Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£24.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2014
It's a big book :) very informative and approachable unlike the majority of Linux books out there you will not be bored to tears when reading this. Content is plenty and covers a diverse range of topics absolutely ideal if you are new to Linux and want to get hands on.

Please be advised though the book focuses more on the red hat derivatives

A fantastic resource Negus has done a good job! I will be buying future editions

If you want to learn more about administration and setting up securing server related stuff this book is awesome :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Whilst concerning Linux you can get everything you want online for free in terms of tutorials, this book does the (almost) impossible and helps people who want to learn Linux in a structured way. Especially when coming from Windows, this book can be a godsend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
5 Stars on this updated publication, as a retired person it was with trepidation that I invested in any book re: 'Linux' due to reduced finances, however I settled on this book for my interest and updating of my PC's Linux Ubuntu distributions.

In short I think it has paid for itself after using only a fraction of the information.

It is an excellent reference book, which shall be used daily.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
If you want to learn all about Linux this book is a great starting point. So far I have found everything easy to understand. Would recommend to anyone.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
It's not a useless manual, but,on the one hand, the content is a bit dated, and on the other, the book is neither a reference nor an architectural manual. It's probably good for Windows sysadmins expanding their area of expertise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Just the best book on the subject and one that is universally recognized as being the best. I learned new things within the first few seconds reading and that always indicates a good purchase. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Almost halfway through the book and love it already! Easy to understand. Logical order. Covers very important topics. You can feel the info building up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This manual was brought as a present for someone who is going to install Linux onto their computer. They tell me it is ideal with plenty of information and have enjoyed reading it. Be warned it is a large heavy manual to hold but has plenty inside.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
This is the only book you need to buy to learn linux.Period. It covers everything about linux. It changed me from a complete novice to an expert
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
A well laid out book easy to dip into when you need to find some snippet of info' or other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)