilst running a pretty harsh stress test.

Running this without a heatsink I got up to 80 degrees pretty quickly - probably by the 3rd temp report. I aborted this around 84 degrees and perhaps this would have gone higher .. not sure.

I then fitted the HS and ran the test. This was a slower climb .. perhaps 5 reports to get to 80 and above - it appeared to settle around 83 degrees but I stopped it there.

So the HS isn't going to stop it getting to the magic 80 degrees where the throttling will take place. I think a fan may be the only answer but even then.

Now when considering if this is worth it or not one has to consider real world applications and you'd need to do a watch for temperatures for the application that you intend to run and see if it will hold the temp you require.

Bear in mind that the stress test I've used is probably going to be pretty extreme and it's unlikely that your required app will push it this far.

Given that the pi3 runs much hotter than its predecessors (eg. the pi2 under the same stress test without a HS would get to 65 max) I believe it's better to put one of these on anyway and depending on your desired application consider a fan if it's not enough,
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
It's very easy to fit to the Broadcom System Chip and it reduces the reported core temperature by 5 to 10 degrees.

The only slight drawback is that some of the GPIO header boards that sit over the Raspberry Pi board don't quite clear the top of the heatsink! I've got around this by using an Adafruit 2x13 Stacking Header, which gives plenty of clearance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
Easy to fit with low profile and so fits into pi case. CPU runs about 10C lower, which must be better for it.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
What needs to be said? It works and at the price I wouldn't expect less. Pity there is so much packaging for such a small article.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Works well, came with a small peel-off sticky on the bottom although it could be more effective if it was thermal paste instead.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)