Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

  • GRRR!
  • Customer Reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2013
As I have been a Stones fan since the sixties (bus pass next highlight) this was a first class album.

The service and dispatch were within the time scale stated and the DVD was securely packed.

No complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Bought for my wife as a Christmas present - appears good value for money. A happy wife is a happy me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
First class serves thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
50 superb tracks (including 2, very good, brand new ones). What's not to love?

Well ... there is one BIG gorilla sized thing - if you are coming to The Stones as a fairly new listener/buyer (otherwise you'd quite possibly already own most of this stuff on their original albums) you'd hope that you'd get some history and backgroud about the songs. Nope!

You are left - for example - to assume, but it is never made clear, that the songs are presented in chronological order.The booklet is pointless. It contains no info about the band or the songs (even the publishing dates for the songs show things like 2004 and 2010 which has to be incorrect ... considering the album is tracks dating from 1962!) and no clue as to which albums they were originally on.

Great music, lots of it - and all in one place, well 3 discs - but for all the benefit you get from the CD box and booklet you might as well just download all the (amazing) tunes.

Do buy, but with caution (perhaps wait until it is available cheap!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 May 2013
I was never a great Stones fan, nor a Beatles fan come to that, preferring the music
of the Yardbirds and then as the 60's progressed, the elements that would form the basis of the British blues boom along with the harder edges that would launch Zeppelin et al into the public arena.
However, that said, I always liked the Stones material performed by others - witness
"Jumping Jack Flash" by Johnny Winter, or "Honky Tonk Women" by Humble Pie or more latterly, "Gimme Shelter" by Thunder - all of which release the true power of the songs in question - and yes, I know that recording techniques have improved out of all proportion since those heady days but while the techniques improved, the Stones, for me, always seemed to be stuck in one dimension.
That all said, "Doom And Gloom" and "One More Shot", prove that there is still life in the old dog yet and for these tracks alone, I would have purchased this triple album collection - maybe it would be an idea for the Stones to go back into the studios and re-record all the material here as then, if the sound was as good as on these 2 tracks, it wouldn't just be an OK album (IMHO) but would be a great album.
For anyone like me who was never a great Stones fan and, resultant, never purchased any of their albums, this is as good a way as any to add some of rock's history into your collection and at a reasonable price too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
A greatest hits album who contains 3 CD's and a 12 pages booklet with 4 pages of pictures from 1965 to 1975. The six last pages of the booklet contains the title of the songs, etc. The best songs through the last 50 years of Rolling Stones music. Its two new songs on this album, "Doom and gloom" and "One more shot" (2012)(CD no 3) - wich alone is worth the money for this CD. Good sound and a great cover. A superb album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
GRRR!
The Rolling Stones. 5 star album. Fantastic love it love it love it :-)) GRRR!
The Rolling Stones GRRR!
The Rolling Stones
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This scarcely needs a review because after 50 years practically everyone will know whether or not they like the Stones and most people considering this collection will know all the tracks on it very well indeed. It is worth saying, though, that this is a great collection. Obviously, any compilation like this will have some tracks you love and some you don't like so much, and some of your favourites will be missing (What - no Sister Morphine or Star...er...Star?) but as a "Best Of" collection I don't think you can do better. It is well selected and sounds fantastic: the digital transfers of the early stuff are particularly good and bring real life to the tracks without interfering with their original sound.

I suspect that quite a lot of people considering whether or not to buy this will be in the same position as I am: I have a lot of Stones music on LP and cassette and for me this was a good way of getting some of the best of it on CD. You certainly get plenty of great stuff, and personally I found listening to this was like running my life on fast forward from the age of about 10, with pretty well every track conjuring up where I was at the time. It's also great to hear the evolution of the band from the early covers, through finding their distinctive identity around the time of Satisfaction and through all their phases since. Although I haven't always liked the direction they have taken, this is a reminder that the Rolling Stones really are one of the finest bands of the last 50 years and that Jagger and Richards are a truly great songwriting team. The full range of classics is here, from the storming rockers like Jumpin' Jack Flash through to the hauntingly beautiful Angie. Also included is their new (November 2012) single Doom And Gloom which I think is excellent - a real Stones belter and one of their best tracks in ages.

The question, of course, is "Do I need another Stones Greatest Hits album?" the answer to which will depend on your own view and the state of your music collection. For me it's a great summary of their career containing some of my favourite ever tracks, and has made them available to me in CD format. If you want a good, well put-together collection of The Rolling Stones, you can't go wrong with this set.

In short, it's only rock 'n roll, but...
11 Comment| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse