Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 November 2017
Undoubtedly a big improvement on my Special Edition 2 disc dvd picture quality which on ten foot projection screen was fuzzy enough for me to stop watching after about an hour and decide to get the latest blu ray version. But it is not a perfect print, film grain is apparent and not as good as Casablanca 4K restoration blu ray.

Given that I paid a total of £10.37 including postage from dodax-online-uk I actually thought I’d ordered the bog standard blu ray disc. So I was very pleasantly surprised when the well packaged cardboard envelope revealed the near 3cm thick top-of-the-range 75th Anniversary box-set. An interesting hardbound book, assorting poster cards and HD Copy number valid until end December 2019.

My only problem with the box set is the back of the disc sleeve has the movie details of personnel but also details of ‘The Battle Over Citizen Kane’ and 'RKO 281' including Executive Producers Ridley and Tony Scott. No such films exists on the blu ray disc Extras. Only one disc in this box-set which, incidentally, is taller than a DVD box-set at 19.5 cm high.

But back at the movie, it opens with a sign I can now clearly read ‘Bengal Tigers’ part of the 3 minute opening of eerie obsolescence. With that previously invisible sign I knew I had a much improved version and indeed other details were also far more readily apparent throughout the movie. Like The Third Man blu ray box-set it has been brightened-up on dark parts. The Dickensian story is both bleak (his Mother’s face) and bright (like a child with the toy of a Newspaper).

Indeed everything is over the top. Never has Theatre and Hollywood been so welded together. Extremes of money bringing a hollow character set. A desperate Charles Kane. He never learns of people except in terms of money. His one life changing scene is when a woman offers unprompted kindness. She did not know him. His response inappropriate. Over the top. Love on his own terms.

The politics of then and now are fascinating and not easy to penetrate. He is rich but ‘the fighting liberal’ for the working man. Now the lowest on the social rung are being trodden upon. Soup kitchens are now Food banks. The winds of change blowing from China and that truly daunting level of National UK debt. Blame the poor, tax cuts for the rest. Shame on Hamilton and a Government determined to re-create struggle and strife. The end of any vestige of social security. Xanadu in their minds. Steady decline for the rest.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
Good but not the perfect transcription it deserves. However the Barry Norman extra is awesome.

The film itself should feature in every child's education in every school in every country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
Classic film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
Great film to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
There are several standard DVD Special Editions, Collector's Editions, Special Collector Editions, though the major playoff appears to be between this Warners NTSC edition and a Universal PAL edition. The opinion expressed here does not consider the 3 disc collection on blu-ray.
However...trust me, THIS Warners wins hands down! Enough down to put its competition underground! Make a comparison and you will never look at any other edition again without wincing! And the Warners includes 2 excellent commentaries worthy of repeated listenings. How often can THAT be said?
(Note: the Universal is also accompanied by an excellent commentary, but the image is soft and shadow detail non-existent.)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 December 2012
NB: As is Amazon's Wont, they've very unhelpfully bundled all the reviews for various editions and formats together. This review refers to the Warner Bros. region-free Blu-ray releases.

In all the hundreds of thousands of words written about Citizen Kane, one of the most rarely repeated is Martin Masheter's observation in Movie Collector magazine that it's one of the few great films that's really great fun, but it certainly bears repeating. Love, loss, emptiness, the corruption of power, human tragedy, the remarkably mastery of technique, the innovative deep focus photography, the groundbreaking non-linear screenplay, all are carried along by a surprising level of wit, both verbal and visual as injokes ("Don't believe everything you hear on the radio") rub shoulders with insight, keeping the film fresh, entertaining and endlessly quotable. Like its main character there may ultimately be less to it than meets the eye - it can be neatly summed up as `money can't buy me love' - but it's still a fascinating attempt to make sense of a man who, for all his power and influence, may not even be there to make much sense of.

Welles certainly bestrides the film like a colossus (though one who modestly bills his lead performance last in the credits and shares his directorial credit card with cinematographer Greg Toland's credit), playing the role with a twinkle in his eye that fades as a lifetime's disappointments and his failure to get love on his own terms take their toll, but still allows supporting players like Everett Sloan and Joseph Cotton to make their mark without feeling the need to constantly upstage them. And it still has one of the all-time great pickup lines: "I run a couple of newspapers. What do you do?"

