Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Short version: Do you like The Polyphonic Spree? Do you like Christmas songs? If you answered yes to both of these questions you'll love this album.

Longer version: I've loved The Polyphonic Spree since their first album was released, and when I heard they were recording a set of Christmas songs this year I thought that this sounded like the perfect fit - their uplifting, almost choral, almost gospelly, almost like something from a musical sound mixed with those songs many of us love so much.

It sounds almost exactly as you'd imagine. From the opening instrumental, the delightfully daft "A Working Elf's Theme", through the likes of "Winter Wonderland" it works wonderfully well. Some of the arrangements are instrumental, some a little slower and darker than you'd maybe expect, but from start to finish it is an absolute joy, and I can imagine decorating the house with this playing in December. Personally my favourite track is the slightly woozy, almost sinister-sounding "Silver Bells".

The big question for me was how does it compare to surely the greatest Christmas album ever, the mighty "CHRISTMAS" by Low? Well, as much as that album is brooding and atmospheric as only Low can do, this is happy and uplifting in that typical Spree style.

Oh, and as the product description doesn't include the track listing, here it is:
1. A Working Elf's Theme
2. Winter Wonderland
3. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
4. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
5. Silent Night
6. Silver Bells
7. Do You Hear What I Hear?
8. Carol of the Drum (Little Drummer Boy)
9. White Christmas
10. Let It Snow
11. It's The Most Wonderful Time of the Year
12. Silver Bells (Reprise)
13. Holidaydream
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Great mix of old songs and some new ones from the Polyphonic Spree.
This cd will be on loop this Christmas and until their new album comes out next year :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)