Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22


VINE VOICEon 20 October 2006
I didn't discover this album until well after I first heard their follow-up "Phaedra", so can't give a fair answer as to whether this would have blown my mind the same way. Despite this, there are some wonderfully moving sounds here, composed with much imagination, showing what the band could do just before the "sequencer" era took over.

The previous reviewer got it spot on. The title track starts heavy, climaxes and then goes into a gentle, but very varied soundscape, drawing the listener in to get lost in its vistas. The section starting at around the ten minute mark still sends shivers down my spine, as does the "helicopter" section at the end...

The last track, "Wahn", is the one I keep going back to. It starts with almost primitive voice shouts and screams bathed in effects and very beefy percussion which then gradually calms down, finishing the album all too soon.

The remastering for this version is really good too, sounding more like the early LP's to me than the rather muffled (in my opinion) Jive CD release I also own. There's a freshness and inner clarity here that adds to ones enjoyment and shows what modern (re)mastering can do. I'm glad that the hiss hasn't been got rid of either, as attempts to do this can spoil the sound.

A Sincerely recommended "transitional" album from TD's classic line up.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2015
Released in 1973, their fourth album, in their best period. Influences from early work of keyboardist Richard Wright are very obvious, think of Pink Floyd 1967-69. This is a very beautiful album, one of the most essential releases of cosmic psychedelic rock.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2013
quality and tracks take me back down memory lane, a joy to listen to, especially when relaxing with eyes shut and a glass of wine
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2018
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Great Tangerine Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
Just what we expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2012
Reactive/Esoteric have done a great job with this reissue of Tangerine Dream's fourth album. (I assume most readers are already familiar with it - it was their first to make big use of the mellotron - say no more :)

The original artwork is fully restored, with plenty of extra photos, and an insightful essay.
The album itself seems to have been nicely remastered: comparing to the mid-80s Jive Electro CD that I already owned, the sound is louder and has noticeably more top end - the old CD sounds like there's a pillow over the speakers in comparison. Having said that, there's no "loudness wars" malpractice, with the dynamics still maintained - the music still peters out into silence when it's supposed to.
The bonus disc with a previously unreleased 40 minute live performance from Nov 1973 is also a real treat. The sound quality is very good for an old bootleg live tape. The material is real vintage stuff... Froese is making great use of his newly acquired 'Compact Phasing A' unit, and the EMS Synthis are bubbling away to great effect. (The moog sequencer has yet to arrive, but other than that crucial element, many of the sounds at this gig are not dissimilar to what would appear on the following year's "Phaedra" album.)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
This is Tangerine Dream pre expanded moogs later to be heard on their Virgin LPs beginning with 'Phaedra'. This is much more spacey and without the regular sequencer pulse that became their trademark. There is more use of percussion which eventually they phased out altogether, or went for synthesised versions of percussion such as on 'Ricochet'.

There are some nice ideas here, but if I was to criticise it, the ideas meander along and don't really resolve themselves. It is worth getting for the excellent 'Wahn', one of the only tracks with vocals in the style of Stockhausen's 'Stimmung'.

Good music to relax by, providing you don't play it too loud. I imagine some soft drugs would help, but that's not for me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Alpha Centauri
£13.00
Rubycon
£5.99
Phaedra
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)