Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Design: Flashlight Only|Change
Price:£9.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2013
I have a 15 million candle power search lamp it has a 100watt Halogen bulb,is bloody heavy and massive. well this little thing blasts it away?
All i can say is technology has moved on so much,even though the search light is only 3 years old. you will not find a better torch for a tenner anywhere like this. it lights up my whole garden when zoomed out for a wide angle thats around 30x30 feet and beyond to trees and the woods!
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
For a small's unbelievably bright.

I use it for taking my dog out in fields on these dark nights and it does the job brilliantly.

It takes 3 AAA batteries but don't expect them to last much more than a week or so of 1 hour daily walks.

From a piece of mind point of view, if you come across any muggers etc in the dark, just shine this baby in their will paralyse 'em.
11 comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Torch arrived within 7 days of ordering....from Hong Kong!! It works amazingly well even in daylight! It is an all aluminum construction, so very hard wearing, and only needs 3 x AAA batteries to give light that is usable during the day! It is my first LED torch, but when I compare it to a 3 D-cell Maglite, it beats it hands down...and for £11 delivered...Amazing!
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Having been very impressed by a bike headtorch which used a CREE bulb, I started look at other torches that used CREE bulbs. There are a LOT to choose from!

I picked this one based upon price, recommendations, decent size and the fact that it ran on 3 AAA batteries rather than insisting on some weird chinese type.

First off, the build quality is superb - i'm amazed actually. It's entirely aluminium and feels reassuringly weighty. The battery compartment has a rubber grommet for water protection, the switch at the rear is rubber covered and the zoom, which is a slideable front section, feels particularly smooth but yet secure at the same time. It really does ooze quality, which for the price, I was not expecting.

Size wise, its 140mm long and 30mm diameter, so fits into one hand perfectly. It has a wrist lanyard at the back to keep it secure.

Inside, it takes 3 AAA batteries in a holder which then slots into the torch and the switch at the rear screws back on. Additionally it comes with an adaptor to fit the 18650 battery if thats what you're using.

The torch came in bubble wrap, inside a plain white box without any instructions, which is perhaps a downside as it would be nice to know exactly how the rear switch is supposed to behave. In practice, a full press turns the torch on and then half presses cycle through a number of modes - high, medium, low, flash and SOS flash. However, it doesn't seem clear which mode the torch starts on and you sometimes have to cycle through to make sure its on the one you want....which is a bit of a pain.

Brightness wise, running on AAA batteries, no it's not 1800 lumens, nothing like that, but it utterly blows away a regular LED bulb that most people have tucked in drawers these days. Additionally, I have a number of more poweful torches and can say that it out performs all of them.....except for the aforementioned CREE bike headlight that runs on a much bigger battery pack. Compared with something like a Petzl headtorch or even a Surefire G2 Xenon blub, this is brighter.

It took around 2 weeks for delivery but considering it was less than £10 all-in, I think its remarkable value.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and it certainly won't be the last CREE torch I buy.
44 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
This is nowhere near 1800, probably more in the range of 300-500 or so. That said, this is still very bright. Mine came with a holder inside to fit 3x AAA batteries, I've since put an 18650 cell in it. The 18650 has to just sit loose inside the body, though it's held in place by the spring contacts either side. It's very well made, the zooming is super smooth also.

If you're buying this thinking you'll get an 1800 lumen flashlight you'll be disappointed, though coming into this knowing its true brightness, I'm happy.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I bought this with some trepidation as, despite the reviews, how good could a seven quid torch be? I thought I'm either going to be impressed or, at worst, I can lose seven quid if it proves to be shocking.

Rest assured, I consider this to be one of the BEST seven pounds I have ever spent...!

I am comparing this to a range of torches I have from a large rechargeable lantern to a 3xD cell Mag-light. It shoots these down in flames on many different counts.

Firstly the size, it's handily pocket size and will fit comfortably in an inside tunic pocket, trouser pocket or clutch bag and still leave room. It's not heavy or an awkward shape and when you slide the lens back (Flood mode) it's roughly the length of a Bic biro. The type of beam is adjustable by sliding the forepart of the torch up and down to go from floodlight to spotlight and the action of this is really smooth, no grinding or getting stuck. The metal case is well made and nicely finished and the power switch at the back of the torch is a simple push on, push off button, again, the action is really positive and feels well made, time will tell on this as it would with anything.

Now for the really cool bit, the beam. What else can say other than incredible, on spot the beam can light up (in a darkened area) trees well in excess of 100yds away and it will show detail of an object as it is a beam of bright white light. On flood it will cheerfully light up my close, enough so you can see when all the street lights are out. the Mag-light and lantern fail dismally by comparison. I have not had it long (a couple of months) but its unmarked and still on the first set of AAA Duracells which I put in it and already it's been used more times than I can remember. Haven't tried to see if it's waterproof or not yet but it has had a few soakings with our wonderful weather and it has shown no ill effects.

Conclusion - I would thoroughly recommend this torch to anyone looking for a compact torch with high performance especially at this silly price, it's almost rude not to get one. Some work colleagues are putting in orders for them too as it performs so much better than our standard work issue ones (which are extremely expensive) and it will fit neatly into our inside pockets. For anyone, this is THE torch to get, for work or for leisure.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Great torch, not so sure about the 1800 lumens! Reassuring be able to switch between recharable and standard batteries. Useful variable focus although on narrow beam can see square shape of the light filament, other than that, a superb useful and powerful torch which easily fits into you jacket pocket.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
Very well made torch that is very bright, but using the adaptor with AAA batteries was hit or miss, sometimes it would make a contact and sometimes it wouldn't - also it would randomly turn off as you walk along so not very useful. Replaced this adaptor with an Ultrafire 18650 battery and its perfect, shake it as much as you want and it won't turn off, turns on without fault every time.

Adjustable lens makes it great for using as a search light in the garden or to pinpoint things in poor light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Have had this for two days now and so far am very impressed with it. It's blindingly bright and I love the zoomable feature, from full flood to centre spot. The distance is also very impressive and, given the price, far better than a Mag Lite and far cheaper. I use this mainly to walk the dogs in the darkest of places, way off the beacon track and I can see clearly at 150-200 yards. It is slightly bigger and heavier than a magLite X1200 but still a nice balance in the hand and small enough to put in your pocket. You can stand it up on its cap end and it will light up your room no problem. It has three settings, continuous beam, strobe and sos, the only niggle is you have to switch it on and off to cycle through the one that you want but, this can be done with one hand and it's very quick and easy to do. Another little niggle is that it comes with no instructions but you soon get to figure out how to use it. Got to say I'm so impressed with this torch, I'm buying two more, one for my wife and one to keep in the car as I can buy three of these for the cost of one MagLite. It's a no brainer.

Yes I would definitely recommend this torch to anyone.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
This torch is nowhere near 1800 lumens, even after using the recommended li-on battery. It does seem well made though and the multi function flash funtion is quite cool. It throws a square beam good to around 30 feet. It gets 2 stars despite the over inflated lumens desciption because it offers good value for money as a normal LED torch.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)