Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Joe Hill's The Cape
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.17


on 13 October 2014
A none traditional tale of what your average not so nice guy would do if he had a super power. There is no world domination here, just a well written and well drawn graphic novel. It looks great on my tablet and smart phone and I've read it several times already. A great find for any dark humoured or adult themed comic book fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 May 2012
Fantastic yet gloomy and dark but a new twist to the superhero genre. This is the tale of a man (well a grown up loser with a huge chip on his shoulder and psychopathic tendancies) who finds himself in the position of power - who abuses it in all the wrong ways! Plenty of dark humour (a scene with a bear) or outright overkill (his use of a chainsaw) from a thoroughly unpleasnt main character.

Whilst Spiderman learnt that with power comes responsibility, its not the case here as its power and no responsibility. During to a childhood accident, the main character stumbled upon a cape which looks like an old disused rag which enables him the power of flight. Rather than use it for doing good in the world, he uses his newfound ability to get back at those he feels have wronged him in his miserable life. This is one damaged individual who lashes out at those around him and closest to him but with little remorse.

Certainly one of the hidden gems from the last few years (with a prequal out later this year) especially the creative team, well written and some fantastic art from Zach Howard.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Joe Hill quite obviously likes a character who isn't all pink and fluffy at the edges. Most often, people who suddenly gain superpowers seem to be the good guys who come through bad things to realise the error of their ways. Not so in this story. No holds barred and the graphics are great too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
I didn't realise it was a comic book !!!!!!!!
I really like Joe Hill too........ but not comics !!!
His novels are superb though and I bought this sight unseen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I wondered how many books Joe Hill will have to write before people stop mentioning that he is Stephen King's son. And I have just done it again.

The Cape is a comic based on his short story. As a boy Eric plays with a cape and one day a terrible accident occurs that changes his life. As an adult he is a waster; no job, no money, no hope. But he still has that cape and one night he pulls it over himself and drifts off to sleep...only to find himself having drifted towards the ceiling.

What does a person do when they suddenly have a super-power? Do they become the people's hero - flying around the world correcting wrongs and performing daring rescues? Or do they take revenge on everyone who has hurt them? Let them down? Opposed them?

It is not a new question but it is an interesting side to the superhero question. This is a gripping read and suitably dark with artwork to match. It's as if Superman's cape has been trampled in dirt and left to rot. It's twisted and grimy and drawn boldly. It's a virtual punch to the stomach and I enjoyed it immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
The concept is quite different... Superpowers, (well the ability to fly) loser, no future, no prospects, what do you do? Well not quite streak off to save the known multiverse or any grandiosely futile gesture like that, more a petty small mans petty small revenge wish fulfillment. In a way the antagonist is just lashing out at his own in securities... I liked the short story by Joe Hill, the graphic rendition is by far more visceral and raw. Joe Hill is one to definitely watch out for, the mans on a hot streak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
The art work in this is great, Zach Howard does an amazing job here.

The story line is really good and i found myself thinking all the way through what a great film this would make.

I really don't want to give any of the story away but it is pretty original. Print quality is on glossy papper and the binding is good.

Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Loved reading this and would tell people to pick it up, great story and bad guy. Joe hill is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Very interesting premise of antihero what would you do if you could fly would you be good or evil
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
It was a clever inversion of Superman.
I have got to admit I took a thorough dislike to the main character. I thought that he was just a despicable waster who made no effort to better himself and bore a grudge against anyone he knew who did. Even when he gets the power of flight, rather than making something of it, all that he can do is to murder his ex-girlfriend for walking out on him (I do not blame her) and plot to do his brother in because of a few childhood scraps (which most siblings have).
Another moral of the story is that Fortune does not always favour the most deserving (or in this case the at all deserving). Hopefully he eventually gets his just deserts (something violent and fatal!).
The fact that it had this effect on me shows that the author is good at his job-he provokes strong emotion in his readers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)