Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
95
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2013
I bought these set because I have the bigger one and wanted to see was this as good!
And for the price it's well worth it, the only thing is it comes set up for power function but you have to buy it separately
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was a gift for my son who is big into lego but growing up and keen to try more challenging builds and move beyond the normal lego.

The instructions are clear and well laid out, and also include the build details if you want to buy the Power Functions Motor Set.
You can also re-build it into a Tracked Tractor if you get bored with the Excavator (I have tried both and prefer the initial build but it's nice to have a choice) It is a bit smaller size wise than some of the previous excavator sets.

It does take a while to build (around 700 parts in total) though more experienced Lego builders should not have any major problems. Age wise I think Lego have it about right but a keen 7/8 year old with patience will be fine with a little help.
It's a nice step up for Lego fans who want the try the Technic range, once completed the Excavator is quite impressive it's a nice model even without the motor kit added.

Price wise I think good value for what you get, one of the better ones to try for newer Technic builders. My son's very happy with the excavator and it went down very well for a birthday present. Recommended
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
The model was fun and somewhat challenging at times to build. The finished model looks great and is fun to play with and once you add 8293 and get power functions for the crane it gets even more fun.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
My husband just loves Lego Technic & this was added to his vast collection. It still took him a few evenings to complete this. Apparently he had inadvertently put a very small piece (something to do with the gears) around the wrong way. Therefore when finally built it did not work as it should. It meant going back to virtually the beginning to find the piece and correct it. The diagram in the booklet does show a right & wrong way to insert this small grey piece. So please beware it might be wiser not to build this at the end of a long tiring day. He is very happy with the build now but I notice he still hasn't added the motor which he bought separately for this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Bought this as a present for 12 year old grandson who absolutely loves it! Plenty of challenge but not too difficult for an avid Lego builder.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
This is a simply outstanding purchase for anyone interested in Lego or just how machines work. It is beautifully crafted and an interesting and informative build. I built it with my six year old and he was fascinated throughout the process. Now a fully functioning toy, he still plays with it for hours every day. I recommend coupling it with the Power Functions kit to make playing with it even more enjoyable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Present for my son of 13 who loves the more complicated lego technic (which is NOT a toy but now comes under the heading of Design & Technology). This one was hard to build (you have to put grunts in to get the proper feel of this review) so it took ages (grunt) but was really worth it (grunt, grunt). He then went collecting conkers which are very good when used in conjunction with the excavator and other lego trucks in order to put the excavator through its paces.

The motor is extra which is a bit annoying as it would be much easier if it just came with it and you didn't have to read all the blurb, but lego technic is a big hit. I just wish lego would expand their range and if they want any advice as to what to build my son is more than happy to help!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
I bought this item for my fiancé (such a big kid) and he absolutely loved it, it took him a good 3 hours or so to build and was by far and away one of the best Lego products I have purchased.

The instructions were clear and when finished it was really impressive, the controls move the parts up and down etc, well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Very clever model to build. You don’t quite see how it’s coming together until half way. Now that it’s built you can clearly see the mechanics of it and you don’t lose interest. Fun to build, fun to play with. Love it!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
If you are looking for a starter set for Technics this is by far the best value for money and has plenty of variety in the part types to get you going.
Be warned though, it just inspired my 8 year old to want to build lots more so get your wallet ready!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)