Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2007
After over 5 years since 'Foley is Good' and two excellent novels later, Mick Foley is back with the third and final (although who really knows?) chapter of his life story. Being a huge fan of Foley both in the ring and the world of literature I pretty much instantly pre-ordered the latest installment which arrived much earlier than I expected (Thanks Amazon!) and I must say that 'Hardcore Diaries' just about lives up to expectations. Sure it isn't the behemoth that is 'Have A Nice Day!' but then nothing is. What it is however is a great read as well as an (in my opinion) unprecedented look into the workings of WWE, Vince McMahon and the wrestling business as a whole. Reading about Foley's conception for the perfect angle right through to the conclusion of 'ECW One Night Stand 2006' was certainly an eye-opener and made this reader wonder how Foley feels about the current state of ECW as well as the WWE product as a whole.

Mick Foley speaks with his refreshing dose of brutal honesty and humour about such key figures as Paul Heyman, Stephanie McMahon, Ric Flair and Triple H as well as enough brutal home truths about Vince to keep one going for many years. However I give kudos to Vince and the WWE machine for seemingly letting Foley's words be published uncensored even if it has reportedly cost Mick Foley a 'Wrestlemania' pay-off this year.

It does seem however that Mick has used the book to air a few issues with certain members of the WWE roster or to make a point about his treatment in Ric Flair's autobiography. However as a good half of the book constitutes diary entries through May and June of 2006, we're getting access to Mick Foley's feelings at that precise moment without the benefit of hindsight, something which makes this book all the more intriguing to read.

For all fans of the previous volumes there are plenty of stories about Mick's family who after reading 3 books about are just as integral to these books as Mick himself. There are also some great stories about fans that Mick has grown close to both in the U.S. and Afghanistan as well as some great WWE Diva stories (Melina features pretty prominently) and a great chapter on Twisted Sister's Dee Snider. Plus it's all liberally sprinkled with the obligatory Al Snow, Test, Mark Henry jokes and even a reference to Buff v Booker T in 2001 something I found personally funny.

As a writer Mick Foley really appeals to me. Not only did I like his autobiographies but both 'Tietam Brown' and 'Scooter' sit pride of place on my bookshelf. Now 'Hardcore Diaries' can join them, and is more than worthy.

Mike Norris
11 Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Mick Foley never fails to disappoint in his memoirs. This volume deals mainly with the development of a wrestling angle (story) from its inception to its somewhat mangled fruition. Liberally interspersed is Foley's thoughts on a huge spectrum of other issues, which - for a professional wrestler who has had more than a few unprotected chair shots to the head - are often very poignant and this is where the book finds its heart and soul. Regardless of whether you are a wrestling fan or not, this book is an autobiography of a legend of our time, a good man.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Supposedly, at the tender age of around 20, Wayne Rooney signed a deal to provide his autobiography in three volumes. Quite how interesting the next one is going to be given that he's spent most of the following year getting injured is anyone's guess. By contrast, Mick Foley has published a third volume of his autobiography, after reaching his forties. Admittedly, he has also spent quite a long time in his career being injured, but he's managed to get a far wider range of injuries.

I've followed Mick Foley's career as both wrestler and writer, seeing both the highs and the lows. He has won titles, lost titles and produced an autobiography I found impossible to put down, as well as a second part which wasn't nearly as good and felt a little forced. How would he manage the third time around; both in terms of autobiographies and in wrestling comebacks?

"The Hardcore Diaries" is more a biography of a wrestling storyline than it is of the wrestler himself. After a little while out of wrestling, Foley approaches his boss with an idea, both for a wrestling storyline and for another book. Foley is sure that his idea for the wrestling will work, but wonders how people will approach yet another book, especially as it's not the first time he has done something like this?

As it turns out, the basic idea for the book is actually fresher than the idea for the wrestling. The wrestling angle pitches him back into the hardcore style of wrestling - hence the title - an area where he made his name. It also pits him up against Terry Funk, an old friend and opponent of Foley's and a man whose name featured prominently in many sections of Foley's first autobiography, "Have a Nice Day".

The idea for the book, however, is based around a diary - hence the rest of the title - so that some of the entries can be phrased as if they were diary entries. As Foley was already writing a fairly regular column for the World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) website at the time, these diary entries could then be interspersed with reprints of these columns. After all, even when he wasn't wrestling, Mick Foley tended to be heavily involved in WWE activities outside the ring. So he could write about himself and WWE at the same time and it would, he thought, make for a decent book.

I thought so as well and I was proved correct, although not in the way I thought. Over the last few years I have spent a lot of time without access to Sky Sports and so have very much lost touch with what has been going on in WWE. This meant that for the first time in a Foley autobiography, he was talking about wrestling matches and angles that I wasn't already familiar with, although many of the names seem to have remained the same since I was last watching regularly. I did find that this left me feeling further removed and less involved in that part of things than I have done before with Foley's books.

The rest of the book does make up for this, however. There is more to the life of the average wrestler than just travelling around the US and occasionally to other countries and throwing yourself around a ring for the amusement of others. Foley is involved with sponsoring orphans and visiting sick children and soldiers and the whole of the WWE are very supportive of American troops and various charities both in the US and overseas. Thanks to Foley being on the spot during all these activities, we get a behind the scenes look at them and thanks to Foley's simple writing style I found myself constantly wanting to read all about the next one, even knowing that there was a chance I wouldn't be as involved as with his previous works.

Despite not being as gripping, this is certainly better than the second autobiography, "Foley Is Good". There is a slight preoccupation with his new (at the time of writing the book) novel "Scooter", which gets mentioned frequently enough for it to seem like a little sneaky advertising, but as that book is already on my "to read" pile, that didn't bother me too much. This time around Foley's writing is more fluid and he doesn't descend into lists of things like he did last time out and there isn't the feeling that he's straining to fit the diary concept he's using like he seemed to be squeezing things into the "real world is faker than wrestling" theory last time around.

I did enjoy the book, but more for the insight into the wrestlers as people and celebrities rather than them all as wrestlers, which came as a bit of a surprise. But Foley is always readable and isn't afraid to criticise his WWE bosses when he disagrees with them, which is refreshing as well as unusual for a company that size.

If you've followed wrestling for the last few years and remember Foley's recent battles with Terry Funk, then you'll almost certainly enjoy this book as Foley puts a human face on the in ring bloodshed and describes it as if it's his passion; which to be fair, it probably is. If you've been a wrestling fan in the past and like Foley, you'll find you enjoy this in the same way as I did; slightly detached from parts of it, but still able to enjoy Foley's warmth of character and writing. If you're not a wrestling fan, I really wouldn't bother as no matter how much they talk about the work they do outside the ring and outside the arena, they're still wrestlers and I suspect that would be enough of a turn off to prevent you enjoying the book.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2008
The "hardcore diaries" have gotten some bad press from being not just about wrestling-Foley does go off on tangents for some of the book-but it always comes back to wrestling-and the tangents explain more about who MF really is. It kept me entertained and made me think abuot life in certain places, i find that Foley can stir some emotions when he writes from the heart. If you want purely wrestling this book is not for you...if you like it mixed up a bit-then it's right up your alley.
It has some good chapters about his conlicts with Vince and the creative department of the WWE and explains how themes and stories are created in the WWE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
It was the first book of the three biographies of Foley that i read, and now i bought the other two. So that can tell you that i liked.

It talks about Wrestling, beetween 2004 and 2006. The matches with Randy Orton, Edge, Terry Funk and Ric Flair takes almost all the book.

But he tells you another stories like his soon hating santa claws, visiting soldiers in hospitals or the day he sleept in a crack-seller house. And all of it with the special sense of humor of mick foley.

It's not imprescindible, but it's a good wrestling book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I wasn't expecting a great deal, and to be honest I have gone off Mick Foley after meeting him and him practically ignoring my existence so I consider him somewhat of a hypocrite, but alas it's an enjoyable summary of what has been going on in his life at that period. I was pleased to have read it, and it is a good read for the train or on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Having read his past efforts I knew I would be in for a treat with this one from Mick. What didn't know was just how informative and insightful it would be. From rows with the boss to insights into the wonderful promos this book cannot be recommend highly enough. This is a must for all wrestling fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
The next installment of the ever increasing memoirs of Mick Foley, if you like Mick Foley and are interested in his life and time withTNA give it a read you will love it.
If you dont know who Mick Foley is read the first 3 autobiographies then read this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2007
having read micks other two books this one is not really as classic as the others,but is worth spending your hard earnt money on.

his comments on ric flair were refreshing to read after all the hype that was printed on flairs comments about mick foleys career[which i also read in flairs book] i also enjoyed his opinion on the running of ECW and his love of paul e dangerously, terry funk and tommy dreamer.

this book is an insight of life amongst the WWE workers and runners and i would recomeend any wrestling fan to give it a good read.

some amusing little tails too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Great read and insight into what goes into planning matches and angles... No one tells it better than Foley! Good Effort but just felt that little something was lacking from precious books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)