Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2015
all the facts you need
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
The book does exactly as it says: gives you the basic information on the subject so if, like me, you know very little about Stalin, this gives you the background info. It's a pretty terrifying read too, when it clearly spells out one of the greatest atrocities of the last century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
As with other History in an Hour books, this was concise and to the point, without lots of unnecessary padding and pointless facts.
It gave an immediate impression of the tyrant, and the almost hypnotic hold he had on his cronies (they thought), and the Russian nation as a whole.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This was a great book to read. Gives you a great deal of information without over complicating the subject. It's a good book to start off with and sets you up perfectly to want to learn more about Stalin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I enjoyed this book as it gave a brief insight into the politics and person of a man about whom I had heard but knew little. I had heard that the Stalin regime was a wicked waste of life and now I see how that is the truth.

For those who wish a deeper insight there are other books out there. For those, like me, who wanted to know what all the talk had been about, this is a really good introduction and explanation of Stalin and his strange ideas of how to make his country a better place. Of course, if he had listened he would have known those ideas wouldn't work. But like all men of his ilk, if you didn't agree with him you simply disappeared!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I found this book to be most interesting as it shed light onto a name I thought I knew a bit about.

The book left me with a number of questions that require answering, such as How did he earn his living while he was whipping up . the workers. How did he find his time in prison and what lead him to make some of the decisions that lead to so much harm.

Once I finished reading the book I found a need to learn ore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I was able to get a good overview of Stalin through this book so it does what it sets out to achieve. It has provided me with a basis for further study. Easily read and well set out.Will look to purchase more of this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
The book's great for giving you an overview of Stalin and does offer a good insight into the man who ruled the soviet union. It also gives you various subjects to go off to research further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Although I couldn't read it in the prescribed hour, i found this book very informative and fast paced. a brilliantly well put together summary of the historical monster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)