Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 September 2017
charming amusing little tale...the first two thirds are delightful...and then it changes, rushing towards the predictable end, with little resolution or attention...maybe the author just wanted to get rid of it...too bad, the heroine is worthy of a better fate...so, almost good...could have been much better, with more attention, more polishing, more work and expansion of the last third...not bad for 99p...just about right...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have read other M C Beaton books and thought I would give this a go.

I enjoyed the storyline, a pleasant gentle read. I happily wiled away a few hours immersing myself into another time. The ending leaves you intrigued to know what happens next with the servants. I feel sure that I will purchase the other book in the series to find out how they fair with their next set of house guests.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
It's a while since I've met a character that I've liked as much as Fiona, vacant, biddable bird-brain on the surface, smart as paint underneath. And then the wonderful butler, Rainbird, what a dream!. This book had me smiling all the way through. It was never sickly or obvious and brought you right into the Regency period with its stars and style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
a very good book to read when you have a lot of time..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I read this book, waiting for something to happen. Nothing much did. It was mildly entertaining, but left too many questions unanswered. Who was Fiona really? What were her origins? Was she as dim as she seemed? I see there are follow up books, but I can't be bothered to plough through them in case the answers aren't there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
Enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Excellent read as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
love the way the author writes, she makes it so easy to 'feel' as tho you are there watching ity all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I was so pleased to see The Miser of Mayfair had been re-issued. It and other Regencies were originally published in the 1980s under MC Beaton's alternative pen name of Marion Chesney. They were extremely hard to find and expensive, but now several of her Regency series are available again in paperback and kindle editions, with fabulous new covers.

The Miser of Mayfair is a fun, easy read, the first in a series featuring the various tenants of a London townhouse, No. 67 Clarges Street. No. 67 is in Mayfair and comes complete with staff, but it has a reputation for being unlucky. Consequently it remains vacant year after year and the servants are struggling to survive.

The staff hope the arrival of Mr Roderick Sinclair and his lovely ward Fiona at No 67 may change their fortunes, but then it appears Mr Sinclair is a miser and Fiona is a beautiful airhead. Or are they?

Great light reading with a fabulous cast of characters, especially Rainbird the butler. Plenty of gentle humour and the plot rattles along nicely. The romantic elements are glossed over somewhat but MC Beaton is such an entertaining storyteller, you barely miss them.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse