Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Skyfall
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 December 2012
Skyfall is one of the best Bond movies ever, the only thing missing from it's brilliance was Thomas Newman's limp score which deserved to be attached to any other hollywood action blockbuster but not Bond. David Arnold was due to score Skyfall which would've been his 6th Bond score, but his commitments as musical arranger to the Olympics meant he couldn't write and perform the score in time, so director Sam Mendes handed the reigns to his long time music scorer Thomas Newman. Now Newman's score isn't bad, Newman proves he is a good composer with a better than average score but it's just not a Bond score, that is the problem! Where David Arnold evoked the very best of John Barry's hard hitting horns and lush string style, Newman goes for a more laid back approach with some melancholy themes interspersed with more traditional action cues. The biggest travesties are the lack of the Bond theme being used, it does get referenced, that is a no brainer but Newman is clearly more interested in his own music and not what has come previously. Also Adele's wonderful theme song is barely woven into the fabric of the score. Go back to the earliest Connery Bond's right up to Casino Royale and you'll find every theme song woven into the score ( except Madonna's Die another day and jack white/Alicia Keys Another way to die, where there was no melody!)

I hope David Arnold returns for Bond 24, Newman is a talented composer but he isn't right for Bond. Close but no cigar.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2012
Upon seeing 'Skyfall', the soundtrack didn't excite me.

It took me a while to purchase the soundtrack to fit with my extensive James Bond collection but I am glad I did, because isolating the score from the film really speaks volumes, and I understood how well Thomas Newman has crafted this music, because it compliments the scenes it is played in without dominating the film with loud cues, brassy Bond-theme riffs and other electronic moments some soundtracks do, and that's why I understood the soundtracks works so well watching the film. It extends the emotion, tension and excitement on screen as you see it played out.

It is a very mature sounding soundtrack, filled with layers of different emotions and cues from the film - there is high tension, high drama, high excitement and high passion for James Bond during the running of the music. The James Bond theme arrives across the playlist without being over-used for the Craig era of films, and each track is beautiful in its own way and not over-long.

Stand out tracks for me that show the skill of Newman has in capturing the look and feel of 'Skyfall' include "The Bloody Shot", "Silhoutte", "Skyfall" and "Breadcrumbs".

It will take some patience to let previous composer David Arnold go out of your head, no question, but once Thomas Newman is in there with his haunting skill and craft, with nods to the late, great John Barry woven through, it will surprise you and remind you how good a James Bond soundtrack can be without being loud, proud and in your face.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2012
First, as others have noted, this soundtrack does not include Adele's title song - a major omission. The rest of the music is fairly functional. The Bond motif is used several times, and more than once it borrows from Hans Zimmer's music from The Dark Knight (at least once it sounds like an actual rip off!), apart from that it's a decent but forgettable action movie score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2012
There are those who have listened to the score without seeing the film yet, and gave fewer stars because they felt it was too "quiet" or "moody" and not loud and action-packed like a typical Bond soundtrack. However, those who have seen the film are aware of the different feel and ambience Skyfall has, and the music enhances the incredible cinematography and action seen on screen. The music adds a new and excellent element to the film, and I think Thomas Newman did a wonderful job creating a musical world for this new era of Bond.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2013
I ordered the CD so i could listen to it in the car. It's like watching the film while driving reliving all that is bond
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
I logged on to Amazon to buy Adele's album. When this album came up I naturally assumed it WAS the Adele one. Only when it arrived did I discover it was not Adele, but rather the film soundtrack (with the same title)!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2012
I have every James Bond sountrack, all of them. The current scam of not including the title song is a rip off, robbery and frankly cheating those of us who buy rather than scam music. The music on the SkyfallSkyfall cd is very good, but not including the title song is stealing on the part of the music industry. You deserve priacy by such actions and it should have been made very,very clear that title songs are not now to be included in OSTs!!!
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2012
As almost always, Thomas Newman has created a great soundtrack. Comparisons with classic John Barry scores will always be there, but Newman's music is for the, post-Bourne, Daniel Craig-era Bond, not for the Cold War-Bond. Barry's music was great, but would feel dated in Skyfall. The Bond concept tries to reinvent itself and with serious talents like Craig, Mendes and Newman the odds are not that bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2012
When I got this I wanted to listen to skyfall by adele but it wasn't on it very disappointed in the cd
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
It is true that John Barry was and is still a hard act to follow for any composer who takes on a Bond score and I am sorry to say this soundtrack does not come even close to matching any of those.
Apart from the Adele theme tune ( which is not included) This is just a typical generic action film score.

If it were not for the inclusion of the classic 007 theme riff it would be hard to know we were listening to a Bond movie score at all.

The score does not match the quality of the film,which is a shame because Bond movie scores have always been an intergral part of the Bond formula.

I dont say this is a bad score-its just thats its nothing special ( well thats my humble opinion).
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)