Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2014
GREAT STUFF!! AMAZING MUSIC!!

After Noel leaving OASIS I thought it was all over, that was until I found (HIGH FLYING BIRDS) and WOW every song is well written and performed in a outstanding way, Noel has done it again what a "mind-blowing" album. This DVD set is a great edition, it has the live 02 concert, the album songs, documentary, and much more demos and stuff. LOVE IT, I like it that much I also got the deluxe 3 disc edition album :)

Great service, Fast Postage, Top Seller,

5 (*****)

MANY THANKS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
This is an amazing Blu-ray. A fantastic gig by the only former Oasis member that can write decent tunes. The musicianship is outstanding and the choir singing backing vocals is a fantastic touch (I wouldn't have thought this would work and would be too pompous). Like another viewer has said, there is a lot of choppy editing which some people might find annoying. I personally didn't mind this. Definately the joint top music Blu-ray I own (the other being The Police Certifiable). The tons of bonus footage and bonus demos CD make this fantastic value. How is Liam going to respond to this?
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
Firstly, I got my copy in Germany where it was released on Friday 12th October, so I was lucky to get an early Blu-ray copy.

And it's better than I ever imagined. The sound quality and performance are perfect. I'm not so convinced that the NGHFB CD was that well produced in the sound balance but this is right on.

Noel shows his sarcastic sense of humour in a great way before knocking everyone over with the next cracking tune. The new songs come over as well as the old Oasis classics. This guy is still fresh and I'm looking forward to his future songs.

I don't want to bore anyone with long descriptions of this product because in this case it's easy: If you think you may like it - you will !
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 October 2012
Never a huge fan of Oasis, a year back on holiday in Lanzarote I think I was the only person in a bar who didn't know the lyrics to Wonderwall when a local band played it. Then this year watching coverage Noel's new band were on and were simply amazing,so when I saw this release I just had to get it. Three discs over 2 x DVD and a wonderful CD of studio demo's from their first album.The DVD's include the whole fabulous O2 set from earlier this year, a six song set from the NME awards and from Toronto Noel with only his keyboard player performing a superb acoustic set,oh and a film called 'Ride The Tiger'. The O2 set is just full of great songs from Flying Birds album to Oasis classics with Noel and his band on top form, at times it becomes a sing-a-long with classics like 'Half A World Away'/ 'Whatever' and 'Dream On'.The whole evening was one of those special ones where everyone just enjoyed the music of what I see now as one of pop music's greats, song after song here of pure brilliance,songs that say something but also Noel has around him a band that do full justice to his amazing talent and as a vocalist he just gets better each time.One of the very best DVD's of 2012 that will pop into thousands of Christmas Stockings,if you can wait that long.
This is great and classic British pop played by one of our very best and is unmissable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
i have just spent the last few hours sitting listenig and watching this opus,and quiet frankly,i am confused,the whole thing seems to have a feeling of "wrapping up"his careeer both with Oasis and High flying birds,beffore going onto pastures new,he may never be able to leave the past behind,but Noel has the integrity to carry on,Gallaghers past has had some excellent songs and here most are on show,we look forward with anticipation to his next move.

DVD ONE (1.37.54)
1)Its good to be free.
2)Mucky fingers.
3Everybodys on the run.
4 DReam on
5 If i had a gun.
6 The good rebel.
7 The death of you and me.
8 Freaky teeth.
9 Supersonic
10 I wanna live in a dream in my record machine.
11 AKA.....What a life
12 Talk tonight.
13 Soldier boys and Jesus freaks
14 AKA....broken arrow
15 Half the world away
16 Stranded on the wrong beach.
17 Whatever
18 Little by little
19 The importance of being idle
20 Dont look baack in anger

DVD TWO (86.35)
NOEL GALLAGHER LIVE AT THE MUD CLUB TORONTO 5 NOVMBER 2011
1 its good to be free
2. talk tonight
3 If i had a gun
4 Supersonic
5 Wonderwall
6 AKA.....what a life
7 Half the worl away.
8 Dont look back in anger.
9 Ride the tiger