Warners haven't exactly pushed the boat out with their region-free US Blu-ray release of their Ultimate Collector's Edition by coming up with anything new, offering the same impressive extras as their fine two-disc DVD set: audio commentaries by Peter Bogdanovich and Roger Ebert, interviews with Ruth Warwick and Robert Wise; newsreel footage of New York premiere, the specially filmed trailer narrated by Welles and introducing the cast, storyboards, call sheets and stills galleries, sketches and stills with commentary by Ebert, deleted scene storyboards, press ads and pressbook extracts and premiere stills montage. Unfortunately the feature length documentary The Battle for Citizen Kane has been released on a separate DVD rather than upgraded, as is the previously separately available cable movie about the making of the film, RKO 281 (the latter only available on the Ultimate Collector's edition, which also comes with a 48-page book, reproduction souvenir program, 10 studio memo reproductions, 5 art cards and, if you bought it from Amazon.com, an extras-free DVD of The Magnificent Ambersons). For tighter pockets, Warners released a two-disc digibook edition without the last two features (RKO 281 and The Magnificent Ambersons). But it's the excellent transfer of the feature itself that impresses the most, especially compared to the poor UK and French editions of the film from other distributors that didn't have the benefit of the studio's restoration budget. It's region-free too, so any of the US editions is the way to go to see the film at its best.

Here's a breakdown:

US Ultimate Collector's edition (3 discs):
Disc One (BD) includes audio commentaries by Peter Bogdanovich and Roger Ebert; interviews with Ruth Warwick and Robert Wise; newsreel footage of New York premiere; original theatrical trailer; storyboards, call sheets and stills galleries, sketches and stills with commentary by Ebert; deleted scene storyboards, press ads and pressbook extracts and premiere stills montage
Disc Two (DVD) includes 113-minute documentary The Battle Over Citizen Kane.
Disc Three (DVD) includes RKO 281.
Plus 48-page book; reproduction souvenir program; 10 studio memo reproductions; and 5 art cards.

US Standard 70th Anniversary digibook edition:
Disc One (BD) includes audio commentaries by Peter Bogdanovich and Roger Ebert; interviews with Ruth Warwick and Robert Wise; newsreel footage of New York premiere; original theatrical trailer; storyboards, call sheets and stills galleries, sketches and stills with commentary by Ebert; deleted scene storyboards, press ads and pressbook extracts and premiere stills montage
Disc Two (DVD) includes 113-minute documentary The Battle Over Citizen Kane.
48-page digibook packaging

Warners UK single disc edition:
- includes audio commentaries by Peter Bogdanovich and Roger Ebert; interviews with Ruth Warwick and Robert Wise; newsreel footage of New York premiere; original theatrical trailer; storyboards, call sheets and stills galleries, sketches and stills with commentary by Ebert; deleted scene storyboards, press ads and pressbook extracts and premiere stills montage

The original UK Blu-ray from Universal seems to be an upgrade of the old 2-disc UK DVD:

Anatomy of a Classic - a 50 minute feature presented by Barry Norman
Audio Commentary by Film Historian Ken Barnes
The original film budget
Welles off-screen (the original 1938 radio broadcast of The War of the Worlds and Welles' 1945 commercial recording of Oscar Wilde's The Happy Prince)
The Restoration of Citizen Kane
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2016
I was a bit worrid at first about buying Citizen Kane on Blu-ray, because i read some negative reviews on the Blu-ray transfer.

Now i can't compare to the original release, so i can only give you my opinon on the 75th Anniversary Edition, and i found it to be very nice. Their were no scratches or dirt, the film was pretty flawless, am not saying the picture quality was amazing but it gets a 4/5 from me.

And i have to say the production of the Box-set is wonderful, and you do get your money's worth, as you can see by my photo's. But i just wish amazon wouldn't mix up reviews, ie VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, i mean how does this help people if they want to buy or not?. But still this a stunning film which deserves this top release.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)