Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

  • Jack
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.02


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2016
Such a great book funny/sad, but very well written. read this book in two nights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Great and fun voice to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 September 2009
This is such an appealing book because A M Homes here gets right inside the mind of a 15 year-old boy as he moves away from adolescence towards his sixteenth birthday. Jack is a wonderful creation - a kid with the usual gross ideas and grungy proclivities, who is trying to cope with the news that his Dad, who has left home, is gay, and is, moreover, living with a man. His best friend Max is a kid with his own family problems and Jack is just beginning to be interested in the possibilities of girls. Jack can move from elation to despair in a minute and his hormones are all over the place. Homes makes us believe completely in Jack as well as in his family - including a new stepfather. This funny, clever novel is a satisfying and uplifting read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2001
Ms Homes is a fine writer of contempary fiction. Her teenage characters are flawless and you are charmed by Jack within a few pages. He's just an ordinary but lovable teenager, you can't help liking and you sympathise with him and admonish him at the same time. I rate A.M.Homes very highly , she's sharp,witty and her story is an honest account of a teenage boy - totally believable.Read this book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2001
A.M.Homes is an organically intelligent writer, very down to earth and clear. Unusually I actually sympathised with most of the characters, homophobia and all. This novel challenges insensitive and patronising gay perspectives on teenagers as well as heterosexual. Also, Homes doesn't shirk the messy, existential difficulties of growing up, like realising there is no guardian angel... you're essentially on your own, mate. The storyline also asks some seriously refreshing questions about the sanctity of the traditional family unit. And through Jack's particular set of circumstances Homes tellingly lays out the tension between being intellectually adult and yet emotionally still a child. A state many do not progress beyond, having not learned from the mistakes of their parents. Maybe traditional patriarchy is dying because it inculcates precisely this kind of emotional retardation?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This is typical A.M.Homes for me - it defies easy description. Initially a story of teenage angst and family disfunction, it is written in her cynical and often hilarious punchy style. Very entertaining all the way through, it is very readable, a real page-turner, but it evolves in the way it grips the reader as it develops; one becomes protective of the protagonist and finds oneself more and more affected by the possible eventual outcome. So there is an inevitable tension that builds up and it becomes more than just the entertaining romp one thought it was going to be. Her style is as concise and original as ever - I think this is another work of greatness from a marvellous author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
Interesting novel. Very well written and fast moving. At least it's a different perspective on the notion of having a gay father who leaves to live with another man and its effects on the young teenage son. He slowly seems to come to terms with it but would still prefer to have a `normal' father like everyone else - even when that ideal normal family (that of his friend Max) turns out to be anything but ideal. We get his mother's perspective on the situation which again takes time to deal with. Very interesting book for anyone who finds themselves in this situation but for every one else a really interesting lively read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I have read three other novels by A M Homes and have thoroughly enjoyed them all unfortunately I found this one a bit of a task to pick up once put down and, probably if it had not been the first book I had purchased for my new Kindle Paper White I would have given up on it. Nicely written with a narrative given by a teenage boy mainly centred around the crisis of discovering his estranged father is gay. Not a book I will go back to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
After reading and enjoying A M Homes's prize winning "May we be forgiven", I decided to try this earlier work. It proved to be a very easy read, and unlike the other book it never tips over into farce, despite being very funny in places. I actually thought this was better written - it has a consistency of tone which "May we be forgiven" lacks - though I strongly recommend both. Must read more of the back catalogue, now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
One of the best coming of age novels. Jack's initial mortification at his dad's coming out is soon compounded by everyone at school finding out, and not helped by the anodyne wisdom of the adults around him. But his parents' separation is just a springboard to greater worries about joining the 'complicated, boring' world of society. Jack is sure there's an alternative, but he's shooting in the dark. Will he make it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here