Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 24 March 2017
Was recommended to read this by a friend, and it is an excellent illustration of life as a worker and the gulf between the working and non working classes. What is interesting and disappointing to note is how little things gave changed over the years - workers earning low wages, hired and fired, trying to deal with health problems and bringing up children. Well worth reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
Anyone who takes our NHS and welfare state for granted should read this book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
A book to get you thinking. The problem though is that the people that need to think more probably wouldn't buy it . Robert Tressell's thoughts on women were ahead of his time. A book that is sad and funny and thought provoking. I didn't read this in one sitting it was a book that I had to keep coming back to. I don't know if that was a problem with me or the book. Glad I read it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2015
Pulls the reader into a time when life was really hard for the majority, and extremely cushy for the privileged few. A hundred years later and you can still relate to the themes. Some would say it's as true today as it was then. Let's hope we never see the same level of social injustice on this country ever again?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
This is quite difficult reading emotionally, but it really needs to be read. It shows the need for Unions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
One of the best books I have ever read. Politically biased but excellent. It gives a very real view into the livesd of the working class at the turn of the century. Its quite an eye opener I can tell you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
Do not be put off by the age of this book. Written in 1911. It could have been written today. Actor Ricky Tomlinson accredited this book with turning his politics 180 degrees. It is FREE for most E readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
As a 21 year old welder/fabricator it's almost scary to see how similar conversations are at the present. Cannot believe school never touched on this great piece of working class literature. It's a crime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2016
Cracking read and although more extreme than today's situations the same old capitalists run the show. Tressell pulls the heart strings whilst allowing a few laughs. Well worth the read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
Loved the book and gave me information on the period when it was written as to how finding work and the explotation by employers was at that time. Possibly a book everyone should read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse