Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
24
5.0 out of 5 stars
Heavy Metal Thunder - The Movie [DVD] [2012]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 January 2011
I can heartily recommend this rockumentary to any rock fan, not just the Saxon crowd out there. I could - almost - suggest that non rock fans who like a good music based documentary give this a view because it really is a very good example of the genre.

Saxon of course have been around since before the NWOBHM and in many ways along with the successful - Iron Maiden and Priest as well as those who fell by the wayside such as Diamond Head defined what traditional heavy metal really is and was. Saxon inhabit a space all of their own, never having made it huge like IM and Priest but fared much better than many others, at least enough to keep putting out records and touring.

This DVD covers everything Saxon, warts and all, good, bad and ugly. In that its following on from Some Kind of Monster and Anvil in that there is little attempt to cover the cracks. It makes compelling viewing.

There are plenty of clips along the way as Saxon developed their sound, lots of anecdotes and of course Biff, who proves to be a bit of a racantour - and a tough cookie as well. No messing with Biff or you were out.

We have included a classic concert as well on this two disc effort. Well worth a watch because one things for sure Saxon haven't been around as long as they have because of their looks and image....

Overall a great history of probably the truest NWOBHM band to have stayed the course over the last 30 odd years.
77 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Saxon are definitely my favourite metal band. I love all eras of their stuff, from the classic era of the first few albums, the commercial mid to late 80s era, and of course the much heavier later stuff. Love it all. So yes. I'm probably biased. However, this is an EXCELLENT DVD. I bought the Blu-Ray version and the playing time totals around 5 hours.

I'd been watching a couple of documentaries on metal bands recently, the first was Judas Priest's which I watched on their YouTube channel, and the second was Iron Maiden's which I taped off Sky Arts. With Saxon being my favourites, I tried to find a documentary of theirs when I come across Heavy Metal Thunder - The Movie. I bought the Blu-Ray version for the extra quality, although I doubt there is much difference really? Both were £17.99 at the time of purchase, and I used a marketplace seller and got it for under a tenner.

It's brilliant. And chronologically tells the story from the bands inception, up until around 2009 with the release of the Into The Labyrinth album. Loads of clips interspersed in the main film, with the full versions of the clips in the 'extras' section from the main menu. As well as gems such as Live From The Beat Club 1981 and St George's Day Live 2008(?) concerts, there is also candid shots at home and during the recording of Crusader, Innocence Is No Excuse and Into The Labyrinth.

Saxon fans, this is a must purchase for you.
NWOBHM fans, this is a must purchase for you.
Music fans in general? Yeah, you would probably enjoy it too!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
Have an early copy via Saxon's website. This is one of the best rock documentaries I have seen. Band members, past and present, (except for Pete Gill), are more honest than they need to be, and talk you colourfully through Saxon's 30 year history of trials, tribulations, and successes. Interview segments from Lemmy Kilmister, Phil Campbell, Mikkey Dee and Fast Eddie Clarke, as well as Saxon's own memories of Motorhead's 1979 Bomber Tour, which gave Saxon their biggest break, are especially filled with rock 'n' roll tales of sin and debauchery; but hey, that's what it's all about, innit!
With this release there is a second DVD featuring the band's hour-long Beat Club performance for German TV from the early 80's, and this is a great piece of aural and audio memorabilia; the armadillo in Biff's trousers notwithstanding.
Plenty of other excellent footage, and bringing it bang up to date, part of a Saxon live show filmed on St George's Day 2010. Superb, can't say enough about it. If you're a rock fan and / or a Saxon / Motorhead fan; you will love it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
If you are a past or present fan of Saxon's music, NWOBHM or Heavy Metal music in general then this is absolutely essential viewing. The Movie itself chronicles the Band from their Pre Saxon days right up to their headline appearence at Wacken 2009. An Insightful, Thoughtful, Happy, Sad and Intelligent film on how 5 close friends rose to prominence in the 1980's and released a string of fantastic albums only for Managment Issues etc to break those friendships. How the band managed to survive through the dark times of lineup changes and the changing face of the music industry in the UK and how over the last decade they have slowly fought their way back to the top of the heap with another sucession of fabulous albums and tours.

The special edition release, apart from having a longer version of the movie, also includes a second disc of documentary footage filmed throughout the bands career as well as two concerts. The first filmed in 1981 in Germany and the second in 2008 in London and the whole thing lasts just over 6 hours so is fantastic value for money.

I have been a longstanding fan of Saxon (from 1983)and so in some respects have followed the story with them. But for those of you that thought Saxon had been long gone, or indeed a younger person looking to find out more about one of the most important, influential and underated bands in the Rock/ Metal scene then this will not only show you that in fact Saxon NEVER went away but they are now enjoying the most succesful period of their careers. Cracking Stuff.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I havent seen this yet,my brother told me it was great so i bought it, i havent seen it yet but its saxon so it gets 5 stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
As a fan from the younger generations I've never really been aware of the history which surrounds Saxon. This movie captured me with all the ins and outs of early Saxon right through to the time when I first listened to them, and to the present. I feel its brought me closer to the band, and given me more understanding of who they are and what they're about, it's so much more than just the music, it's an era, a way of life. I'd say this is a must for any Saxon fan, but also for anyone interested in bands in general as well as the music, sound and styles of the past decades in terms of heavy metal.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
Saxon are true heavy metal heroes. Their story is a classic rock 'n' roll saga: five friends from the backstreets of Yorkshire setting out to take on the world. The resulting chart glory, mixed with band infighting and full-on rock'n'roll excess, ensures their dramatic tale will become part of heavey metal history.

A Special Limited Edition featuring over SIX HOURS of Saxon, including:
* Heavy Metal Thunder - the Movie!
(A special extended edition of the dramatic story of Saxon)
* Saxon In Concert, 1981
(A classic concert from the archives of The Beat Club)
* `Building the Labyrinth'
(A mini-doc following the recording of Into The Labyrinth)
* `The Eagle & The Bomber'
(A mini-doc shot on tour with Motorhead in 2009)
* `On a Crusade'
(Archive interviews from the recording of Crusader)
* `No Excuses'
(Archive footage from the `Innocence Is No Excuse' recording sessions)
* St George's Day 2008
(Saxon's inaugural St George's Day gig filmed in London)

PAL, Region 0, Exempt from classification but contains some strong language.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Great intimate look inside one of the most legendary British rock bands to come out of the NWOBHM movement. Containing all the key players in Saxon's history this Rockumentary will not disappoint anyone looking to find out more about the bands history, no stone is left unturned. Also featuring stars such as Lars Ulrich and Lemmy sharing their experiences with the band there is something here not just for the Saxon fans but for anyone. With over 5 hours of content you defiantly get your moneys worth with this purchase! Not only do you get the Movie but there are two concerts one from 1981 and one from St Georges Day 2008 with a host of other extras.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
watch the movie and plenty of extras that go with it you wont be disappointed, the movie charts career of the band - mostly the era of oliver/dawson (fine by me),backed up with archive footage from all eras, and contributions from the likes of lemmy,fast eddie to name but two, the film never gets boring - well put together.
The extras, IN CONCERT 1981 taken off german tv beat club, the band plays most of the classics of the era 747,dallas1pm etc,
you cant go wrong that.
ST GEORGES DAY 2008 live in london well performed, a mix of old classics and newer stuff
BUILDING THE LABYRINTH, ON A CRUSADE, NO EXCUSES all good "fly on the wall"stuff
THE EAGLE AND THE BOMBER, a documentary reuniting saxon and motorhead from the good old days of the late 70"s,brought bang up to date, plenty of lemmy & biff remembering the bomber tour.
Even a little cameo of nibs carters nipper interviewing his dad backstage (at wacken-i think) in germany.
Only two criticisms - no track listing on the sleeve or the booklet, but if you are nuts about saxon then it wont matter.And no interview with pete gill (although nigel glockler makes up for it).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Awesome ....best band ever in the Heavy Metal genre ...long may they reign .

True and fairly complete history of the band ..great interviews of past and present members of the band .
Great value for money package \m/
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)