Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
106
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
This is a typical pretentiousl hollywood action movie, but without the usual muscle, energy and ... forget about intelligence - pumped up by loud sound track and fast editing. Some films have poor script and directing, but still watchable because of leading actors' performances; both leading actors here just don't look and act the parts, they are either lazy or out of their depth for what meant to be a very complex and multilayered characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
This is an okay thriller. It doesn't cover any new ground, and the writing's not particularly clever, but it's an okay way to spend 90 minutes.

You rather have to turn your brain off to be able to enjoy this - FBI investigations don't work that way, cut throats don't work that way, null hypothesis and logic doesn't work that way (the investigators try and prove a hypothesis just by failing to find evidence for the null hypothesis). But the performances are fine, the direction is competent, and the production values are decent.

All in all, this is watchable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
I am not sure where to start with this review. Do I like this film? I think so. Is it any good? I think it's ok. Really, is it any good? Ermmm, yes I was right, it's ok. The Double promises more that it actually delivers but it's still pretty enjoyable, if a bit over complicated in places which is sometimes the problem with straight to DVD films that think they are big budget. Don't get me wrong there is a he'll of a lot worse out there, a he'll of a lot. At least this film is good quality with a fairly big budget and the performances are good. I just feel the writers of straight to DVD films sometimes think it's better to complicate the story toooooo much in order to try and make it more grown up. Thankfully not that much of a problem with this.

The story is about an assassin who's party trick is to slit throats, but now believed to have now been killed. However bodies keep turning up with throats that look like donna kebabs. Is the assassin back? Bring in an FBI agent and an retired field man, Richard Gere to hunt the killer down in search for the shady truth. For the most part the film is faily steady but it has some half decent action scenes, especially towards the end. Gere puts in an admirable performance with a bit of a loose cannon edge. His FBI rookie played by Grizzly Adams (not really its Topher Grace. Never heard of him either) is ok and does not annoy as most actors like this do all to often.

It advertises the film on the front of the DVD cover as "from the writers of WANTED and 2 FAST 2 FURIOUS". Both crap films and for stupid people. The Double is at least half a grown up story, or tried it's very best to be. Remember The Jackal starring Bruce Willis and Richard Gere? I really like that movie. Well,The Double follows along simalar lines to that so if you liked The Jackal, you should like The Double.

The main reason I decided to buy this DVD was because I had just watched Arbitrage with Richard Gere which was great. Take my advice and order both movies, and overall you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
A boring thriller very predictable was expecting more but fell asleep after 20 minutes its off to charity shop
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
A nice idea for a story, with a couple of good twists... But the film has a poor script, mediocre acting and overall bad directing... Having a good core story is not enough!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
... ok ish but slightly slower pace than i would have liked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
This was terrible. Boring, unrealistic, pointlessly violent. How on earth did they get such good stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Dialogue very poor. Most of it was difficult to hear as it was mumbled.!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2017
Good movie with interesting turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)