Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
361
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2013
'The Fall' is an Irish-British serial killer/crime drama series that was released in 2013 and was shown in the United Kingdom on BBC Two. The five part series is created by Allan Cubitt and directed by Jakob Verbruggen. The program received a fantastic response from the critics on its release. Combined with excellent viewership figures, the show became a surprise hit and the highest rated BBC Two drama launch in eight years.

The series is based in Northern Ireland and shows Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson) trying to catch a twisted serial killer (Jamie Dornan) responsible for numerous disturbing deaths.

To begin things, this is high quality television that sets the benchmark for crime dramas. The show is as good as it gets, I loved and relished every second.

From the first episode, the disturbing events and compelling suspense hooked me to show. The dark and haunting setting shown in crisp cinematography, creates an atmosphere full of class. Combined with stunning acting, and I mean award winning performances, I knew this was going to be special. As the unpredictable cat and mouse game intensifies between Stella Gibson and the killer, the viewer is left begging for more. The story brilliantly progresses with interesting intertwining sub-plots and plenty of twists. The final episode for me was a truly powerful watch. Yes, a section of the viewers have complained that the ending was disappointing. However, I found the ending gripping to say the least. The final minutes showcased a heart-thumping exchange of dialogues between the lead actors that left me in a mesmerized state with goosebumps. In my opinion the climax was fitting because it sets up the second series perfectly and promises all the answers.

The performance of the show comes from Jamie Dornan as Paul Spector who invents a new breed of a serial killer. His frightening yet calm portrayal is something I've never seen. His dead-pan eyes are simply unnerving. Dornan plays a loving family man with hidden demons in a manner that pulverizes the viewers mind. Solid acting. Gillian Anderson's screen presence is fiery. Her character is mysterious and unpredictable, not giving anything away. She blew me away in the final episode with a riveting flurry. I get a feeling, Anderson is going to be the top dog in season two. The tension between both actors, sets the screen on fire.

The direction by Jakob Verbruggen is realistic and atmospheric. He creates an exciting and intelligent crime drama. Verbruggen extracts top performances from the actors, which makes the show even more unmissable. An aspect worth mentioning is the setting in Belfast, it's clever how Verbruggen managed to make it feel like another character, a strong one too. From me, he gets a round of applause for the execution of the climax that I can't stop raving about.

'The Fall' is one of those rare shows that will challenge your psyche. Absolutely fascinating.
0Comment| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This really is a top class drama set in Belfast and with a tremendous cast of actors. Many scenes are genuinely thrilling in the true sense of word, a credit to the scriptwriters, camera operators, cinematographers, editors, actors as well of course as the excellent director. I couldn't recommend this highly enough, and can't wait for series 2.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Creating attractive and charming fictional monsters that prey on women is nothing new; Bram Stoker, for example, used it to great effect and spawned a whole industry. The Fall is no exception with young, attractive, athletic bereavement counsellor, Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan) providing solace to the grieving by day and feeding his twisted and murderous erotic fantasies by night: this when he's supposed to be looking after his toddler son and primary-aged daughter while wife, Sally Ann (Bronagh Waugh), is out on night shift as a neonatal nurse.

Spectors' targets conform to a stereotype: all young slim attractive professional women with dark brown hair. He either sources them from the internet or capitalizes on opportunistic encounters in bars etc. He appears to be very skilled at gaining information about them and is an accomplished housebreaker enabling him to gain entry to their homes once he's tracked them down. His other primary asset, of course, is that he is a practiced and convincing liar.

His various attractions lead him to become the focus of another's obsessive fantasies, the couple's baby sitter, 15 tear old Katie Benedetto (Aisling Franciosi) who attempts to use her emerging sexual allure to trap him into committing adultery.

Spector's first victim is Alice Monroe and high flying Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson (Gillian Anderson), a homicide specialist from the Metropolitan Police, is seconded to take over the investigation. A second victim displaying the same MO convinces Gibson that they are dealing with a serial killer.

If Spector (is the name purely a coincidence?) is the vampire, stalking his victims under cover of darkness in order to sate his lust for what appear to be copies of his first `love', Gibson is a kind of power dressing vampire slayer.

