Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
A superb blue ray transfer to a first class wildlife documentary.
Colours look natural and well balanced, never too bright and aggressively vibrant. Contrast is good and the picture is quite sharp while still showing some film grain in darker sequences. The content of the series feels a little more factual and more educational than some recent series from the BBC as if it's trying to educate rather than just entertain the viewer. There's a distinct lack of thundering music, cameras flying over exotic locations, short narrative and all the rest. As the series is about the different stages of life we all face it's a little more varied than Life in the Undergrowth or Life of Birds where in the former for instance we might get a whole episode just on spiders. Nor is it location bound as the BBC series Africa and Planet Earth are. The footage of the Killer Whales hunting is especially impressive. Attenborough also makes more of an onscreen presence than he would do in later series as his age advanced, personally I find it a pleasure to see him on camera getting up close to the wildlife. I'd recommend this for all family viewing despite some disturbing scenes.
My Blu Ray also came with a nice behind the scenes look at how it was made. Over 3 and a half years to film meaning most of the footage was shot in the late 80s though broadcast in the 1990s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
These type of films are very appealing to me because I appreciate observing creation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
another David Attenborough classic very education and well filmed and presented well buy it and enjoy it I did again and again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2004
this is the uncut version of david attenboroughs masterpiece. 12 aprox. 45 min. episodes (not only 30 min. as in the previous edition available).
picture quality is crystal sharp, sound is fully stereo.
a pleasure to watch, highly recommended for any "fan" of david attenborough and his way of writing and presenting documentaries about nature.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Excellent remastering of a program that looks in all honest dreadful on the original 3 DVDs. This has been given a 1080i remaster at 50hz and a dts-hd soundtrack on 4 bluray 50gb discs. It is well worth the upgrade from the DVDS as the picture quality for a 30 year old series is great. Only real problem is the underwater shots which look sd.
44 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2005
Buyers, check which version your seller is offering.
The technical details above refer to the 4 disc 583min full version released in 2004, but many sellers will only have the 3 disc 358min cut version released in 2002.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Grand children love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's very quick to feel reassured if you upgrade from dvd to blu ray. The first shots are of stunningly scarlet crabs on Christmas Island (good grief how comfortably the Attenborough sits amid the raging red pincers), On the DVD they are washed out little souls. My DVD version is from the all singing Life boxset and displays the picture in a full screen version on widescreen. I assume through pan and scan or full zoom. Blu ray plays in 4:3 as in the original showing.....However I can"t shake it out of this picture by zooming. Normally I"d be well irritated...but the intensity of the picture like a glossy birthday card overcomes my dislike of the lack of widescreen. There was a reason why we all went wow back in 1990 when this was first shown. Relive the experience.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2003
The Trials Of Life, the third and final part of David Attenborough's Life Trilogy, was a masterpiece of broadcasting that deserved 10 stars (out of 5).
Unfortunately, what you're getting here is a cut-down version. The 12 original episodes each ran for 50 minutes, here they run for 30. This means that over 4 hours has been omitted. The start and end credits have also been removed.
What's particularly galling is the packaging clearly states "The complete series". How is leaving a quarter of the material out "complete"? Trade descriptions act, anyone?
On a technical level, there's nothing wrong with this disc at all. Sure, it's 4:3 ratio, but it was made in 1990 - 8 years before widescreen broadcasts were even available. It was also one of the first programmes to be made with stereo sound, which had just become available.
Overall though this was a huge disappointment, and gross mis-advertising on the BBC's part. One can only hope that the BBC re-release this as a genuine "complete series" and offer a free replacement to anyone who's bought this.
However, this is the only part of the Life Trilogy that has been butchered in this way. The recent releases of "Life On Earth" and "The Living Planet" are, indeed, complete.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2004
After watching Life on Earth, the Living Planet and the Private life of plants this DvD is truely awful. We have been gripped by all the other Attenborough offerings and are 3/4 of the way through Life of Birds (which is superb) with Life of mammals waiting in the wings.
I saw the reviews here and thought I could live with the cutting of this series but I can't. Each episode feels hurried and there is no pleasure for me in watching them. Sure the series itself is probably worth 5 stars but not in this horrid butchered state. Buy all the full 'Life of' DvDs 1st and get this last (if you really have to).
I would dearly love the full series to be released but I don't think I'll ever look at the edited version again. Avoid.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)