Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
479
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Fall [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2014
Watched this off of the back of the Nordic noir big hitters. It's a different type of show with a disappointing hard to believe at times lead character. Focus is not on the victims family and how they cope in the aftermath of a murder, such as the Killing, but the antagonists family and how their lives will be altered forever when the secret is revealed - an interesting and gripping idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
It's not often a truly creepy, spine-chilling and plausible drama hits ours screens so this was a real treat!

If you are planning to watch this, get your PJs on, stock up on junk-food and drinks, close all the curtains and spend the weekend watching all the episodes one after the other: believe me, you won't be able to watch just one!

Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Great mix of Belfast troubles with American protagonist played by Gillian Anderson. She is brilliant as the hard-nosed detective challenging her male work colleagues on their perceptions of what is acceptable for male/female behaviour, as well as entering the mind of the serial killer whom she is pursuing. Can't wait for the next episodes - in the Autumn on BBC?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2013
Although you may believe yourself incapable of being surprised any longer by a police thriller, this is unusual in revealing the serial killer's identity from the first episode, and in contriving to make him disturbingly sympathetic so that, despite being appalled by his manipulative, brutal and creepy behaviour, shocked that an apparently normal, caring father, husband and committed bereavement counsellor can be so evil, and therefore reassured by the occasional clear evidence of madness, a part of you also wants him to escape justice.

I agree with the praise for the quality of acting, in particular the impeccable playing by Gillian Anderson of SI Stella Gibson, the ruthless, ice cool female detective with her wry put-downs of male colleagues. Belfast provides a distinctive setting - hints of the aftermath of "The Troubles" and some dramatic sub-plots, although I would have liked the thread involving the first victim's husband to have been developed in more detail.

Although it is no doubt the author's intention, the murder scenes are almost unbearably violent and voyeuristic. You feel uneasy watching them, and perhaps even more so those where the killer is shown as a loving, if deceitful, father, hiding mementos of his crimes in the loft space above the bed of his observant and understandably disturbed small daughter. The lack of any explanation of the killer's deviancy until the final episode also seems to me to reduce the depth of the drama.

The one aspect I really dislike is the tendency to intercut scenes of say, the killer abusing a victim whilst SI Stella Gibson indulges in a one night stand. This ploy came across to me as by turns too contrived, tasteless or over-sentimental, as when we are shown clips of the killer's wife comforting young single mothers over their dying premature babies, whilst a pregnant woman is being murdered elsewhere by her husband.

This is powerful and well-made popular television, although I am not sure how good it is for the psyche of the watcher.

The final twists are ingenious and unpredictable, binding together several plot lines. The ambiguous ending which I cannot give away for fear of spoilers may leave many dissatisfied but succeeded for me in leaving it open to the audience to imagine "what happens next" and paves the way for the second series commissioned even before the showing of the first was completed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Gillian and Jamie are outstanding actors. I was hooked within the first few minutes and watched the two season over three days.
It's not predictable and Gillians character is sensual and strong. The men in this are very handsom would loved to have seen more of colin morgan.
By far the best irish programme out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Superb acting, story line and atmosphere. Jamie Dornan's performance as a serial killer, while living a seemingly normal domestic life along with wife and young child is frightening. Gillian Anderson as the strong-willed female policewoman in a very male dominated world is wonderful to watch. Great, great television !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Overall, an excellent series. But, the ending is disappointing. I thought I was diddled by Amazon by thinking that they had failed to deliver the full disc set but then I realized there were only 5 episodes in total!!! So, now I'm waiting on tenterhooks for the subsequent series and I guess there will be more than one more...................................
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Brilliant British Crime Drama with two incredible leads in Gillian Anderson (The X-Files) & Jamie Dornan (Whom many will remember as Christian Grey from now on... urgh)

Gripping from start to finish,... Don't expect the case to end in episode 6..... there is a second series which was just as good....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Another great performance of Irish productions, can't wait for next season
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Violent and dark but the acting and tense drama are really good,i have always liked gillian anderson.The killer is very creepy and the actor who played him was great.Have watched both series 1 and 2 and definetly prefer the first one,there is alot more mystery and tension to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)