Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2012
I had the import and sold it on eBay as soon as it was announced that Rising Star had secured this.
In total I have spent almost £60 importing the game and £10 on buying a Japanese PSN card to get the white DLC chopper.
What you're getting here for a fraction of that is the white chopper DLC and a new custom G-Rev Hind style Rising Star chopper.
It's an excellent game, now featuring twin stick control which the original Dreamcast was incapable of and a full unstretched 16:9 widescreen HD mode.
It's quite old school, which some may prefer. I love Cave, personally, but if you liked the simplicity of Sine Mora, then this is the next game for you!
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Modern games are great and all that, but some of us have forgot just how great an old school 2D shooting game is. Many younger gamers simply won't have experienced them either and that's a shame. Maybe most of them won't "get it", but I'd bet a proportion of the them will. This is a gorgeous game. Hard core 2D shooter players might not like this because it isn't in the bullet hell genre and doesn't have the complex and clever scoring schemes that games by Cave Inc. have, but that doesn't mean this game isn't as enjoyable. I enjoy both styles of game and it's a bit of a shame there aren't more of this style around. This was a Sega Dreamcast game and costs a fortune if you want a legal copy of that - so this is a real treat. An HD remake of that game with a few bonuses thrown in like a new type of helicopter to try and there's the "New Order" widescreen mode which might not tickle the old school fans but looks great and is good to try for a bit of variation. The classic arcade mode retains the older display ratio and barely fills half of a modern widescreen TV but looks great too and if you really want to you can use TATE mode and rotate the screen which makes the most of a widescreen's display area. But play this on a big old 50" TV and you won't really need to do that. If you were a child of the 60s or 70s then definitely get this. If you are younger then it might be worth a try - you just might learn about a great genre of games that you just might love!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
While I love CAVE's bullet hells like Dodonpachi Resurrection and Akia Katana those games are just one sub genre of shmups as a whole. So it's nice to have a change with one from the Dreamcast and Arcade era.

Published by Rising Star Games, who are my favorite Japanese Localiser CAVE, King of Fighters, No More Heroes 1&2, Muramasa, Deadly Premonition, Little Kings Story, Bit-trip complete. With all the additions and extras that come in this boxed release this game is well worth the asking price of £30 is a good price for a niche game. Just like all the niche PSP and DS games simaliary priced. The developers G.rev have been in the business of making arcade for years which some of their games are available to us in the west. Strania a vertical shmup on XBLA, Wartech Senko No Ronde a unique mix of Street Fighter, Virtual On and Shmup, plus the Region Free PS3 shmup Mamoru-kun wa Norowarete Shimatta!.

Many PS3 owners will compare this to Sine Mora, and while that game has better eye candy, I would choose this game over it as Sine More as a few gameplay flaws in it's core design that betrays the fact its made by an inexperienced dev team.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I have very much looked forward to getting hold of G rEVs final DC arcade style shooter since about the mid 2000s.
After such a ultraload of expectation it would have been easy to be dissapointed by the compact nature of even this extended UnderDefeat.
However the focused beauty of the engine, presentation and concept made this a massively welcome 'old school' experience.
Despite the HD monicker and the rerelease this is unfortunately only really for those who have a reasonable knowledge of the vert scrolling shooter genre. I cant see youth brought up on fully three dimensional games taking to the format or percieved limitations.
As always though, with such cheapness the game still warrents a look.
Bless you G-Rev and your lovely musician. X!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I always regretted missing this on my Dreamcast.
And I was so so happy to see it published on the 360 so I could finally play it.
And not just play it in its original form, but remixed with full 16/9 display support!
I design games for a living and have being playing them for 34 of my 38 years on the planet, and I have to say... I still love the purity of a well designed shoot'em'up like this. Great game.

Thing I like the most, is it doesn't give you unlimited continues! Which I hate! Get better at the game to progress further, that is how I always remember games being, when they were at their best!

Only one thing that would now make my life complete... please... PLEASE publish G Revolution's 'Borderdown', Which I also missed, Please? :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
A fantastic example of old school gaming brought to the 21st Century. Sure its small and short but it is a great ride every time you play. Its well designed, tough as nails on the hard setting - while remaining fun - and rewarding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
For crying out loud, this game costs £16 (at time of writing). If you really need someone to tell you how utterly incredible this game is (even back in its original Dreamcast incarnation), how legendary the developer G.Rev actually is, or that for £16 you are getting almost everything that was available with the Japanese release (bar the Superplay DVD in the Japanese Limited Edition set) including the DLC...THEN CONSIDER YOURSELF NOW TOLD!

CLICK ADD TO CART. PAY. WAIT FOR DELIVERY. ENJOY A WONDERFUL GAME! GET IT BOUGHT! NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I love the old arcade style, nothing better to improve hand and eye coordination. It is also cool that they provide the original arcade version, and the updated HD widescreen option. On the box it says 1 player, but it is in fact 2 player so you can shoot and destroy thousands in cooperative mode!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
If you are into shoot em up games - arcade style - you can buy this one without hesitation. Its a great game and quite hard to master. Get that old arcade feeling and shoot em up! Great is the parallel 2 palyer modus. Recommend, specially for the low price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Must say never heard of this one but can recommend this highly . Very easy to pick up, god damn impossible to put down .Looks like the overhaul its been given was warranted because the result is just sexy !!!, yeah i said it sexy to the bone.4 or 5 crafts to choose from, original version if you prefer it . Just get this you won't be sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here