Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2014
Love this show! Great for kids and adults alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I loved it, shame it ended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
I'm surprised that nobody else has posted a review yet, but that's why I'm here now I guess. WvA was made as a sort-of replacement for The Sarah Jane Adventures after the wonderful Elisabeth Sladen passed away. The main plot of the show is pretty much in the title, with aliens harvesting the magic from wizards as a kind of energy supply. The series is made up of 6 2-parters, all of which are really well made, even if they all share a few flaws, but it's its first season so it's to be expected. The main characters consist of Tom and Benny, who are likeable enough, but we sometimes have to wonder why they're suddenly such good friends despite the bullying Tom gives Benny at the beginning of the series. The second story of the season 'Grazlax Attacks' is in my opinion the best as it is a nice little monster story that reminds you of movies like 'Gremlins'. The season has an emotional and satisfying last story that promises more in the second season. Overall, I found this first season to be funny, exciting and very entertaining and cannot wait for the next.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
This is an epic series. It's so good and so is the DVD but am really annoyed that they haven't made a series 2 and series 3 on DVD yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Love the series! Although season 1 (this DVD) can be slow in places and you can tell the writers took a while to get used to the new characters, the story in itself is well thought out and when you continue watching into season 2 it really has that wow feel that Russel T and Phil Ford gave to Doctor Who and the Sarah Jane Adventures.

Great for young boys and girls who love doctor who!! And also to those like me who can persevere past the opening episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Very good family viewing, in keeping with Dr Who and Sarah Jane adventures, full of great special effects and stories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Funny, clever, brilliant! Bought this out of curiousity. Did not even realise it was an RTD effort. Watched it on a sunny Sunday afternoon. OH endorses everything I say ... We enjoyed every minute. The young leads were very good, younger people watching this must have found new heart throbs. Some might suggest the cast is a little PC but the humour, tension and back stories of the main characters make this an enjoyable and well worthwhile spend. Looking forward to the next series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This series is great, much in the same spirit as The Sarah Jane Adventures which is to be expected. The leads are excellent and the stories are easy to follow and understand. Highly entertaining and rewatchable for kids (and big kids!) alike.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
My 4 year old loves Doctor Who, but having watched all the new series box sets, i wanted something else for him. He was reluctant to swap out DW, but once it started he was hooked. great purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
This DVD, that has subtitles, is superb entertainment. Well done BBC! I use it with my kids who are learning English and they lap it up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse