Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
268
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
Mama proves to be an enjoyable supernatural horror romp for those who have had enough of torture-porn, and prefer their scares splatter-free. In this regard, Mama reminded me of Insidious, another film that relies heavily on jump scares but not to the point where it feels overly-contrived.

The opening scene sets the scene nicely as the father is hastily gathering his two daughters together before driving away from their home; the reasons for which soon become apparent. After their car spins-out of control in the snow they take refuge in a seemingly abandoned shack. Five years later the girls are found - with no sign of the father - and returned to their uncle to care for them.

Above all, it is the two young actresses who are the stars of - and indeed make - the story. The chemistry between them is powerful, hinting at an invisible umbilical cord that ties the two together; mistrustful of everyone around them. Mama is also a profoundly sad tale at times; the reunion between uncle and nieces bordering on the harrowing. For me, that's what makes a particularly effective horror film, one which can also elicit feelings of pathos in the viewer.

The central plot device is finding out exactly who or what has been rearing the children for the past five years. We get a glimpse of 'Mama' in the opening scenes, though we are slowly drip-fed visual and narrative-based clues as to who she is. In that sense, it's almost like a game of peek-a-boo as the viewer only receives hints and insinuations - an open closet door, heavy footsteps, and a glorious scene where the younger child is playing with Mama in the bedroom without the viewer actually seeing her. Meanwhile the girls' psychiatrist also doubles as an investigator as he seeks to unravel the truth in this supernatural whodunnit.

In short, an effective creepy film which shows how far a mother will go to be reunited with her children. One of the better horror films i've seen in the past year and reassuring to see Guillermo del Toro put his name to something of this calibre.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2014
Mama is directed by Andres Muschietti and written by Muschietti, Barbara Muschietti and Neil Cross. It stars Jessica Chastain, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Megan Charpentier, Isabelle Nelisse, Daniel Kash, Javier Botet and Jane Moffat. Music is by Fernando Velazquez and cinematography by Antonio Riestra.

A Suicidal father abducts his two young daughters and takes them to a cabin out in the woods, his intention is to kill them. Before he can enact his plan he is killed by a strange entity, leaving the two girls alone in the cabin. Years later the girls are discovered in the cabin, completely feral and when any sense can finally be made out of them, they talk of being looked after by someone they call Mama; And it seems Mama has come back with them to civilisation...

Based on his own 2008 Argentinian short of the same name, Andres Muschietti expands the idea out to a full length feature film. With pretty decent results as well. Pic is a supernatural fairytale, thick on ethereal atmosphere and not over reliant on boo jumps or an adherence to blood and guts spilling just to put bums on seats. From the moment the girls are found, scampering around the wood cabin on all fours, clearly having survived on cherries for five years, there's an uneasy feel to the story. We already know there is a spirit involved as we half glimpsed "Mama" during the pre-credits sequence, what we need now is a good story and a healthy quota of frights and peril for Waldau and Chastain as they become surrogate parents to the troubled youngsters; And again, Mama mostly delivers all that is required of it for a good night in by the fire whilst perched on the edge of your seat.

Chastain is excellent as the punk rock chick reluctantly mothering two children before her time, the two girls, Charpentier and Nelisse, are also top draw, exuding the sadness and confusion that children of that age would obviously be feeling under these circumstances. While their reactions to what we ourselves can't see, via glances or hushed exchanges, has a creepiness to it that delivers a bucket load of dread. Muschietti's direction is very stylish, not only does he marshal his principal cast members with great skill, he shows some ingenuity in scene staging with one sequence particularly brilliant as Chastain does housework and the younger of the girls plays with Mama in the bedroom, we know it, even though we can only see the wee bairn. The soundtrack and score is suitably screechy, and the cinematography by Riestra has Gothic tints to it.

Why Mama is not a bona fide entry in the upper echelons of horror is mainly due to an annoying mistake that so many horror genre film makers make, namely showing too much of the spook. There is a point around the hour mark where "Mama" herself just stops being scary, a shame because the effects work isn't half bad. There's other, less itchy problems, such as Waldau being reduced to a bit player from the mid-point, a sub-plot involving Kash's Dr. Dreyfuss just feels like set-up material, while the ending is sure to be a bit too WTF for some. That said, this is good genre cinema for those who like The Woman in Black type of thrills and story telling. 7.5/10
77 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
I was'nt expecting much,the kids lost in the woods for five years seemed improbable,but once I started watching I was hooked.This is a really tense and scary film and I highly recommend it.If you enjoyed the Conjuring or Fragile you should enjoy this and add it to your collection.I dare not hold a hot drink in my hands while watching in case I spilt it ,there are so many jumpy moments.If you dont like horrors or are easily scared dont watch this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
The Wife and I saw this at the cinema last night - and we were still chatting about it this morning! It's a great bit of entertainment and for a modern ghost/horror movie it's head and shoulders above the majority of recent releases. As is always the thing with decent scary movies, all you need to do is see it with only scant prior knowledge and just let the story unfold before you as you watch. Guilermo Del Toro had a hand in this so creepiness is guaranteed and there are plenty of good scares, some nice visual efects and a few humourous/tongue in cheek moments too. A well thought out, thoroughly enjoyable yarn. Go on, have a butcher's!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
A man kills several of his Business partners, his wife and then kidnaps his children.

After crashing his car, he and his children discover an old hut in the middle of the woods, and seek shelter.

When the man realises he has lost everything, he goes to kill his children, but an unseen force prevents this and the children are left on there own, until they are discovered much, much later.

But who has been nurturing them, and why do they keep climbing the furniture?...

Despite the great premise, and some wonderful mise en scene, it's pretty much more of the same old stuff here.

The film begins with a wonderful opening, proper spine tingling stuff, but after the children have moved in with Chastain, it loses its bottle and goes for the jump scares, and the old CGI ghost.

People get killed because the children look up into the corner of a room, and Chastain has Weird, but beautiful nightmares.

The ending is bizarre, but brave, and it appears that the writers have come up with a cracking opening, pretty cool ending, but just don't seem bothered by the bulk of the middle.

So its a little better than expected, but then, I wasn't expecting much.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
This film is really good and has a great story and is really creepy in places I enjoyed the majority of this film and I was only disappointed by what I though was a poor finale, the film itself has a great atmosphere and a good cast, worth a watch for any horror fan, maybe I am being harsh over the ending but I feel it just ruined it for me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mama has to have one of the worst endings, I mean when you finely get to see the evil witch itself, she was just awful plus what a huge disappointment, i have seen scarier kids at a Halloween party. The only positive thing I can say, the Blu-ray quality was very nice, and the film did sound spooky through my surround system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Two young sisters 'Victoria' and 'Lily' are seemingly left to fend for themselves
in a remote cabin their Father had found before being mysteriously killed.
With Both of their parents lost, are the children really alone ?
Five years pass, the Children are discovered living seemingly abandoned.
Their Fathers Brother 'Luke' wants to care for the girls with his wife 'Annabel'
however the Children are all but wild and need psychiatric help as well as
loving parental figures.
What the Children had called 'Mama' down the years still wants to tuck them in
at night.
'Mama' is extremely possessive of the Children and becomes extremely jealous
if somebody else gives them attention.
The film has a genuine 'Chill-Factor' which grows in intensity throughout the film
as visual images become seriously more frequent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
It's got a mix of primal fears and feelings so well balanced you get both scared and moved at the same time.
A strange and unpredictable horror, not just because of the plot, but the subject itself and the way it is treated along the story.
Most directors/authors could just go an easier "boooo!" path, with worse and more common results.
Here they were bold and original, and that made the film not just another horror. Excellent blu ray
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film starts out as a mystery. Jeffrey (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) crashes his car with his two daughters inside. They find refuge in an abandoned cabin. As Jeffrey prepares to murder his daughters we see an entity grab him.

Five years later his brother (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) is still searching for him. The searchers come across the now feral daughters (Megan Charpentier aka "The Red Queen", Isabelle Nélisse) who are reunited with their uncle and his goth rocker tattooed girlfriend Annabel (Jessica Chastain). How did they survive for five years in the wild? The older girl tells a story about "Mama" who protected them and provided for them.

The acting in this film was superior to most "B" horror films. The child actors did an excellent job. The special effects were decent. The scare factor was also fairly good and I found more chilling than the Paranormal series. Best seen in the dark with screaming tween girls.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb (Why did they do that?) No sex or nudity. 4 1/2 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.