Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
58
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2002
After managing to track this book down from a bookstore in Chicago,USA, I was apprehensive and excited in reading this story, after all I had heard about the book and Linda Lovelace, and wanted to read the story for myself - which I did from cover to cover in 24 hours.
The synopsis of the book is that Linda Lovelace was a prisoner of sexual abuse and became forcibly involved with pornography,rape and pornographic films over a number of years and with people from all walks of life, including entertainers and magazine owners, until she was able to escape after several failed attempts.
The ordeal, indeed no other word could describe it as anything else, was told from her first meeting and memory of Chuck Traynor, her abuse and so-called husband and the savage implications that led from that.
Yes, the book is disturbing in its explicit detail of the ordeal that Linda Lovelace suffered, and may be for some uncomfortable to read or believe, yet so is the damage that has been done to her both psychologically and physically during the time of her being exploited and faced with extremely violent and terrifying assaults i.e a gun at her head if she did not comply to taking part in such abuse.
I implore if you get the chance to read this story, please do so and it will give you an insight into the less public side of the pornography industry that many do not wish to see or believe themselves to be associated with.
A truly, courageous story written by a woman who has more strength and faith than I humbly felt possible before reading this story.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
5 out of 5 for this reader folks!

How does one even begin to review a book like this? I think this had to be the saddest, most emotional biography book I have ever read. I felt physically ill at certain times through this book at the abuse this woman went through. To come out, and live somewhat a normal life as she did and to be brave enough to put these words out there for people to read renders me speechless.

This is the biography of Linda Lovelace. Linda's pornography film "Deepthroat" was the beginning of mainstream pornography that we have in today's society. The movie Lovelace, recently released, prompted me to research this woman as I had heard bits and pieces before but never the whole story.

Linda had a tormented life. She grew up with an overbearing, cold mother who I believe was the beginning of Linda's downfall (although in all honesty her mother really believed she was protecting her daughter). Linda became pregnant at an early age and was forced to give the baby up for adoption. Trying to get out from under her mother's thumb, she meets Chuck Traynor and is convinced he is her ticket out.

Chuck abuses Linda throughout their entire relationship. He controls her, manipulates her, threatens her, beats her (you can see the bruises on film), scares her and uses her as a cash cow. He also teaches her how to "Deepthroat" which is what is sold as her talent to the pornography business and is what makes her "unique and special". Some of the scenarios described in this book are unbelievable ranging from sex with animals, forced group, severe BDSM play and prostituted out. She essentially was Chuck's pet who was trained to respond the way he wanted her too.

Linda never received ANY money for the 600 million dollars that "Deepthroat" made. She fought to get away from Chuck many times, and finally was successful.

Before her death, she did get to live a somewhat normal life, married to a good man who was a provider and she also became an activist against pornography. There is a video interview out there that really struck me hard .. she pretty much says, those that watched "Deepthroat" watched my rape over and over again! That brought tears to my eyes!

I am not going to comment on the writing or content of this book .. I was so captivated and horrified by her story that to be honest, I cannot even remember what the structure was like .. maybe that's the sign of a good story .. I don't know!

Do not read this book if you are easily offended. This is a descriptive read and certainly not for the light hearted.

I do hope wherever Linda's soul is now, she is at peace. She certainly deserves it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2003
I bought this book after watching a documentary on Linda Lovelace a few months ago ...
I read this book in two days and would recommend it to any female wanting to read about a strong womans life. It is quite sad & depressing but does have a happy ending (without giving too much away!). Apparently some people don't believe Linda's claims that she was forced into the porn industry by her husband, but this book is written so convincingly, I didn't doubt a word of it.

Some of it takes a stong stomache to digest, some of the things her "husband" forced her to do were unspeakably sick & cruel.
Some of it is soooo frustrating, you think why didnt she just run away from him! But this is definately a must read! I'm just trying to get my hands on the follow-up now!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I was interested to read this book after seeing all the adverts for the new film about linda lovelace. It was sad and hugely shocking what this poor young woman experienced. Her story is simply told and I rooted for her and her survival of the brutality she lived through. I would recommend it as it provides an alternative perspective from what many people probably think when they hear her name.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Gee what can I say - I really didn't have a clue what to expect when I read this. I was gripped by this book but at the same time I was shocked and felt deeply emotional whilst reading it. I almost wish I had not read it at times and felt further sadness when I further researched Linda Lovelace and found that her short life ended in tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This book was an ordeal to read. I purchased it after seeing the recent movie release, "Lovelace".
I was interested in learning more of Linda's plight, inspired by her eventual triumph over the ordeal she lived at the hands of her tyrannical husband, Chuck Traynor.
The movie however, does not even come close to preparing you for the events recounted in her book, which are of coarse in greater and gorier detail and exponentially higher in number.
I read the first five or six chapters before bed one evening and barely slept, in fact I had to go watch stupid cartoons for hours in an attempt to distract my mind from the horrors I'd read about. Her repeated rape and torture by the aforementioned Chuck and countless others, proved too harrowing for night time reading.
Out of respect to a woman brave enough to share her nightmare with the world I do plan on finishing the book, but I'm not looking forward to it..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Disturbing but compelling. People are too quick to dismiss what this lady went through. Like a lot of people in abusive relationships, it seemed impossible for her to get out, but when she finally did it empowered her. Look out for the Mark Kermode TV documentary, too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
This is one of those stories that while it's totally fascinating and gripping, you feel a deep burn of guilt the whole way through - because everything that happens to Linda Lovelace is true. This is a memoir, written by Linda Lovelace - known as the porn star in Deep Throat, a movie that shot the porn industry into even more acclaim. Linda was manipulated and physically and emotionally abused by her boyfriend, and then husband, Chuck Traynor. She was forced at gunpoint to become a prostitute and you keep thinking it couldn't possibly get worse for - and then it does. I honestly don't know how she didn't find it in herself to end it all. What a brave lady.

This book made me so angry at the world, and in particular the men in it and i had such a hard time not getting up in the middle of the office, and kicking all the men in their nads. Just cause they were men.

I'm so sorry that Linda didn't have the amazing life she deserved following her brave escape from Traynor and the porn industry. She deserved so much more and the world and the people in it, let her down.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
It was difficult to read such a harrowing account, but easy to understand why it needed to be written. My opinion of the author has changed considerably and this book has really shown me the misconception behind the porn industry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This book is a very compelling read, I couldn't put it down. The things that Linda had to go through with Chuck is incredible and sometime disgusting but it has definitely opened my eyes to the pornographic world and how it can ruin people lives.
Great read and would recommend it to anyone !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)