Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
The Return Of The Durutti
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 November 2016
Well, as Mr R himself says, he and Martin didn't really know what they were doing. And that's maybe why, when it works, there are some serendipitous moments that are poignantly beautiful, probably more so than if they had been more purposefully contrived.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
top
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
This is my first Durutti Column purchase. I am quite a late starter, as I am a big fan of most of the other Factory Records artists from that time. Overall I find this album is quite drifty and backgroundy. The guitar is very shoegazey which I love, but most of the tracks don't do a great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2016
Purportedly the sleeves for this first release by Vine Reilly's Durutti Column were put together by Factory record stablemates 'Joy Division'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2016
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2013
The sleeve is pretty, but there is a track missing!

"Beginning" is listed on the sleeve and label but is not on the record. In its place is the untitled, unlisted 6th b-side track (featuring drums and in 6/8 time) that appeared on the 2nd edition of the LP.

What a disappointment! How could such a mistake be made? Thankfully I have a sleeveless copy of the first edition that now has a stylish new home. The sound quality is noticeably better on the original too - the new copy sounds like the Dolby's been switched on in comparison.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2010
The Durutti Column is the work of guitar virtuoso Vini Reilly, aided by legendary Joy Division producer Martin Hannett. This album, released in 1980, was his first, and is the only one I am really familiar with, but it's a small hours classic. The first track, Sketch for Summer starts off with the sound of birds chirping, and leads into a rhythm track with a wonderfully spooky electric guitar echoing though it. These seemingly disparate elements mix into a hugely engaging track. This sets the template for the rest of this entirely instrumental album which follows in a similar vein, delicate electric guitar, minimal rhythm tracks and occasional keyboards. Sketch for Winter is a slight departure, featuring Reilly's guitar on its own.

(Note: vocals do feature on one of the extra tracks, Sleep Will Come, though they are unobtrusive and don't break up the flow.)

It's the perfect soundtrack to driving around on a Monday night at about 2am in the depths of winter. Imagined or otherwise. Unfortunately, it seems to be impossible to get anywhere, so grab it if you see it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2002
At a time when most of the music was fast loud and rough, those wonderful days of punk, the durutti column (another trendily named and highly talented manchester musician - Vini Reilly) came out with this wonderful, innovative and totally different sound - maybe too advanced for it's time, it was the forerunner of chill out........the original vinyl came in a real sandpaper sleeve (which wasn't too kind on the vinyl), and this remastered CD version, with extra tracks will take anyone back to those heady days. That isn't to say that the music is dated - it still sounds as fresh and innovative as it did way back. Produced by Martin Hannett, who tweaked the buttons for so many of the great bands of the time (sadly he's no longer with us). Well worth five stars and highly recommended!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
Originally had this on vinyl and really loved it. Unfortunately until recently it was unavailable. Lived up to my memories of what a great piece of work it is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2003
I used to buy an album a week, sometimes two, with my pocket money and the bit extra, earned from washing cars and drying dishes in a restaurant. This was in the late seventies. I got to have quite a little collection of the period, thanks in the main to a record stall in the local indoor market. I still have most of these records but have little time and inclination now to play them. All except one. The one with the sandpaper sleeve.
I still get the shivers when I put this on the deck.
The opening guitar note played on The Return of the Durutti Column is not unlike that of the first piano chord from Beethoven's Kreutzer Sonata. It has, in it's complex brevity, all the beauty, sadness, sense of loss, and yet all the passion and hope, of the history and future of the world. Sketch for Summer is more than timeless. This tune HAS been around before. We have all heard it, and we hear it still: when we look at a sunset, when we lay in the tall grass, when we put our bare feet on the cool sands by the ocean and hold the hand of a loved one.
I dream of this sweet sound, and no other record comes close.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

LC
£14.35
Another Setting
£14.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)