Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2014
Really good film, really enjoyed. Made me a little bit jumpy for a couple of nights. Sheridan Smith was fab as usual. Had never heard of this film, seen it on a trailer for something else, though it looked good, bought it and was not disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Yeay, I enjoyed the movie, 'Tower Block' But I got a bit frustrated that we didn't see more of the sniper. He could have been quite an improvement to the plot had we seen him planning the episode. Then again, thats my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
The residents of a block of council flats are being picked off by a sniper. Is it punishment for the death of a youngster or are they being menaced by a property development company that wants them out. Tower Block is a short and snappy British thriller staring Sheridan Smith, Jack O'Connell and Ralph "I invented it in Camberwell and it is shaped like a carrot" Brown.

One of the interesting things that has happened in films since the 2008 financial collapse is the way a number of genre movies have responded by social downscaling. Where once high rise living spelt yuppies in peril and a metaphor for terrorism, it is now the working and none working poor who are penned into an enclosed environment facing violent external and internal forces underpinned by a subtext of sociopolitical disenfranchisement. Though inevitably compared to Attack The Block, Tower Block is more like a reversal of The Raid and Dredd. In those films the set up is used to depict a violent war between cops and crooks that reduces the residents to cannon fodder. In this one the killer is an unseen military precise sniper who renders every glimpse of daylight potentially lethal. As a film it works pretty well as long as you don't over analyse the specifics of the situation its characters are facing. The violence whilst not that graphic is sudden and tense and the low budget is used to good effect. Personally, I had no problem with Sheridan Smith as the lead or O'Connell as her thuggish foil, but found the other famous small screen faces a little distracting.

The DVD is in widscreen and includes a behind the scenes featurette
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Absolutely thrilling film with brilliant casting and suspense all the way. I did wonder how a film taking place in a tower block would work but it did and had me enthralled and at times hiding behind my cushion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
If you're a 'conspiracy theorist' then the end results of this film will add to your suspicions on the reality of 'unsolved crime' and the reality of 'graffiti art' - that it's always 'in-house' - someone that has easy access.
When Tower Blocks were first built 'nice families' were placed in them. Problem families came later, when the 'nice families' moved out.
The film shows a great mix of families being stuck on the top floor with a serial killer on the loose - a killer who has targeted the families on that top floor.
The language of the films is both normal English and 'street' English.

Thank You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Loved the film and fell in love with Sheridan lol
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
amazing story my daughter tells me
she was happy with it
enjoyed the story
kept her quiet
for a while as she is a fan of jack o connell
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
A very good cast along with a reasonably decent plot. A little slow to start with what seems to be an unrelated incident. For some reason they are the last people left in a tower block (why just the top floor ?) and then the action really starts. If this had a been a Hollywood film I am certain it would have had Bruce Willis and it would have helicopters / Alan Rickman / evil German henchmen etc and lots of explosions. Luckily it was a little more restrained and basic than that but much better for it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 February 2013
This is an independent Brit thriller and it is actually rather good. The plot is we have a crime infested tower block in what looks like a sink hole in London; it is the sort of place where everything smells of urine and the lifts about as reliable as an African dictatorships human rights record. Then one night a teenager is dragged down the hallways to be kicked to death. When the police try to investigate no-one has seen or heard a thing.

The council have decided to knock it down and let developers move in, but the residents on the top floor are yet to be re-housed. They are a dysfunctional lot with Kurtis (Jack O'Connell - `Skins') running a sort of protection racket. Then one morning as they awaken to a new day, a sniper starts to kill the residents and he means to take absolutely no prisoners. The surviving people realise they are going to have to come together to survive, the question is how?

This also stars Sheridan Smith as Becky (`Gavin and Stacey') and she is actually both good as a character and has a good screen presence. We also have Paul the alcoholic, nice guy Russell Tovey (`Him and Her') who gets the role down to pat. This is a small budget but it does not always show, as the block is run down anyway and most of the action takes place in the confines of the building. There is genuine tension and I was hooked from early on.

I thought this was going to be a siege type film along the lines of `Assault on precinct 13' or something like that, but this is actually darker as they just do not know why they are being targeted. Directors James Nunn and Ronnie Thompson have crafted a really well made film that will hopefully get a lot more attention than it has so far received and is something they should be proud of.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
we really enjoyed this film-i love sheridan smith in everything she does-tense thriller, good acting and fab and quick service
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)