But she is no Buffy and harbours dark desires of her own that add to the mayhem and tragedy surrounding the hunt and what makes this particular killer/cop duel insidious but compelling is the comparative attractiveness of the killer and the unsettling and vaguely disturbing otherworldliness of the cop!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This really is very very good Do not use the word brilliant lightly but this is. Gillian Anderson is excellent as always and Jamie Dornan is a revelation as the killer Very disturbing to watch and not for the actual killings,but the 'normalness',when Paul is with his wife and children,in contrast to his other 'activities' Truly chilling Loved every second of it Can not recommend this highly enough Thank goodness series 2 is not far off ! PS Have noticed in the Product review it states that the killer stalks his victims at random He does not,he has a very specific type that he targets again and again It is the one comforting thing about it,knowing if it were real life,you would personally be safe as you do not fit the type !
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
My partner and I decided to purchase this after reading some of the reviews, and because my partner quite likes Gillian Anderson from her X-Files days! I was fresh off watching 'Broadchurch', which I thought was decent but could have been better, so I didn't have particularly high expectations for 'The Fall'. I'm glad to say I was presently surprised at how well written and produced this series was, and I thought Jamie Dornan's acting was superb - he's clearly far more than just a pretty face! While the subject matter was deeply disturbing, and quite stomach-churningly graphic and suspenseful at times, I found I couldn't stop watching or look away. I guess that's testament again to the writers/director/and producers of The Fall that they can take such a disturbing story-line and make it utterly compelling, even for the more squeamish among us! I definitely do not like gore for gore's sake, but in The Fall, it was just enough to make it believable without battering you over the head with it - sorry, bad choice of metaphor perhaps! :) I hope they release Season 2 quickly.

My only pet peeve was Gillian's rather silly faux English accent - why they didn't just make her an American detective, I don't know.
1313 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
This series was BBC 2 at it's best.
Very well cast, although I felt Gillian Anderson's character's accent was forced at times and she was so slow as Stella that I wanted to shake her character.
Jamie Dornan was a very convincing and deliciously attractive serial killer.
Paul Spector was a real charmer, grief counsellor, family man, but with a chequered past and dislike of a certain type of woman related to his past.
Some scenes were uncomfortable to watch at times.
Dornan switched between loving family man to deranged twisted killer like a switch.
It was gripping, and had a strong supporting cast including John Lynch and Emmet J Scanlan.
One to watch over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Jamie Dornan. Being Bad. Need I say more? Well, actually there is a lot more to this. It's essentially a story of two people and their lives running parallel, coming close but never actually meeting (so far). I think there is one scene they're both in, but not both in focus. A fascinating tale of a murderer (that's not a spoiler) and a police officer. Set in Northern Ireland, but it could be anywhere in the UK and exploring the double life of Paul in his role as a grief counsellor, husband and father and vicious killer. Extraordinary, but at the same time believable and all the more chilling for it. Stella is the senior officer in charge of the investigation who leads her own hedonistic lifestyle behind (mostly) closed doors. A femme fatale who is actually the investigator not perpetrator. Can't wait for series 2.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2014
.

An examination of sexual predator, which is framed against the locale of, post-Troubles Belfast. This is where a Met police officer,on secondment, has to deal with sectarian riots outside a murder scene. In addition, where a serial killer's painstaking plans can be confounded by Loyalist thugs?

Dornan plays Paul Spector grief counsellor, former Samaritans voluntary helper and serial killer who is terrorising the city of Belfast. This series revolves around a PSNI (Police Service of Northern Ireland) investigation in Belfast into a string of Murders. Detective Superintendent Gibson played by Gillian Anderson, who is on secondment from London's Metropolitan Police Service, heads the police investigation. This is a gripping cat-and-mouse series, where Dornan plays an intelligent, articulate - but deeply flawed character who gives into his deep dark desires, yet his misogyny seems rather selective or maybe he has a degree of self-control. Whatever, the case, vis-à-vis his predilections each episode of the five part episodes of this first season is a rather addictive to watch, as we see Detective Superintendent Gibson trying to find him and stop his predatory killing spree. The provided Mise-en-scène of Belfast after the troubles, is none the less still a potential tinderbox, where sectarian gangs still hold sway. Some may be less satisfied by 'The Fall' finale - or feel that they were left hanging, whatever the case this series leaves enough mileage to run into season two.

---------------Update 11/03/2015-----------------------

It has been announced that there will be a season 3, of this series.

.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 October 2015
Set in Belfast this crime drama is a powerful, intriguing and assured piece of work, more psychological than action thriller, although definitely containing tension aplenty. This is a chilling ‘cat and mouse’ tale about a mild mannered family man by day who turns into a calculated serial killer by night, hunted by a tough enigmatic female detective. The two protagonists are introduced prior to the opening credits of the first programme and the superb screenplay allows us to glean subtle insights into their characters and motivations, which paradoxically are very similar in many ways as both murderer and detective have needy, ruthless and obsessive personalities. Both, in their own way, outsiders. Gillian Anderson’s performance as Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson is terrific while Jamie Dornan’s portrayal of Paul Spector, the handsome charming professional man with a hidden dark side is outstanding. The sectarian conflicts of the province provide a unique background to proceedings where the everyday presence of men of violence contrasts with Spector’s equally clandestine activities. The narrative is well plotted and the unexpected turn of events in the last episode merely confirms the quality and confidence of the writing. I watched this in a day, totally absorbed and fascinated.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
I'm afraid we gave up. Very disappointed since we'd heard so many wonderful things about it. Gillian Anderson looks like misery incarnate the whole time - no other facial expression. Sent us back to rewatch Prime Suspect, which I assume this is trying to replicate in some way. Obviously, this is just a matter of taste though - just didn't keep our interest.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)