Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
22
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2002
I have to hold my hands up and admit to having eagerly anticipated the release of this novelisation for many months now, and I think that the wait was worth it. The story revolves around the developing romance between Anakin and Padme, set against the backdrop of a crumbling republic. The Jedi Knights are stretched thin, and dissent amongst their ranks as to the proper course of action during the upcoming storm heralds the rise of the dark side of the force. We are presented with an insight into the charcter of Anakin, and the scene is certainly set for his descent into Darth Vader. Salvatore has managed to present a well-balanced mix of swords, sorcery and romance within the novel, however there were one or two instances where I became a little impatient for someone to grab a lightsaber and start doing some jedi force stuff! The fight scenes were themselves well structured, and have made my anticipation of the upcoming movie even more fevered!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
This book is absolutely brilliant. While I'm not a prequel hater like so many seem to be I do have to admit that episode II seems a bit rushed. This is no problem in the book as each scene is expanded brilliantly. The lightsabre fights at the end are so much longer and really develop a sense of character that was missing from the movie. We get to understand about the different styles of lightsabre combat that dooku, obi-wan, anakin and Yoda use and how each is effective is against another. The time that anakin spent with padme on naboo is expanded and as we get to know about each of their thoughts at that time the love between them seems more credible. There is also more character development between Boba and Jango Fett that gives an idea of the father-son relationship between them. As well as making Jango's end more emotional considering he is in effect a villain character. There are countless more times where the book goes into greater detail of relatively short scenes in the film and creates more of an emotive experience of those scenes. I cannot recommend this book highly enough, although it should be read if you have already seen the film so that a contrast can be made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2017
As for the novelisation of its predecessor The Phantom Menace, and indeed to an even greater extent, this novelisation expands on characters' background and motivations for their behaviour in a way that adds considerable depth to the film storyline. Again this is at the hands of a published author of fantasy novels. This deepening helps particularly in the case of the romance between Anakin and Padme, which was unconvincing on screen. Anakin's mother Shmi is also given a bit more "airtime" here prior to her tragic demise at the hands of the Tusken raiders, as are Jango and Boba Fett. Mercifully, Jar Jar Binks was in this one much less than its predecessor anyway. The battle and fight scenes are perhaps rather too protracted, though, and difficult to recapture the visual impact from the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
it was a very good and exciting book I bought it for my own interest as I watched the film star wars many times. I absolutely enjoyed this book and I would recommend this book to people who are star wars fans and love reading books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Hard to know how to recommend this as if you like the films you'll like it anyway and if you don't it might not mean much. However, imagining that someone was coming to it new, I'd say it's a fun, exciting story; the characters are good to read about and it fills in a few gaps from the movie. Worth buying definately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
I really enjoyed reading this book as a companion to watching the film again. You get more detail in the book and now I'm looking forward to the new books coming out in the Autumn and then the new film in December. Can't wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Such a shame- I really felt that the book for Episode I was much better than the film and very well written. Not so with this one. Planning to skip the rest of it and move on to the next book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
If you are a die hard star wars buff or just an occasional fan you will not be disapointed by this excellant novelistation, episode 2 is based 10 years after episode 1 but unfortunatly not a great deal has happened except that anakin is now a teenage jedi apprentice and queen amidala is now known as senator padme amidala, the book is very well written and does keep your attention (the only book i have ever read in two days), but it is mired (hopefully unlike the film) by nearly three chapters of lovey, dovey banter between the aforementioned 2 which is a bit of a shame as the relationship is so predictable even if you did not see episode 1, and the time could be spent developing other themes more, like anakin's mother or jango fett past (and these wont be answered in episode 3), but the action is always top notch especially the ending (i am not really giving anything away) with the clone & droid armys and the jedi going at it full tilt and the descriptions of yoda's skill's leave you with a new found appreciation of him (it), but unfortunatly like episode one it does suffer a tiny amount from lack of character definition (which maybe answered in episode 3) like what did count dooku do to be such a great jedi (and why he did what he did) and where did jango fett aquire the now famous armour, but except for this it is a brilliant read and well worth the money and does carry on a couple of small strings from the novellisation of episode 1 like anakin skywalker and the tusken raiders which i found gratifying.
But all in all it is a excellant novelisation of what promises (again) to be the best film of the year, read the book before you see the film and you may understand more of the events and what the future has in store.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Love it, i'm addicted to star wars and book draw to you in and you could not put down to stop reading...you want to carry on reading,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Great account on paper of a fantastic film, highly recommended to all those you are either star wars or science fiction followers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse