Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Ross
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2015
At last a C.D. version of this album from 1978. The 6 new tracks are great (tracks 1-4 & Track 7&8) Sorry Doesn't Always.... & Together are from 1975 and her cover of the Four Tops Reach Out is from 1970. The two standout tracks for me are Never Say I Don't Love You & Where Did We Go Wrong both beautiful ballads. Lovin Livin & Givin is a different version than the one on the original soundtrack to Thank God It's Friday where it first appeared. The Reach Out track is also a different mix to the original version from the album Everything Is Everything. . Overall a good mix of Dance songs and Love songs and the sound quality is brilliant. A must buy for Ross fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I have always enjoyed this album even though a few of the tracks had already been released it is a decent compilation. Maybe an extended edition will be released in the future. I know she recorded a disco version of "For Once In Your Life" and probably others which could be included.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Excellent copy of original LP brought back some great memories.
Superb CD
Love the CD cover like the old LP covers used to be
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
It is good to have original albums being released again at an affordable price. The previous Japanese import had now become quite pricey. This re-release doesn't include the liner notes/lyrics. But it is the music that counts. This album from 1978 has some nice songs such as "where did we go wrong", "Never say I don't love you", "To love again", and "you were the one". However, it is very short and was seemingly released at the time to primarily showcase the then current single "Lovin' Livin' and Givin'". This song had been included in the movie "Thank God it's Friday" which starred, among others, Donna Summer. The film had been made in the hope of matching the success of 1977's "Saturday Night Fever". It didn't. The public, it seemed, were only prepared to accept one disco-themed movie. (The Village People vehicle "Can't Stop the music" also suffered the same fate a year or so later, although it is now considered a mini-camp classic!) However, disco music itself was still dominating the charts and this album reflects that with tracks such as the aforementioned "Lovin'..." and "what you gave me".

The album also has some unreleased tracks from recordings made between 1973-1975 plus some previously released tracks. These are "Reach out i'll be there" (the Four Tops remake from the 1971 album "Surrender/I'm still waiting"), and "Sorry doesn't always make it right" (a single from 1974). Although the previously released tracks are good it does make you wonder why they were included as there were other unreleased tracks that were intended for the album. These have surfaced in recent years so it is strange that they were not included instead of the previously released tracks. But that is the mystery of record companies!(Motown did this again with Diana Ross with the release of the 1981 album "To love again" when she had just left the label for RCA. It includes old and unreleased tracks too). The inclusion of "Sorry..." is forgivable as it had been a non-hit single in the US in 1974 (a #23 hit in UK) so for those that hadn't bought the song then it was almost a new, or perhaps rare track that hadn't been included on an album before.

So because of the mixture of old and new tracks this is not a classic album but is a must-have for those that want all the original albums.
55 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
this album is stunning 9 tracks of pure Diana ross and the remaster is amazing from culture factory don't buy the Japanese edition this one is better stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
THE SINGLE 45 VERSION HAS MORE GUTS THAN THE VERSION HERE AND REACH OUT WAS ON HER SURRENDER ALBUM SO A CURIOUS TRACK ON THIS ALBUM.V DIRE COVER ART THE WHOLE ALBUM WAS LESS THAN A STAR LIKE MISS ROSS DESERVED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
its good to get some of the songs that where on this album on to cd now,what was side one on LP, it has been messed about with far to much for what was a good album and had some great tracks, but iam sure at some point motown will have this cd up dated at some point and extend all the tracks as they now should do, this album has been left and a little forgotten by many' so i hope at some point it is dusted down and put back to the front for all to hear and find that it is good and can stand on its own merits, the tracks on this cd are............LOVIN LIVIN AND GIVIN....WHAT YOU GAVE ME...NEVER SAY I DONT LOVE YOU..........YOU WERE THE ONE.......SIDE 2......REACH OUT I'LL BE THERE...SORRY DOESN'T ALWAYS MAKE IT RIGHT.....WHERE DID WE GO WRONG.......TO LOVE AGAIN.......TOGETHER.....its good to see the company have kept the orignal art work and i think the cover pic is great' may not be very pc with the great ross holding a cig in her hand and spelling out her name, but its good fun..so if its not in your collection do get it for some of the tracks' DIANA sounds great and the whole cd is well worth having even through its a bit short it is a grear album..............................enjoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Excellent cd and cool looking cover. Replica vinyl cd. Fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
It's a pleause for all of those who love Diana Ross as I do to have this fanous album released on cd!! The sound is great!! It has always been one of my favourite albums by Diana Ross! Thanks for releasing it on cd! I strongly recommend it!! For sure!"! Roger Gonzalez.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
fantastic cd from a great artist .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)