Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
162
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
Great collection of songs, but title track is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
5 stars for the title track alone - the rest is ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Another good album from Joe,he knows what he does well and sticks to it,this is not a criticism,but to say he does this very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Joe Cocker has still got it. I was 14 years old when With A Little Help From My Friends came out and stood me on my ear, and I thought at the time that Cocker's throat would be in shreds by the end of the song, never mind 44 years later. But no - all the power and emotion is still there in the vocals on this album and he shows that he is a truly great and enduring rock and blues singer. The band is excellent - punchy and empathetic with some fine guitar work, solid bass and prominent drums - and the production is very good. The production is rich with fine backing vocals which aren't over-done and you know that you are listening to a classy product.

The one problem with the album is some of the material, in my view. Much of it is excellent - the title track is a belter, for example, but some tracks like I'll Be your Doctor don't really add up to much. Cocker and the band give it everything, of course, but in the end fine performances can't really compensate for a weak song.

This album isn't an undiluted classic but is still well worth getting for the good stuff, of which there is a lot and which I've played and enjoyed repeatedly. Recommended to anyone who likes Joe Cocker's work or just enjoys fine, bluesey rock which is well produced and very well performed.

Addendum, 22 December 2014:
Thanks for everything, Joe.
You are beyond our help now, but your friends will miss you.
Go well.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Genuinely one of the best blues, rock, soul albums I've ever heard. Fantastic songwriting with sublime musicianship coupled with one of the most honest, heartfelt and grittiest vocal performances you are ever likely to hear adds up to a massive success for Joe Cocker.
If the press reports are accurate then this album is scheduled to be Cocker's swan song. If this is true he will have finished at the top of his game with probably his finest album ever! Truly fantastic Joe!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Joe Cocker raw and rockin !! brilliant album. I would say its its one of the best albums I own. Love it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Meets every expectation, already have album, bought it for a friend they love it. Joe Cocker is fab got other recordings from way way back when you lot were still at school! 5 STARS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Well it never ceases to amaze me but Joe Cocker keeps supplying the goods. Yet another winner with new songs and a very upbeat feel. Excellent , love it,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)