Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Great music; fast delivery; very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I would gladly give this one a 5-star because it's an excellent album with satisfying bonus tracks and 12" versions. BUT, unfortunately once more, good sound quality is sacrificed for the sake of (unnecessary) LOUDNESS. Treble is too high, bass is too low and in some cases sound is a bit destorted (the familiar loudness problem). Nevertheless, this is the only way to get some rare tracks in CD format and if your ears are not too demanding, you won't have an other opportunity to get something more complete than this offering.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 March 2014
I have this on vinyl but want ed a digital copy as well, however I didn't realise that this a remixed version with added electronically processed percussion and strings. These detract greatly from the original more organic sound. Great songs but the original mix was so much better. As example track down the original of the lovely 'Funny How Love is' on the web and compare it with the version on here.

Also worth noting that the download version doesn't include any bonus tracks.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Having just rediscovered my vinyl treasures of the long neglected "nineteenhaties" I fell for the FYC's debut again. Enough is said on the songs featured, so my short review shall only refer to the song selection on this compilation. For me being a fan right from the start I'd been happy to discover more extras than the omnispresent variations of "Johnny..." and "Suspicious minds" (featuring Jimi Sommerville on backing vocals). At any price they should have included the single version of "Funny how love is" which is different from the album track as well as other b-side material(12 inch"Funny how ..." also features a fantastic live version of "Johnny come home" and there are lots of live videos on Youtube which suggests that there is more to explore beyond the repetitious and dull remixes of their single outtakes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Good album of edgy power pop from 1985 - with a great track in 'Johnny Come Home'. They hit their peak with their next album 'The Raw and the Cooked'.
I had been put off by the bad reviews of this reissue. However I took the plunge and bought it - so glad that I did. Here's a few reasons:

- Sensitively remastered which brings out the detail that was previously obscured.
- Interesting sleevenotes.
- Lots of `new' remixes - some very good - 6 on (no8-single) CD for first time.
- Both FYC albums have not been reissued since the 80s, long overdue.

CD 1 43 mins
Extra tracks - OK, but you can hear that they don't hit previous heights

CD 2 50 mins
A particular highlight is 'Johnny Come Home' (Mark Moore 12" Remix) - with added trippiness. It must have been one of Mr S-Express's first.
[I will add more annotation if there is interest]

Previously issued:
2 on previous FYC CD
1 from 'The Raw and the Remixed'

A good package which is well worth buying, after the reissue of 'The Raw and the Cooked'.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
I owned and played to destruction the cassette version of this album a good number of years ago and when I was looking at albums that were lost over the years this was an easy choice of purchase. The music was good at it's time and fortunately most of it has stood the test and is still as sharp as ever. I defy anybody to listen to " Funny How Love Is " without thinking about times that they have been in that situation. I love every track as each one holds a memory from that time of my life. Despite opinions to the contrary I think the version of "Suspicious Minds" is a classic but not as good as the version by Waylon Jennings and Jesse Colter, a personal favourite of mine. On the whole an excellent album and to my mind better by far than "The Raw and The Cooked".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Nostalgia speaking here, NEEDED to have a cd copies of the FYC catalogue after hearing a track played on the radio recently. Still sounding fresh and original despite the passage of time. Money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Really good album blast from the past
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
what a load of rubbish only one good song good mind to ask for my money back complete waste of money
44 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
All good, thank you......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.11
£5.99
£16.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)