Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2005
This book isn't a patch on Helen's own story. I have also read all of her other fiction books, and this is fairly weak even compared to them. The central character isn't one that you warm too, which means that you don't really care what happens to her, unfortunately!
An average read, but there is much better out there. If you haven't read Helen Forrester before, try her four autobiographic books- they are truly excellent.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Its a long time since i read one of her novels and i recently bought Tuppence to cross the Mersey ....I had read it but wanted to read it again on Kindle .... its very good ... This one A cuppa tea and an Asprin what can i say .... its tripe ......i just couldn't get into it kept on reading I coulld not connect with the story at all .... When i went back to it i was never eager to see what was happening because nothing was ... very dissapointing to say the least ...if fact i want my money back ..... As i say its tripe .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
I live books regarding London's east end and i found this very good and would recommend this once you start to read it you won't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
I think this book was based on the author's own life in LIverpool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
This book was hard to read at the first but it did get better and better i enjoyed it. So don't be put off just keep reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The story of a very poor family told by someone who understood the hardships faced by people in this time and place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Love all Helen Forrester's book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
I enjoyed the story so much, it brought back memories of the war and what a lot of people suffered. I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
What a lovely story excellently written would recommend it for any one to read ,will look forward to reading more of Helen Forresters books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse