Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
175
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Sting [Blu-ray] [1973]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 January 2016
A total original...great cast, script, music...Remember when I first saw it many years ago, and it has not diminished at all. Buy it, see it. A must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2002
Okay, this is unfortunately going to be one of those gushing reviews I put out, well, quite a lot, let's be frank. I love this film, it's that simple, and I'm here to tell you why.
First off, Newman and Redford are without doubt, one of, if not the best cinematic double bill ever, playing off each other with tremendous charisma and chemistry, helped along by slick, plished direction and a cracking script. Of the supporting cast, Harold Gould and Ray Walston as two of the co-conspirators are a joy to watch, and Robert Shaw (hardly a supporting player really) makes Doyle Lonnegan into a hard-hearted, cynical, cold-blooded rackets boss, 'a man who'd kill a grifter over a pile of money that wouldn't last him a week!' to quote (or possibly misquote) Newman's Henry Gondorff. Oh, and Charles Durning's corrupt cop Lt. Snyder is great, truly dislikeable.
George Roy Hill's direction is as smooth as you'd like, the pace nver letting up for the two hour running time. The musical montage detailing Gondorff preparing Redford's Johnny Hooker for life in 'the Big Con', whilst rounding up the old gang, is a treat, something I always smile when watching, and set, as with the rest of the film, to the Scott Joplin score that fits the film perfectly. The storyboard style of the film has been commented as breaking the rhythm, but I disagree, I think it helps the movie, letting the viewer see the sting unfold in its consituent parts. And the poker game halfway through the film is a)gripping, a testament to the actors and the direction, and b)very funny, a testament to the script.
Unlike some movies that sweep the board at the Oscars, this one could be said to deserve the awards it reaped.
If you have some cash to spare, you could do far far worse than buy this movie. If you liked Butch Cassidy.. you'll like this, from the first time you watch it, to the next, and the next. Oh, and in case you hadn't heard, the ending's a peach.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
Superb 'must see'. Worth watching more than once to understand the intricacy of the plot. Amazing scenes of depression-hit Chicago. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Ive been a huge fan of the sting since I saw it randomly one night on tv. Since then it has consistently been in my top 5 films of all time! Universal have done a fantastic job with this special edition not only with the transfer to Blu-ray but also the packaging! Highly recommend this to everyone!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
stick with it and you won't be disappointed.It's the sort of classic you think you've seen before because so many ideas have sprung from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
Bought this DVD as I haven't seen this film for about 30 years, it didn't disappoint. Good story, good acting, I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Great music...great writing and the Robert Shaw Paul Newman rivalry makes it outstanding...One of my favourite films of all time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
Not much needs saying. A classic in everyway. Acting, story, music. Everything hits the right spot. A film everyone should see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Not the best transfer possible but the extras and superb writing, acting and direction more than make up for it's anomalies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2003
THE STING gives us another example of the excitement Paul Newman and Robert Redford can generate when they work together. George Roy Hill who directed them in BUTCH CASSIDY AND THE SUNDANCE KID duplicates his earlier feat with this highly acclaimed movie.
The story is about two confidence men who seek revenge and profit from the wily gangster who is responsible for the death of one of their buddies. Robert Shaw is superb as the East Coast mobster who is the target of the big con game being pulled off by Newman, Redford and their pals. The plot has enough twists to keep the viewer interested right up to the surprise ending.
THE STING won Academy Awards for Best Picture, Director (George Roy Hill), Original Story and Screenplay, Art Direction, Adapted Scoring, Editing and Costume (Edith Head). Nominations were received for Best Actor (Robert Redford), Cinematography and Sound.
The Oscar for Best Actor in 1973 was won by Jack Lemmon for his performance in SAVE THE TIGER.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)