Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Show Must Go On
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 11 May 2017
This vastly poorly promoted singer should have been up there with the best on strength of this fabulous album alone.Has and will continue to stand the test of time.At last name of legendary man who has written innumerable and enduring hits for so many is getting his due recognition.Classic soul album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
I've loved this Deep Soul album ever since I finally managed to get my hands on a copy in 1974 having first heard about it from reading a review in Blues & Soul magazine - the internet makes life so much easier! Very glad to now have a CD version. Has it dated? Well, of course it has. But compare it with any soul album from the same period - and it's hard to think of many as good as this one. This is a showcase of a Master Songwriter's art - I don't think Sam Dees would ever claim to be a great vocalist but these are his songs and the emotion he puts in to them is unmistakable. Just beautiful.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
This is an outstanding 70s soul album. The first reviewer of this Album is absolutely right. I have had the LP of this for many years and it still gets regular plays. However it is a couple of the bonus tracks that are a revelation for me, the single version of So Tied Up comes across with more emotion than the version that appears as the final track on the LP. Signed Miss Heroin, while obviously indebted to James Browns King Heroin, is reminiscent of Norman Whitfield era Temptations. All in all a fantastic release that deserves to be at the top of the list of anyone interested in soul music.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
voted by many as one of the best soul albums of all time. for a real soul fan - a must for your collection. quality 70's soul that still sounds the business today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
Oh my God! This is a great album. Respect to the reviewer who compared it to Marvin's "What's going on".Sooo much soul! here with the "Show must..." Everything seems together: the singing , the lyrics, the arrangement, the instrumentation and the time! Marvin's great album has a little bit of" I just discovered a social conscience" about it. Do you know what I mean? This doesn't have that, does it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Classic Modern Soul album on a Japanese edition cd at an unbelievable price, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Fantastic cd. old school deep soul of the highest quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
I have just purchased this C,D,not knowing what to expect. my god i am so glad i did , this is one of the best soul c,ds i have ever heard in my life, definately in my top 3.thank you amazon
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Not being familiar with Sam Dees I bought this album after reading the various reviews.I have to agree this is an exquisite album full feeling.Opening track Child of the Streets & Troubled Child being personal favourites.Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Waited a long time for this cd to be released Sams voice is just amazing and it is a pity he is not afforded more airtime.Good timely service from supplier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)