Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 October 2017
Like other Antony Beevor books this is well-written and detailed, but what became increasingly apparent is that modern Spanish history and Spain are a huge hole in my knowledge. I have never visited Spain and know very little about the country. If like me you have little knowledge of anything Spanish, having a good map next to you, while reading this book, may help. I now realise that the Civil War was effectively a mini Second World War, with Germany and Russia playing a large part, with British disinterest in the background. Like all wars this killed and devastated a lot of people, but really, I feel no better informed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
I loved the book; a lot of information and detail about field operations and people's struggle to cope with the horrors and hardships of the war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Wow, if you have any interest in WW2 then this is an essential read. A real insight into the "hell" that both sides endured in one of the most brutal battles ever.
The detailed accounts from both sides is gut wrenching from the perspective of the common soldier, the complete contempt for life is brought out for all readers to see.
If you weren't' aware of Hitler's downfall you will be after this, compelling reading throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
The book gets right into the heart of the battle with ordinary soldiers stories and shows what a living he'll the battle was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great - thanks very much! Promptly delivered, specifications just as advertised and packed very properly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Is just as described and is very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Classic Book , bought for a Friend . Excellent Service .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Brilliantly written - it must have been hell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Starting to read for fourth time. Some times heavy going with all the information, but well worth reading, again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Very enjoyable and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)