Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now


on 26 August 2017
'Folk Songs of the Four Seasons' was composed as a choral work in 1949 and edited by Roy Douglas as an orchestral suite in 1952, yet the first recording wasn't made until 2012. 'Dark Pastoral' is an unfinished work from the early 1940s, completed in 2009 by David Matthews. Those are the late works. The early works - 'Bucolic Suite' from 1900-1901, and 'Serenade in A Minor' from 1898 - were complete, needing only editing from the manuscript, but that didn't happen until 2011 when Julian Rushton undertook the task. Messrs Douglas, Matthews and Rushton deserve our profound thanks, as do Martin Yates, the RSNO, and the admirable cellist Guy Johnston. These recordings were worth waiting for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
Just love it beautifully performed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
I have loved Vaughan Williams' music since my adolescence and thought until listening to this album that I had heard and was very familiar with all of his best and most well known music. This album was thus a complete surprise in that previously I had no idea that some of his music being of undoubted real quality had never been recorded. Dutton must be greatly commended for unearthing these lovely pieces, all beautifully performed with excellent sound and I entirely share the views expressed by the previous reviewer.

This is a must purchase for all lovers of the music of this great composer.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
...there's still more new stuff that can be got by the genius and wonderful person that was RVW. I thought I had everything by this great man and then I find I don't...there's this...and that is so great. This record is absolutely lovely and if you like the great man, an absolute must purchase.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2014
This is a splendid CD and for anybody that loves Vaughan Williams, a definite must have. To hear an entire CD of fresh RVW pieces is an absolute treat.

The recordings have real sparkle too - chapeau Dutton!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2016
A most atmospheric recording with a true sense if Englishness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2015
I Like all Ralph Vaughan Williams works so this is very good
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2016
great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
Brilliant Ralph Vaughan Williams
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Dark Pastoral for Cello & Orchestra
Vaughan Williams: Orchestral Works (2 CDs)
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)