Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
2,300
4.5 out of 5 stars
Star Trek Into Darkness [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 February 2017
I grew up with Star Trek so I am very forgiving BUT really ....?

Special effects, great as per... but for me what let this whole thing down was there just wasn't enough story. Beyond the main characters, and even at times including them, most characters felt almost one-dimensional. The whole thing felt as though it should have been a sub arc to the main plot of the movie - but there just wasn't a main plot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Fine film if you are into Star Trek. You Probably have to see the first film ("Star Trek" made in 2009- not sure if it has another name, but by the same Director - Abrams, I think) as it carries on from it to some extent. A good re-ignition of the franchise. Of course being Hollywood there is the villain played by the British Actor... "The Cumberbatch" plays an excellent baddy as "Khan".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Star Trek - Into Darkness is a very good film following on from the re-imagining of the original franchise in 2009. It is both fast-paced and action-packed, with an interesting plot. There are, however, a couple of minor missteps which do slightly detract from the overall film.

The DVD itself comes with a couple of small featurettes concerning the filming of one particular sequence and the principal antagonist, respectively.

All in all a very good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 3 September 2013
This the second instalment of 'Star-Trek's exciting 'prequel's to the
iconic and much admired series of yesteryear.
after breaking 'Federation' guide-lines in an effort to save friend, 2nd
command 'Spock' ..'Kirk' looses his position as captain of the 'Enterprise'
after a unprovoked attack on earth's federation H.Q and the death of 'Kirk's'
friend and Commander 'Christopher Pike' circumstances have changed, the
ruthless 'John Harrison' known as 'Khan' has declared a one-man war on 'Earth'
and the 'Federation'
'Kirk' is re-installed as the captain of the 'Enterprise' along with his trusted
team, their mission ---kill 'Khan' .....however because 'Khan' has chosen a
'Klingon' planet in which to hide, use of weapons there could trigger a war with
the 'Klingon' empire.
things are not as cut and dry as they appear however........the adventure begins.
again, sympathetic and credible attention has again been afforded to the original
character's that many of us remember well, this is an action-packed thrill-ride,
with dazzling special effects on board.......this is again a must for 'Trekkie'
fans both old and new,
( superb on both B/R 3-D and Blu-Ray disc )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Ask around and you will find that many people believe that J. J. Abrams did a good job when rebooting the Star Trek universe. He did not disregard the cannon that the film was based on, but embraced it and created an alternative universe instead. Therefore, why are people so surprised that `Star Trek into Darkness' should follow the same trend? Kirk and company return on a new adventure that sees them go up against the mysterious John Harrison. On their journey they will meet foes familiar to the Trek fans everywhere, but can they also succeed where their previous incarnations trod?

As a fan of the universe I very much enjoyed `Into Darkness', this is a film that is all about the spectacle and providing a rip roaring adventure. Many modern blockbusters try and create a seat of your pants ride, but few succeed. I believe `Into Darkness' succeeded where they failed. There are some great action set pieces and twists, that some may see coming, but are fun nonetheless. The cast remain excellent; Pine, Quinto and Pegg in particular. Some of the other crew are a little underserved this time, but future outings may reset this balance.

It is probably the controversial third act that splits people from loving the film, or not. I for one found it a fun way of connecting to the past, whilst maintaining its own identity. It is more the very final scenes that annoyed me, almost as it everything had to be wrapped up cleanly for the modern simpler audience. Throw out any potential controversy with the film and you are left with an excellent summer blockbuster that has brilliant action sequence and pithy cast chemistry that lifts the dialogue. Not quite as good as the original reimagining, but still a great flick.

This is a film to watch in High Definition, the action looks magnificent and you can bask in the glow of Abrams lens flare. The special features on the disc are a little dry and will appeal to people more interested in special effects creating than the actual movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
So I had a look at the reviews before buying this, because I couldn't believe that someone was selling a movie box set and phaser in one go, so I wanted to check if anyone has written reviews about the phaser that comes with it as well.

I couldn't find any reviews for the prop replica phaser, so here goes.

The phaser that comes with this is perfect. Perfect weight, height, shape, colour. It looks great on my desk and I'm looking forward to displaying it at conventions. The dissapointment I have with it though, comes in the form of action. This is literally a prop replica. No lights and sounds, no button to auto-rotate the front bit. I feel like it would be nice if it had those features, but for the price you're paying, it's definitely worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Great movie. But item received did not have digital UV copy so item not as described

I saw the movie at the cinema and it was excellent.

But the blu ray I received was not the item on the product page. I ordered the Blu-ray+digital copy edition but received only the Blu-ray.

The cover was different (no blue ribbon) and I didn't received the UV/digital copy hence the 1 star rating as this was an important part of my purchase decision.
review image review image
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This is a dark film in that it goes into the depths of despair of a man, Khan, who features much later in the film "The Wrath of Khan" featuring James Tiberius Kirk (who is now an Admiral) and a much older Science Officer Spock. The spoor of the story behind Khan is shown in its entirety as far as this film is prepared to go, showing the hatred that had now built up by Khan towards humans for the injustice shown him by the latter. Without touching upon spoilers, if you want to see where Khan came from in Kirk's early life then this film is the one to go for. The film on its own shows great candour and worthy acting by the support crew of the Enterprise, as once more it goes to seek out New Worlds and to boldly go where no one has gone before! Hugo Shepherd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Great movie but the Product description doesn't mention that the digital copy is only available in Australia. The price is still good for a DVD and Blu-ray but I wanted the digital copy so sent mine back. The Blu-ray box also arrived locked. I got a refund quite quickly though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
again another brilliant star trek film well worth watching keeps your attention all the way
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse