Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2012
I bought this as I am a fan of Damien Wilson through his collaborations with Arjen Lucassen. On first listen I thought this was a good album but not great. It is definately a grower and will most probably reach 5 stars after a few more listens. It is a good combination of progressive time signatures and heavy rock and Wilson's voice is as always superb. All members of the band are in fine form. I must agree with one reviewer though, it seems they lost the creative spark with the title of "Daddy F****** Loves You". This is arguably the best track on the CD and doesn't need a attention seeking title to grab the attention.

I have read the comparisons with Dream Theater and can agree to a certain point, but whatever your tastes in progressive metal this CD should satisfy them.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
Picked this up almost on a whim, though I had heard of the band via the Prog magazine and their track on its free CD. Not an easy first listen, though the musicianship of the band is obvious from the outset. The lyrics are a tad dense at times, but Damian's delivery is good throughout. The album rewards repeated playing and it hasn't stopped spinning since I bought it.

If the last Dream Theater and Threshold albums weren't quite up to scratch and you're casting about for something in a similar vein, but with a sound of its own, try Headspace. Saying that, there's a chorus and an instrumental break during the track Fall of America that really brings to mind Cog's Sharing Space...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
After listening to Avendged Sevenfold, Karnivool, Tool this album seemed like a risk... but my god this is sensational. You need to play it through a few times and then wham it smacks you in the face with it's genius. Suggest listening to the aforementioned bands to appreciate it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Not a bad thing to say about this album. My taste in music is all progressive, and I find dream Theater to be going a bit stale in recent years. The only reason I say that is that DT is always a good benchmark in the world of progressive metal. This album from the British five-some is astounding. Right from the off with ''stalled Armageddon'', the proggy time signatures, the heavy sounds, just writing this is giving me Goosebumps thinking about it!

Best track on the album in my opinion is ''daddy f****** loves you''. It has everything, and I absolutely mean that. The beautiful simplicity of the acoustic intro, seamlessly transitioning into the haunting sounds of the verse followed by a true treat of a riff. The instrumental section in the middle is second to none. I have listened to it many times in the 3 years I have had the album and it gets better every single time.

At this point I would maybe say which tracks don't stand out for me, but there honestly aren't any; this album is a masterpiece.

If you listen to Dream Theater, Haken, Threshold, Circus Maximus then this is for you.
On a side note, you simply must check out hakens ''mountain''. It is one of my favourite albums at the moment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Read some great review on this album, so got a copy.
Havent stoped playing it since!
If you love Dream Theater you will Love this!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
At last a British band that challenges the very best of the American progressive metal titans!This album is pure manna from heaven if you ever loved Dream Theater,Queensryche,Yes,Rush and maybe even "Kashmir"era Zeppelin.An album of bombast and swagger would fall flat if the songs and lyrics didn't sustain the musical storms.Well this album has songs and mighty subjects tackled.Of course these guys are not total newcomers(Threshold showed promise that is here fully fulflled)but as a new band it will be fascinating to see if they attain the recognition this effort deserves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
What a great album. If your a Damian Wilson fan and a follower of Threshold buy this you will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Terrific musicianship !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
OK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)