Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 April 2015
Unlike some of the DVDs I get via Amazon, this DVD is flawless and great quality. All the performances are very beautiful, though I have some favourites among them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
This is a pleasure: it is the best extracts from various Royal Ballet performances.. They have cherry-picked the best from each ballet and it highlights the quality and diversity of its company. The only ballet I am not happy with is Swan Lake: not because of the dancers but because of the production. It is over elaborate and overcrowded and what happened to the jester? The best recording is the one commissioned by the BBC of the Marinsky Ballet. It is exquisitely danced and the stage is never over crowded. The Royal Ballet stag is too small for such an elaborate setting and so many actors. Also Siegfried, dressed in navy, is often difficult to see.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
This is just a small magnificent “taster” of what ballet is all about.

Ah - have you been to any of the 'Cinema Live' presentations? For just a little more than the price of a cinema ticket you see every ROH performance - both ballet and opera - GLOBALLY transmitted LIVE from Covent Garden to your local cinema in 4K resolution (the best system we have to date).

You do not just see the performance from one vantage point, you see it from many - from full 'proscenium arch' to see 'the big picture', to 'up close and personal' to see the expressions, the costumes, and the gestures and mime elements.

And if THAT doesn't make it accessible then how about this - The Royal Ballet have released a repertoire of 24 ballets - many in 4K resolution on BluRay and DVD.

The boxed set - called 'The collection' – is now available from Amazon - and the best bit - where a ballet normally costs around £30 EACH - the price for the entire collection works out at around just £6 per ballet - top THAT!

As to the performances they are BREATHTAKING!

Sample the goods with this fabulous DVD and then “go for it” and get the boxed set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
What a lovely selection of scenes from the best of the Royal Ballet.It is impossible to fault the cast of the Royal Ballet and to have such artistes as Mariannela Nunez, Thiago Soares and Carlos Acosta among others showing their artistic ability makes for a thoroughly enjoyable dvd. A real treat and one that you want to watch again and again.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Bought as a present for my father who is no longer able to get to the theatre. As intended, this was a very good substitute which he enjoyed immensely.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Beautiful to watch so glad i bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
How can any opera goer not enjoy an evening with the Royal Opera. You may miss the excitement and the atmosphere of the live performance, but you can savour and prolong the high points with home comforts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
For me this was disappointing. I found the sound of the audience applause about three times as loud as the performances. Although most of the music was familiar, the names of most performers were not. I'm more familiar with operetta than opera and am used to seeing much younger performers, so it was a bit of a shock to see Hansel and Gretel played with almost greying hair. That aside, the performances were O.K.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
As an introduction to some of the productions on offer at Covent Garden this DVD fits the bill. However, I feel they could have included a few more excerpts from other recent productions to make it a little more varied.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)