Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2012
This is the kind of friendly jazz that gets nominated for the Mercury Prize, and that is no bad thing.

GoGo Penguin are a genuine trio (rather than a pianist with a couple of other guys to make up the numbers) and this gives the album plenty of depth and variety. Be sure to listen past the opening (presumably) e.s.t. homage (as good as it is) because there is plenty more original material here as well.

The album should though come with a health warning as 'Last Words' is a powerful ear-worm that will still be going around in your head at 3AM on a tuesday morning!

An excellent debut that only doesn't 5 stars because I am waging a one man war against review-star-inflation, it would get 4.5 if that were an option.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great debut album, which I bought out of sequence, having originally been given a copy of their excellent follow up album V.2. Fantastically accomplished playing and great tunes. Go and catch them live, they are as tight a unit as you will ever see.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Best contemporary jazz album I've ever bought. I love these guys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Fresh, exciting transcending! I love this band! !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
My dads over the moon and incredibly happy with this, he loves it!! #one happy dad on fathers day :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Very tight new piano trio, slight echoes of EST.

thoroughly reccomended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Jazz............ a genre I know nothing about,owning only John Coltranes A Love Supreme & a Miles Davis complilation, its something i've always tended to avoid. But for no longer, this album has opened my eyes & ignited a curiosity to delve deeper, because its fantastic. The opening tracks, Seven Sons Of Bjorn & Last Words, draw you in & then you're hooked, & i've found myself reccommending it to all my jazz apprehensive friends. Brilliant !!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I went to see the Penguins back in August, before the cd had come out. The band played with so much energy and such a mature understanding of the jazz idiom that I was instantly a fan. I was really looking forward to this, & I wasn't disappointed. Excellent stuff, if piano trio's are your thing you could do a lot worse then shell out on this one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2017
just not as good as their other offerings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
found it after hearing one of the tracks on a Jamie Cullum Radio 2 show. Hopefully that indicates that type of jazz music that I like listening to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£11.37
£11.39

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)