NOEL GALLAGHERS HIGH FLYING BIRDS LICE AT THE NME AWARDS 2012/
1 Everbodys on the run
2 Dream on
3 If i had a gun
4 AKA.....What a life
5 Half the eorld away
^.Dont look back in anger

CD (51 .44)
1 Everybodys on the run.....demo.this is the third version of the song on this set,it has a great vocal,which sounds much superior to the original version.
2 Dream on.....Demo. this is also the third version featured this version has a rougher veneer than the original.
3 If i had a gun......Demo,fourth version of this soon to be classic.
4 Record machine.....demo,this is the secondversion to be featured and this is just as good.. this is high quality stuff.
5 People who would be the death of you and me.....Demo a strangely distant echoing song which developes into a sixties pastiche,with"I am the Walrus "influences to the fore.
6 Ride the tiger.....AKA What a life.....demo. you must know the song by now,this is a great version,taht rocks and rolls like a condom in sausage factory.
7 Soldier boys and jesus freaks.....starts off like "soutern msn" by Neil Young and finishes like "Happy together" by The Turtles.
8 Fallen angel.....AKA broken arrow......demoThis is NOT the similarly titled song by the aformentioned Mr Young,same feeling though.
9 Stranded on the wrong beach.....demo,,,,brings to mind"Metal Guru"for some reason
10 Stop the clocks.....demo. harks back to Oasis
11 The good rebel.....demoanother great track
12 Id pick you anytime......demo..so would i!!
13 Freaky teeth.....demo a great way to end the collection.

All in all an interesting set,especially the demos and solo performances,give it a try!

DVD ONE.....1.37.54
DVD TWO.....1.21.35
CD......51.44

RELEASED IN 2012

SOUR MASH

VALUE FOR MONEY ......£££££
BEST TRACKS......IF II HAD A GUN,WONREWALL,DONT LOK BACK IN ANGER
PACKAGING......HARD BOOK COVER ,WITH 20 PAGE BOOK,EXCELLENT
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Noel Gallagher is with out doubt the greatest British singer song writer since Lennon and McCartney, we should be immensely proud of him, like McCartney, not only did he half front one of the greatest bands on the planet ,he went on and did it again With the HFBs, not many people can claim to have done it twice, the man is a genius! The music is excellent and as a performer....you can't touch him', this DVD/Blu Ray proves my point. I can't get enough of it, and I can't help getting out the acoustic and playing along to it. Put it this way, if you don't buy this you may as well take your DVD/Blu ray player and shove it in the bin, Yep, its as good as all that!........thats my opinion anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Having missed out on tickets to go see Noel in this tour, the DVD is the next best thing - he's really good live, sounds as good as it does on the album and good to hear him take on some classic Oasis tunes too.

As controversial as it may be, this collection of songs is better than the last few Oasis albums, no doubt in my mind about that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
A wonderful performance from one of the UK's biggest rock stars. The High Flying Birds songs sit comfortably with the Oasis classics and Noel is in fine vocal form. For me the show highlights are Everybody's On the Run, If I Had a Gun, Supersonic, Whatever, Freaky Teeth, Broken Arrow, The Importance of Been Idle and Don't Look Back in Anger. The addition of the church end choir and a brass four piece helps bring.a number of the songs alive! The bonus features are also very good. The NME awards performance is fantastic and the demo CD gives an insight into how the album took shape. All in all this is a wonderful package and possible the best DVD released in Noel's whole career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Loved it. Great performance at the O2. I loved the little video clips of Noel and the band out and about on tour and the photo booklet. The 2nd disk which contains the performance at the Mod Club in Toronto was a nice contrast to the show at the O2. An intimate setting with only Noel & his guitar plus the keyboards vs the large arena, awesome screaming fans, and full instrumentation. Nice! I haven't listened to the CD yet, but I'm sure it's fab.

I ordered it from Amazon UK and had it shipped to Canada. It arrived earlier than the estimated arrival date.

A must-have for any Noel Gallagher fan. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Simple menu, track listing, very easy to navigate. the quality of the video is superb! There are inbetween little interview snippets of him out and about. Very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)