Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.09


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2016
The book is great. Well worth a read - inspirational and uplifting. Possibly even life-changing.

George Muller set out to do two things in his life. One was to care for orphans - which he did for thousands and thousands of them, and in a very complete way as well. The second was to prove that God hears and answers prayers. He did this by never revealing any needs to the public, however urgent and important, but telling God alone... and writing them in his journal. Then recording the answer to those prayers later. Some of them took 50 years, but all were answered in the end: over 70,000 examples of answered prayers. Don't worry, not all are recorded in this book... but this book does give an exciting overview of some of the most spectacular and miraculous.

If you ever doubt whether there is a God, whether he listens and cares, and whether he answers prayers, and whether he still does miracles today, then this book will really wipe those doubts away. It doesn't say so in this book, but George inspired others to live likewise too, some to this day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 1998
This is one of my favorite books. For about a year I carried it with me and read several passages devotionally. It is not in the original 1830 English of Mueller, but has been edited to be more readable. The book describes how Mueller accomplished his goal of being an example of answered prayer. I liked it so much I bought several copies and gave them to friends.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
A great story by a great Man of God, who did a lot of good work among orphans and one who depended on the Lord for every penny.
Thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Amazon Always provide excellent service thanks a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Fascinating story !! It is great to know how God works through our prayers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 1999
Although some may criticize this edition as being incomplete, it nevertheless covers most of the important elements of Muller's life. I've re-read this book many times. The story is stunning. What an inspiration!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
This book was one of the first radical Christian books I ever read. I was amazed and challenged to read of such a Christian, and to know that someone outside of the NT could actually live like this today. Of course he lived a few centuries ago, I've seen few men like him today. That is until recently. God has shown me many who are living like Muller in various ways. One man would be Francis Chan

Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God

Another would be William McDonald though he is dead now:

True Discipleship

I have come to see that we can have the witness and power of the Apostles and early Christians, if we are willing to live and love like they did.

An excellent book on the early Christians is:

Will the Real Heretics Please Stand Up: A New Look at Today's Evangelical Church in the Light of Early Christianity

May God give us all the courage and power to live the Christ-life here in the 21st century.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2016
I became curious about George Muller whilst listening to a Christian speaker who mentioned Muller's amazing work with orphans in Bristol in the early 19th century, and so decided to read his autobiography.

This version is largely a transcript of his journal and has been updated to reasonably contemporary English.

It is an amazing story of a man called by God to help orphaned children through schooling and accommodation, starting with nothing, never borrowing, never asking for money but by prayer and patience receiving and using freely-given gifts to deliver his calling. Whilst at times his journal is a little repetitive (running out of money, receiving what what needed always, and often just in time) this is an inspirational story of faith, dedication and good works. He ran schools, built five orphan houses accommodating 2000 children, distributed a huge number of bibles and tracts, and later in his life travelled the world preaching. A truly amazing man devoted to others following God's guidance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
What an amazing discovery. I accidentally stumbled on this short book whilst browsing for another, but I could not put it down! Very easy to read. I read other reviews that it is not "complete". However, it was more than a good enough summary of the incredible faith that George Mueller had! Very encouraging and a strong reminder of the importance and power of prayer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
George Muller was surely a Man of God. This book has revolutionised my prayer life. It is not a gimmick. It is about digging deeper into the unsearchable riches of Christ.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)