Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
229
3.1 out of 5 stars
Aliens: Colonial Marines: Limited Edition (PS3)
Platform: PlayStation3|Change
Price:£4.99+ £1.62 shipping


on 29 August 2017
If there was one thing that did not help was that this games release date kept being changed & as a result the graphics were the victim however its worth playing I did like Alien Isolation but the one thing that bugged me about it was the lack of weapons.

This is worth getting but its not as good as Alien Isolation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Excellent buy and more than happy with my purchase and would def buy from this seller again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Worst game I have ever played... Do not waste your money, not even if you are a fan of the Alien saga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Present for sister, very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Just the game I wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Very good and intriguing game, plenty of action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
This game doesn't deserve the extreme hate it is now infamous for. It was apparently extremely glitchy on release which is unforgivable in a big-title full price release, but has since been updated and runs just fine. My review is as goes;

I judged this as a space-marine game where you run around space-environments and shoot at space aliens with space-guns; as a shooter, it's perfectly average Call of Duty style shooting, which I usually despise due to my dislike of those games. The guns feel meaty and sound awesome, though the actual enemies feel like paper targets; there's no real gratification to pumping bullets into them. But it works just fine, there's nothing awful about the shooting; just kind of boring. Kind of like Star Wars battlefront games; average shooting mechanics in a movie universe you like. Although there is too much scripted stuff for my tastes.

If the game was Generic Space Marine Shooter number 8719520, instead of an Aliens adaption, it would still be perfectly acceptable three-star stuff. I have played worse games (Turning Point comes to mind). But as a fan of the Alien franchise I am a little more receptive to it; fun weapons, plenty of Aliens to shoot at, and lots of great environments to run around. And it does look great; I remember it being slammed for the graphics, but it really is gorgeous; the look and feel is absolutely perfect for an Aliens game. It reminds me a lot of DOOM. Even if the graphics aren't technically as advanced as promised, it looks great.

So yeah; perfectly average shooter with kind of boring gameplay that is elevated by it being an Aliens game. Just like Star Wars battlefront. Not amazing stuff; Alien Rage, another badly-received game I played recently that uses the same COD-style mechanics but actually kicks a hell of a ton of ass, is a far more entertaining experience. And DOOM 4 is like the best shooter ever made. But Colonial Marines is perfectly acceptable. Like the Alien vs Predator game, it's worth it just for a quick blast of murdering Aliens with pulse rifles.
I recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I've played a fair few games that have been given a critical panning over the years and I often find that they only really suffer from being distinctly average. Few of them could be described as truly poor or unplayable, but I have to say that `Aliens: Colonial Marines' takes a stab at just this. The universe of `Aliens' is an extremely rich one; it blends all out action with scares and great world building. How on LV-426 could you mess things up?

Lacking ambition is one way and this can be said of Gearbox with this game. They have made the brilliant `Borderlands' games, but they are also prone to stuff like `Duke Nukem Forever'. `Colonial Marines' most obvious flaw is its blandness. You are dropped off on planet LV-426 and asked to explore the Alien invested buildings. Graphically, things look pretty poor with brown being the colour of the day. Even Gearbox could not totally mess up the gameplay; the pinging motion detectors are excellent and ramp up the tension. That is until you start despatching aliens left, right and centre. They become as scary as a room full of kitten (deadly kittens?)

The aliens are totally undermined by awful Artificial Intelligence. The xenomorphs should glide across the walls and ceiling, using their hive mind to catch their prey. In some cases the `Colonial Marines' aliens walk right into you. One particularly poor level has you hiding from blind Aliens - so bad, it is almost funny. The game may have been saved if there had been some sort of innovation somewhere, but there is not. The guns feel a little light in the hand and the levels are repetitive and dull. If it were not for the tense motion detector sections the game would be a complete bust. Fans of the `Aliens' films will be angered by how their franchise has been treated, fans of games will be angry about how their pastime has been treated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Don't waste your money!.. Cack!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)