Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
54
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2012
For the third chapter in Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy Hans Zimmer truly created a masterpiece of a soundtrack. A terrific motion picture together with this wonderful collection of music is a perfect combination. Gotham's Reckoning is an example of Zimmer's master work. buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
If you are a Hans Zimmer fan then you will already own this score so no need to read on. If you are new to Zimmer and new to score music, please purchase this!

Unfortunately, the score is only brief, with some very small cues included as frequently is the case nowadays. The score is all over the place in terms of usage/chronology of the film, but that is very frustratingly typical of Hollywood scores!! If you know the film and love it as much as I, you'll sharp decipher where the cues are used.

So, the score itself...the general undertones and theme of the score continue on from the first two films however a limited amount of samples are retained. The score moves away from the previous two scores and becomes even darker. It has dark tones similar to Batman Begins but in comparison to The Dark Knight it alters greatly. The Joker's theme is omitted and replaced with the stirring and quite intimidating Bane theme. The use of this is throughout a variety of tracks on the score and coincides with the wonderful use of the prevalent Moroccan chant "deshi basara" which translates to "rise up" and is applied to many areas of the film, namely Bane and his rise to power.

I won't witter anymore about it as I am not a musical man, merely a music fan! On the OST check out the following tracks: (3) Gotham's Reckoning; (7) The Fire Rises; (9) Despair; (13) Imagine The Fire & (15) Rise. If possible, get a hold of the expanded score to compliment the OST as it has some unreal long suites and some lovely little cues too.

Big fan of Zimmer and loved his work on what is a 5* Hollywood blockbuster gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
In my opinion Hans Zimmer's & James Newton Howard's Batman scores are the best soundtracks of the past decade, so it was with some apprehension I read that JNH was not continuing the collaboration with the third and final film. Of course it impossible to know just how the composing duties divided but my guess was that JNH supplied the more lush pieces while Zimmer did the percussion, so I feared the music to 'The Dark Knight Rises' would be all noise and bombast and no emotion.

I'm delighted to be proved wrong.

Fans of the previous two soundtracks will hear much that's familiar (no bad thing!) though many of the pieces have been re-orchestrated or arranged in different ways. 'Necessary Evil' and 'Rise', for example, take the main theme and slow it down to an elegiac pace; the result is deeply moving. There are also some new themes: a delicately jaunty but creepy `prance' for Selina and of course the superb music that heralds Bane. This is Zimmer at his best, combining a chanting chorus and pounding drum beats.

Although it omits some of the romanticism of the previous soundtracks and the punk anarchy of the Joker's theme, in my opinion this is the best score of all. Exhilarating and poignant in equal measure.

PS - the CD also comes with a link to download three other tracks. Two of these 'No Stone unturned, and 'Risen from Darkness' are variations on the Molossus theme and brilliant. I can't understand why they were left off the CD. Make sure you download them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This score gets full marks because every piece is perfect unlike the previous two scores. How the hell this didn't get nominated for best score (Oscars) is beyond me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
I'm a big fan of Zimmer and the music for this is a very nice combination of new themes and reworking existing themes from previous outings.

I've down graded it to 3 stars not as a reflection of the music but because the CD promises the ability to download additional tracks but when you go to the website that the album directs you to, you find that the promotion is no longer valid.

A little naughty that the album is being sold on the basis of free additional downloads that don't actually exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Dark and Brooding like the movie nice quality even as an MP3 like this enough to try and get higher quality download or get the CD the music and your ears deserve it. Fave track "Mind if i cut in" haunting echoing piano with dark deep bass note near the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
I loved the film and I had the Dark Knight soundtrack as well and this one is just as fabulous :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
This soundtrack reflects the Dark Knight's journey from the deep dark depths into the light at the end as he makes peace with his demons, lets go of his anger and finds happiness and builds a life that does not rely on his secret identity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I have the previous sound tracks and after watching the film eagerly bought the latest one. Much like the other two (films and soundtracks) it did not disappoint. The emotion is very well portrayed, building tension into a epic climax.

I'm giving this album 5 stars because the music is really great but there is one small negative

I'm not happy with the current trend of not including all the tracks on the disk. (Halo 4 soundtrack does the same thing). They then say you can download two free tracks by putting your disk in the computer and going to said website. Why not just include them on the disk? It is very annoying. They could simply add £1 onto the price of the CD and include the tracks so that I don't have to mess around downloading extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Since i live in Spain, I understand i cannot use the autorip function. But the record has a external mp3 download from watertowermusic. So I though i can have my record downloadable as well. But the offer expired at the end of 2012. It's a bit tricky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)