Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
34
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2016
Had this on my kindle for two years without getting around to reading it, now I know why! It started slowly and never really got going. I found that I could'nt really get into the characters and did'nt really care what happened to them. I did manage to finish the book but then promptly deleted it from the cloud. Don't think I will bother reading this author again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
A potential plot line spoiled by the author's obvious fascination with sex as a weapon. The story was mediocre at best, and it didn't take a genius to figure out the twist that was coming well before it did.

I'm not going to bother to read any more of his work, they all appear to be set in similar situations from reading synopses, and one book about possession by a rape obsessed demon was enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Good series of stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
As for all my one star book reviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
Covenant is spine tingling and addictive. John Everson delivers a twisted treat that is loaded with suspense, a strong multifaceted plot, and taut characters. His words and imagery give us a firsthand feel of what it's like to reside in a small town, a place fueled by secrets and driven by fear.
Enter Joe Kiernan, a reporter for the small town of Terrel. After having worked at several fast-paced and prestigious jobs, he looks forward to the change of scenery and the quiet ways of a smaller scale way of life. Until the sad truth bites him in the ass. Stuck with low-level tasks and listening in on police radios for the latest minuscule town's perils, he questions why he bothered. One evening, things come to an abrupt change, but not necessarily for the better. Joe reveals a news story that threatens to pull the rug right out from under the tight-lipped residents. Terrel's Cliff has become the official site of a coincidental string of suicides. Each year, on May 22nd, a child jumps to his or her death. The townspeople try to pretend otherwise, but for five women - it's an event that haunts their every waking moment. A pact, a twisted covenant is revealed, that was entered into over a hundred years ago as the only means of survival. But not survival for the children.
Joe digs into his own investigations, visits an eccentric seer, and tries to get to the bottom of what it is about Terrel's Cliff that compels a child to end their life without so much as a warning? And why have the people accepted it as a normal way of life? The truth as it is revealed, is terrifying and will keep you plowing through the pages. Hidden among the dirty secrets, we learn of a demon with an agenda so powerful, no one is safe. John Everson's style is composed and direct. He gives us believable small town characters, complete with their own set of skeletons and superstitions.
Covenant will whisk you away into a deep embedded darkness, where you are sure to wonder if you'll ever get back out. I highly recommend this fast paced, solid read by an articulate author who has what it takes to give readers exactly what they want.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Other reviews said this book was trashy but enjoyable. Well, I found it trashy and not at all enjoyable. The premise was weak. The sex was salacious without being at all sex or horrifying. Just gross.

In fact none of the horror was horrifying, because I really wasn't able to give a toss about any of the characters.

The most egregious thing though was Everson had a chance to add some creep in by making the motivations and actions of some of the characters their choice. Showing some of the evil in humanity. Instead all evil is do to an outside force. It's pathetic and boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I've just finished this book and actually felt compelled to write up my feelings about it:

Not too far into reading you notice that things feel disjointed because of the sheer number of incidental / one-off characters, or overly long background set-ups there are. I did quickly warm to the main character, and the two women he slept with. But, sadly, that's where things fell flat for me.

This felt a long-winded tale. The writer seems to take such a very long time to do anything other than fill in everyone's back-story or location. This is to the point where, as a reader, you fail to gain interest in any of the incidental characters -- even the covenant or demon. So many characters are there as exposition, but I didn't really connect with any of them. And it's all very 'purple prose' like. This isn't always bad though.

Some of the scenes really bring you into the story but, sadly, the sexual episodes feel protracted and can leave you feeling uncaring about what's happening to the characters, however brutal. The 'horror' as it is, feels weak and lacking somehow. As a reader I was left with the feeling that I didn't really care about what happened to most of the characters. And ultimately this caused me to come away being unsatisfied with the weak, overly long ending. I also felt a little confused at the end as to if the writer meant to pen a; psychological, horror, drama, fantasy or full-blown erotic novel? This book does cover all of these genres, just not in any pleasing way though.

This isn't to say that I didn't finish the book, I did. It was OK really. I don't think I'll be delving deeper into this writer's catalogue but ... you never know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Not my usual read but prompted by the good reviews. This proved a dark mystery with a good deal of suspense and superstition and pure fantasy. It did turn out to be a page turner though thready in places. You did get a feel of the characters and their stories. Very sexy in places, good descriptions given the scenes and character involvement. So, yeah, again a little different but overall an enjoyable read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I quite like the occasional horror/thriller & after revisiting a few old faithfuls in my book collection, & reading a few reviews, decided to give this book a go.
I really should have paid more attention to the, 'had some sex scenes', comment. Now, I don't mind sex scenes in books, but these were gratuitously OTT & a bit 'off centre'. They read like the sweaty fantasies of a teenager or bad porn. The story in general had promise, but ended up being formulaic. I'd guessed most of the plot before I was a quarter way through. On the plus side, it was easy to read, a bit like a tabloid newspaper.

An easy holiday read if you are into horror, but I'm glad I got it on special offer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Fleeing from events not made clear, Chicago reporter Joe Kieran ends up in Terrel, a town with a secret and a large cliff that people keep throwing themselves off. Disturbed that nobody takes much notice of this high suicide rate, Joe decides to investigate. This is one of those novels that feels like it should have been published as part of the 80s horror boom - there’s sex and violence, a sense of humour and it has some gleeful fun with the proceedings. Certainly, some of the plot feels contrived (Cindy is the daughter of…) and the pace occasionally drags, but this is generally good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)