Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
72
4.5 out of 5 stars
Arc [VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 August 2017
Very good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
"Kemosabe" is excellent. They played live on Later and that was their best rendition. The other tracks don't have the same long-lasting impact, but they grow on you, and the band cannot be accused of being timid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Very good just what I wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Everything Everything's second album is absolutely great. Whilst the first album seemed like quite a mash up of different musical types and seemed very experimental, this album seems to show that the band have found their own sound and the songs seem more consistent. The quirky lyrics and upbeat music make for very catchy music, and as soon as the album finishes you'll want to start it again straight away. Brilliant album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 January 2013
This is an essential purchase if you liked Everything Everything's first album Man Alive. Building on that excellent debut, Arc feels more controlled, slightly more consistent and has some wonderful flowing, complicated but accessible tunes. You know you're being challenged when the first lyrics on the first track are "(Cough cough) Yeah.... (Cough cough) So.... (Cough cough) Um.... (Cough cough) Wait a second...." but don't worry - it's just Everthing Everthing messing with you right from the start.
Jonathan Higgs's typically falsetto voice lends a tenderness undercut with menace to twisting, challenging lyrics (you'll need them as you did for Man Alive). The first 7 tracks belt out finely crafted song after song, with a brief pause for the short, slight title track.
Nothing quite like the almost-commercial-but-too-clever-to-be Photoshop Handsome from Man Alive is here, although The Peaks is reminiscent of the stark beauty of NASA Is On Your Side (the best track from Man Alive for me).
Armourland, Choice Mountain, Duet and (the first single) Kemosabe jump out initially as wonderful exercises in writing and performing intelligent, non-conformist pop. Undrowned starts like a poem set to a nursery rhyme, but builds and builds. It all flows wonderfully and although this is written after only a few plays I think this will build to become one of those rare albums where you don't want to skip a track. This album, like its predecessor, almost hides the complexity and stream of consciousness lyrics, which are right out there and demand you to read along to the songs. Feet for Hands is both weird and joyful ("let's get up off the floor and use our feet for hands").
Everything Everything remind me of an XTC for this century in some ways - determined to do things their way and this they certainly do and succeed admirably.
If you like bland, production line, X-factor pop don't buy this. But if you like your music to challenge you, then look no further - you will reap the benefits amply. An excellent (but not difficult) second album.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I thought they would find it hard to top the last album 'Man Alive', I'm now wondering if this could be their Magnum Opus. From minute one of listening I had my jaw open. I haven't been able to stop since I bought it is week.

It's melodically perfect, and instrumentally ethereal. The percussion and bass are outstanding.

The bass on 'Cough Cough', sounds so good as does the percussion, they make it an epic powerhouse of a song.

I adore 'Torso of the Week' and above all the harmonies on 'Justice', remind me of the harmonies on The Police's B-Side 'Friends'.

They are immensely talented and unique and they have excelled themselves, it's aurally spectacular.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
A brilliant album. I didn't think it was going to be possible to top the 1st one. All the influences are still there but the sound is maturing so to me they still end up sounding like nothing you have quite heard before. This 1st album only came out of the car when the second one was released. I never tire of listening to this band and I find something new in the songs each time I listen to them. Endlessly creative and full of real intelligence and craft. I cannot wait to hear more!

This band are fantastic live as well. Recent Cambridge Junction gig was simply amazing! Do not let this band pass you by!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
One of my favourite albums of the past few years already, so many awesome tracks I cannot recommend this album enough!!!
Great production values, melodies and I just keep having to repeat some of the tracks as there so good....I've even had the wife ask who they are so must be good!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Everything Everything have created another brilliant album. 'Arc' sees the lads pick up from where they left off on 'Man Alive'. Jonathan Higgs' vocals move pitch brilliantly, the beats are as complex as ever and the synths thick. It also sees the band writing even stronger songs and adding more experimentation to their music.

Singles 'Cough Cough' and 'Kemosabe' are the catchiest songs that the band has ever written. The former bounces through all kinds of sounds wonderfully and the latter is upbeat with great vocals. 'Torso Of The Week' and 'Radiant' are both very beautiful songs. The starkness of 'The Peaks' is marvelous being reminiscent of NASA from Man Alive and 'Choice Mountain' is very pleasant on the ears. Closer 'Don't Try' is simply fantastic. There's also some nice experimentation, 'Feet For Hands' is more acoustic based, 'The House Is Dust' is quiet and drifting, and 'Armourland' is very bouncy and dance like. My one complain is the fact that 'No Plan' is merely a B-Side as its a superb song and should be on the album.

Another really strong album from one of the most exiting bands around, while suggesting that the best is still yet to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Get To Heaven
£4.99
A Fever Dream
£9.99
Man Alive
£5.99
Man Alive
£21.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)