Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2001
Cynics might claim that Deacon Blue have reformed to get some retirement cash. When listening to the title track, I at first got the same impression; it starts with a piano that could have been lifted from 'Let It Be' or 'Imagine', then rolls out into something less inspiring. It's not bad, it just lacks a little stimulus (perhaps because if being 'Homesick' affected the ears, it wouldn't sound like this!).
Don't be fooled, however, as this is a superb album, with enough hook-lines and subtleties to keep you singing (and listening) for a long time. 'Every Time You Sleep' is as good a love song as I have ever heard, and tunes such as 'Out There', 'Now That You're Here' and 'A is for Astronaut' are infuriatingly catchy. DB already have an extensive repertoire of classy pop music, but this album seems to hang together even better than anything they have done before - and that's no mean praise.
Watching these guys live in Manchester last weekend showed their class, and it's only a matter of time before this album is received as well by audiences as the old favourites such as 'Dignity' or 'Twist and Shout'. A very worthwhile contribution to Scotland's finest musical canon - give this disc a couple of spins and it won't be out of your CD player for a while, trust me.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
I've been homesick without my favourite all time band and this new album is quite simply a classic - they are home. If you haven't bought this album yet then you simply have to. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. The highlights are Homesick, Every Time You Sleep, Out There, Now That You're Here, You Lie So Beautifully Still and I Am Born. Deacon Blue never seem to get the global acclaim they deserve, but I'm sure they'll get it with this album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2001
It would be very easy for the band to return to the poptastic 80's sound that gave us 'Real Gone Kid' and 'Wages Day' but it appears that their love of music has allowed them to rise above that and produce a different yet enchanting album. It's definitely a grower but you'll find yourself knowing the words to most of the songs without realising it!! Buy it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2003
This is the type of album that may not sell very well because of bad marketing and the way radio stations work these days. But the quality of Ricky Ross songwriting is excellent as usual. To me, this is one of the very best albums by the band, and I just hope I don't have to wait such a long time to listen to a new album after that. Songs like Homesick, Rae or This Train Will Take You Anywhere are good examples of how good this record is.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
After listening to the first track, I was wondering whether the band had perhaps left it too long. Since I am now a good deal older since their last release, I also wondered whether my tastes had changed too much. But after 'This Train', 'Homesick' and 'Beautifully Still', my mind was changing.
This isn't as good as When the World...and Raintown in my view, but after a couple of listens it definately grows on you.
One critisism is the fact that Lorraine's voice is too often just faintly heard in the background, whereas I think her voice merits more than that.
After seeing the band live in London this month however, they performed some of these tracks brilliantly and gave life to them. I cannot take the CD out of the player!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2001
This long awaited album shows what a great band Deacon Blue are, starting of with 'Rae' and quickly gathering pace with 'this train'. The new single 'everytime you sleep' is very catchy and the title track 'Homesick' is is another DB classic. All in all, a well finished album which meets their high standards of Raintown, When the whole world...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Really good album, catchy upbeat and uplifting. It was not until I browsed through Amazon that I was aware this album existed, this is a really strong album from start to finish with great tunes and would have done well back in the early nineties but by 2001 Brit-pop was still around and bands like Coldplay were starting out leaving bands like Deacon Blue as rank outsiders.
Would recommend this album to anyone who has ever liked this band as it more than deserves a wider audience
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
This recording has not been a commercial success
that it deserved to be.There are quality feel good
songs from the beautiful "rae"through to the title
track "homesick" with only a slight tailing off with the last two tracks.The best tracks,a great
singalong "silverlake" and a spirtual feeling "out
there" were not singles but deserved to be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2001
At last Scotlands number one band is back and they have an album to rival the likes of Travis. Its been a long time coming but now Deacon Blue are back with hits such as EVERY TIME YOU SLEEP and HOMESICK, if you havent got this cd yet and you love Scottish bands then get out there and get it, NOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
I've just rebought HOMESICK cos my original one is played out!!!

This is truly the comeback album of all time. From the upbeat "This train" to the haunting "Now that your here" this is classic DB
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.45

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)