Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 6 June 2013
The first time I went to the US in the 80s I was shocked at the attitude I saw towards African Americans. This book throws this situation wide open with the story of how Sammy D was treated . As a star in Vegas he was not able to walk through the front door of the casino he was appearing in . Could not buy a drink or place a bet. What a world!!!! A good read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
A good read, but I would have liked a bit more information. Did his Father marry Pee Wee and did they have children? If so Sammy has half brothers or sisters. How old was his Father and Will when they retired? Three quarters of the way through the book I realised Julie Podell was a man - confusing??
What a wonderful man Sammy was to stay so faithful to his Father and Will, but why did they not have an Accountant to advise them to invest? Sammy must have spent a furtune on cars etc. but being so poor for such a long time I can understand money going to ones head - it would mine.
How old was Will when they got to Vegas and he became Sammy's Manager? What was Sammy's first picture in Vagas? How long was he married to his firt wife? Did they have any children? Was he still married when he was courting May Britt? What was her first husband's name?
What did Mama think of her car and how old was she? Did she ever drive the car herself? How old was Mama when Ricky Duff was driving for her?
Sammy was 34 years of age when he was going out with May but still bought a Rolls Royce even though he was in debt.
How old was Will, Sammy's Father and Sam when the three of them hit the big time? He goes on and on about Judaism which I would imagine would have been of no interest to anyone.
How long did he wear a patch before he got his glass eye? How old was Mama when they moved into the big house?
It also shows how dreadful the black Americans were treated in the 50's and 60's in America. I don't think this was happening in England. The book ended a bit abruptly for me, as I read it on my Kindle and could not "fastforward" so to speak, so had no idea how much of the book was left.
I can remember reading somewhere May and Sammy divorced and Frank Sinatra had to pay for Sammy's funeral as he was still in debt. Do not know if this is true of-course.
I enjoyed the book but do not think I would recommend that particular book to anyone, maybe another Sammy book.
Maybe I have got hold of the wrong end of the stick as it was about the early years of Sammy's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
still reading this book. Loved Sammy and only read his early life so far.
What he went through in the army all those years ago was terrible but it made him stronger, he was a lovely talented human being.
Looking forward to reading the rest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I enjoyed this book very much. You can understand the hardship that he had to go through in his life, and what sort of stuff he,s made of.he lived this life his way,he was a great entertainer and I use to watch his shows whenever they were on tv.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
a very emotional and gripping story of sammys personal fight against racial discrimination all the way throiugh to his rise to fame with the will mastin trio. lots of heartache and tribulation, which has a happy ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
I bought this book wanting to learn more about Sammy, but ended up learning also about life and society back in the day. Sammy describes in detail the racial discrimination he and his family faced, which warped throughout his periods of fame as a black entertainer. His frustration was clear, and his candid writing does not try to hide it.

The book will leave you disheartened at times, but will ultimately bring you through a journey of triumph. Sammy broke standards and stereotypes, and this book is truly a testament to his work.

I have a much greater appreciation for Sammy after having read his biography. I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I hadn't realised that Sammy Davis Jr had to put up with so much racism in his life.
The book brought home some real issues that continue today. A must read for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
A deeply honest, self-aware, and intelligent man, Sammy Davis Jnr takes us on a journey through the history of his life, but also of Civil Rights. He is brutally honest about the deeply personal impact that racism had on his own actions.
In a book with a perspective more usually shared by amazing women like Carrie Fisher, he strips bare his faults and examines the causes of his debt, his need for recognition and applause. It's an absolutely fascinating book which should be required reading for any student of the Civil Rights movement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I gave his autobiography 5 stars for his honesty and integrity. He speaks of a history in America with truth, but he's not angry about experiencing racism. He's angry it exists at all. His career was fascinating. He knew other famous people I wasn't aware of: Dr Martin Luther King, Jane Wyman, and James Dean. Overall, an enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
A beautiful life lived in horrifying times. You feel he's just given a taster of what it is to be a black man living through the white madness that is prejudice which so devastates and fractions the subjects of their hatred. But loves conquers all. .....infinitesimally slowly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)