Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
147
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
As well as directing the film, Harper also wrote and stars in it. He is ideally suited for the role as a Londoner who has acted in various capital-based crime capers, including Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, which often have a football violence slant, such as The Rise of the Footsoldier and The Football Factory. True to form, St George's Day includes a football hooligan side-plot. This shouldn't put off those for whom hooliganism is about as attractive as the prospect of a fist in the gob. The plot and some great characters with funny lines are more important to the film.

One of these characters is Frank Harper's character, gangland boss Micky Mannock who narrates the film. It is generally held that voiceovers should be used with caution by screenwriters - they are not simply an easy way to explain the action that should really be suggested. Well, Micky's voiceover helps add depth to his witty, intelligent character, but more cleverly it sends us off on wild goose chases of suspicion. Micky can trust virtually no one.

The only people he can truly trust is his cousin and business partner Ray Collishaw played by the hulking Craig Fairbrass and Charles Dance's shadowy Trenchard, who is possibly a senior civil servant and can certainly pull strings. When it comes down to it, the rest of his crew could either be working for rival gangsters or the police or even both.
Things go wrong when a huge shipment of drugs goes missing in the North Sea and the firm find themselves owing millions of pounds to Russian gangsters who are considerably nastier than them. That's not to say Micky and Ray are of the criminal-but-basically-good-guys school of gangster hero. They are pathologically violent and don't mind a quick massacre just to prove it. The only way to get out of the pickle is by pulling off a jewel heist in Berlin using the cover of an England Germany game on that most hallowed of days, 23rd April.
So, the plot twists and then turns like gangster plots do. What marks the film out is that it is very funny, if very sweary. The main characters Micky, Ray and Albert (a dope-smoking Scot based in Amsterdam played with loopy relish by Vincent Regan) are constantly bantering and much of it is very funny. One of the characters is said to have an "Achilles cock" - crude, but describes some men perfectly. The idiocy of trigger happy gangsters is also nicely satirised in another scene where Charles Dance's character has to prevent two groups of hoods from killing each other at a meet-up.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Despite a strong cast including Craig Fairbrass, Dexter Fletcher, Charles dance, and Sean Pertwee to name but a few I found my interest in this film waning after the first hour. The script if not the film lost its way and seemed repetitive and cliched. I enjoy Guy Ritchie's movies but to me this was a knock off and contained all the usual content, language and unoriginality of the British Gangster genre. The character played by Keeley Hazell was irritating. The character was a one dimensional stereotype of a gangsters moll, all mouth and no brains and certainly cliched character wise. This film was too long; the potential quality was overrun by the quantity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
totally underrated film, I took a chance on it because it had been reduced and was delighted. everyone that has seen it with me agrees it is a top film. buy it and you will be glad you took a chance!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
love it !! went cinema the first day and really enjoyed it as i knew i would frank harper is crack on with his debut in directing every one of thes brit films get better and better but st georges day will take some beating tbh looking forward to 24 th dec to sit down and whatch this diamond of a film again .
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
The constant narration is a boring giveaway; he is going to survive. The film glorifies the success of truly nasty characters. The women are sex objects and caricatures, the Russians speak Russian with expected Polish accents . The storyline is fairly good and some of the editing brilliant. But it would work so much better as parody: for example Charles Dance tries a posh mockney but it does not work, yet a bit more hamming would have been fine. I can't recommend this .
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
I must admit I was in two minds about watching this film. It's basically the story of 2 gangsters who take an army of Hooligans over to Berlin for a big pay day; after losing a shipment of drugs. I don't really enjoy films about gang violence, as it unsettles me a little. After giving it a punt, though, I was surprised at how tame it actually was. That's not to say it's not a good film, I quite enjoyed it. There is a lot of swearing, and gun violence - but it's a gangster flick, so what can you expect. There are only two scenes in which the hooligans fight, and both are watered down. Jamie Foreman (Eastender's Derek Branning) is the Police Officer on the gangster's trail. There is also an element of The Departed included. One of the firm is talking to the cops, one of the cops is talking to the firm. It's a good movie, with interesting characters, and a decent enough story.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
It is so poor, rips off goodfellas after about 10 minutes when they are in a club....its actually embarrassing to watch....its really really rubbish....i watched it all the way through and didn't improve once, very badly done, weak characters, they tried to be the Sopranos and was more The Bundys.. Avoid!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
A truly entertaining British gangster film from Frank Harper. This film has the lot. I saw this at the cinema and couldn't wait for it to be released on DVD to add to my collection of Brit films. This is a thoroughly entertaining film with some twists along the way. The voice-over gives it a bit of an edge as it makes it seem more real. Don't want to spoil it for anyone by giving the plot away but do yourself a favour and get a copy you wont be disappointed. 5* film for me on many counts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
What a film, I absolutely loved it.
Great story that had me gripped from start to finish.
It has a fantastic cast and the tension builds through the film but it also has some laugh out loud dialogue.
If you like other films from this genre then you will love this as it is an absolute classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
bought this for partner who loves these types of films.me personally don't know what all the hype is about people beating and killing each other. not my cup of tea. he seemed to enjoy as he has watched it a few times now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)